We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Surf & Sand Resort to your Saves list
Surf & Sand Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rooms starting at $470
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Costa Mesa, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice, but expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The Surf and Sand Resort is a full service resort that offers a comfortable room with ocean view, small spa and gym, and restaurant. If you are a returning guest, the resort will also deliver to your room a half bottle of wine with chocolates-a nice touch. The only reason I gave the resort 4 instead of 5 stars is due to price. Having stayed at hotels throughout the world, the resort is priced about $100/night too high for their standard king room. Also, with so many top quality restaurants within walking distance of the resort, the price you pay for the convenience of dining on the property detracts from the dining experience at Splashes (the resort restaurant).

But if price doesn't bother you, you can't go wrong with this property.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    167
    76
    46
    38
See reviews for
216
433
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Incredible view from the ocean side rooms. Very nice people. Rooms are spacious and clean, people are really pleasant and helpful. Restaurant and bar have nice views, I feel best place to stay on this end of Laguna.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a perfect property for a great getaway. The service was spot-on while very relaxed. The Tower Rooms are very spacious, beautifully appointed & very clean. The balcony furniture was so comfortable. It was the perfect place for morning coffee, afternoon reading & evening drinks. Being smack on the ocean was fantastic: the sound of the waves, the sunset views & the people & dog watching was all great. The greeting at the spa was terrific; the young team was efficient & personable. I had intended to book just 1 treatment, but they suggested 2 & I thorougly enjoyed them both. The poolside area had a great atmosphere with plenty of lounge chairs & good F&B service. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Go for the Tower Rooms if your budget can handle it. The pay back in terms of view & privacy is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Surf & Sand is a true oceanfront gem. It was a quaint property right on the sandy Laguna Beach in the middle of town. Our room was comfortable, spacious, and what a view to wake up to! We didn't want to leave the room and ordered room service for breakfast. It arrived in less than 25 minutes on a Saturday morning. I wish I was able to stay another day to truly experience the resort. Our friends had a suite, and it was dropdead gorgeous! I'd definitely splurge on the suite in the future. Staff was courteous and truly enjoyed working at the property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Everything about our stay we beyond perfect. Check in was flawless with Kyle. John our bellman for both arrival and departure was kind and gave us great advice for my birthday dinner at Splashes and even made our reservation. The views at this resort are out of control. We were so close to the ocean from our room that my boyfriend got vertigo looking over our balcony. And, when you have ear plugs to block the sound of the ocean you know you are in an amazing location!

We had cocktails prior to dinner and watched the sunset and it was amazing. Pepe was our waiter for dinner and was very nice and professional. He gave us great suggestions and was very attentive. Kyle was our waiter the next morning for breakfast and was also wonderful. It was a cold morning and we had the windows open for the view and he was so intuitive and brought us blankets to keep warm while still enjoying the view of the Pacific. Such a nice touch.

I want to move in and can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great hotel. Down to earth people. This hotel is literally ON THE BEACH! I had an ocean front room and when I looked down from the balcony, it was water right below.

S & S is a boutique hotel - rooms are clean and the location is great. Restaurant is small but offers great food and drinks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My Partner and I were here for the weekend for a wedding. Our room was on the wedding patio overlooking the Pacific ocean. I had heard so many great things about this Hotel from many people, so I was excited to finally give it a chance.
Cons- For such an expensive room, I expected there to be a coffee maker. It's minor, but should have been included.
This is the first hotel I have ever stayed in where ear plugs are provided. It was quite noisy. The walls were paper thin and you could hear peoples conversations.
The wedding reception was at the hotel and the training of the servers were not up to standard. They practically threw the bread down onto the table and had no training as to how to properly place plates down. For such an expensive wedding I was surprised by the lack of training.
Pros- The staff at the front desk were very friendly and accommodating.
The bar was nice with a fantastic view of the ocean. It was a great place to hang out. The cocktails were amazing. The appetizers were very good, especially the nachos!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf & Sand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.