We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay on New Year's Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surf & Sand Resort to your Saves list
Surf & Sand Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Loved our stay on New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was able to obtain an aweome promotional rate by responding to an online offer on "Black Friday and Cyber Monday". I was surprised that the offer even included New Year's Eve. Arrived early and Melissa at the front desk was gracious and extended an early checkin and Jennifer gave us an appreciated late checkout on New Year's Day. Our room was absolutely gorgeous with a breathtaking view. We were even given a small bottle of champagne in a pretty wine cooler in the early evening in our room to toast the New Year. I was told that all rooms received this -- what a treat. The onsite restaurant, Splashes, was very good with a great wait staff and hostess.
The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays. My husband and I love the Surf and Sand and we both agreed to come back soon. In my opinion it is very romantic and we love to hear the crashing of the waves while in our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    151
    70
    38
    32
See reviews for
196
388
25
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AVENTURA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I cant imagine there is a better place to experience Laguna Beach like the Surf and Sand Resort.
First of all the staff is very polite, attentive, courteous, friendly and helpful. The attention to detail blew my mind. When I wanted the car, I didnt even have to give them a ticket or anything... they knew exactly which car was mine... everyone always greeted me by my last name... and with a friendly smile! The room? well.... OCEAN FRONT.... gorgeous... I could hear the crash of the waves at night... AMAZING.... felt Iike a meditation room! LOOOOVED it. I want to go back! I recommend it 100%

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just went to Laguna last week before the holiday. Just have to say what a great experience i had. The service was very attentive and welcoming- always asking if i needed anything first. Front Desk, Concierge, Valet and server at the bar- extra credit.
Facilities and food -fantastic.
And the hotel is in a perfect location- directly on the beach and close enough to walk downtown while wandering in/out of shops and art galleries.
I can still hear the waves crashing while i watch the orange and purple sunset from my balconey dip below the water line and watch the surfers as they try for that perfect ride.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic as they face the ocean...corner rooms may be a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The Surf and Sand Resort is a full service resort that offers a comfortable room with ocean view, small spa and gym, and restaurant. If you are a returning guest, the resort will also deliver to your room a half bottle of wine with chocolates-a nice touch. The only reason I gave the resort 4 instead of 5 stars is due to price. Having stayed at hotels throughout the world, the resort is priced about $100/night too high for their standard king room. Also, with so many top quality restaurants within walking distance of the resort, the price you pay for the convenience of dining on the property detracts from the dining experience at Splashes (the resort restaurant).

But if price doesn't bother you, you can't go wrong with this property.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Incredible view from the ocean side rooms. Very nice people. Rooms are spacious and clean, people are really pleasant and helpful. Restaurant and bar have nice views, I feel best place to stay on this end of Laguna.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a perfect property for a great getaway. The service was spot-on while very relaxed. The Tower Rooms are very spacious, beautifully appointed & very clean. The balcony furniture was so comfortable. It was the perfect place for morning coffee, afternoon reading & evening drinks. Being smack on the ocean was fantastic: the sound of the waves, the sunset views & the people & dog watching was all great. The greeting at the spa was terrific; the young team was efficient & personable. I had intended to book just 1 treatment, but they suggested 2 & I thorougly enjoyed them both. The poolside area had a great atmosphere with plenty of lounge chairs & good F&B service. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Go for the Tower Rooms if your budget can handle it. The pay back in terms of view & privacy is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Surf & Sand is a true oceanfront gem. It was a quaint property right on the sandy Laguna Beach in the middle of town. Our room was comfortable, spacious, and what a view to wake up to! We didn't want to leave the room and ordered room service for breakfast. It arrived in less than 25 minutes on a Saturday morning. I wish I was able to stay another day to truly experience the resort. Our friends had a suite, and it was dropdead gorgeous! I'd definitely splurge on the suite in the future. Staff was courteous and truly enjoyed working at the property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf & Sand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.