We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Save Saved
You added Surf & Sand Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at this resort several times over the last 20+ years and continue to enjoy the view, service and its overall quality. Recognize that the nightly stay is very expensive, but the location cannot be beat as the property is right on the beach. One recommendation for the staff would be to increase the bed size to double queen rather than two doubles as it appears since our last stay the bed size was reduced. We received several recommendations for breakfast and dinners, all turned out fine.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are best, chose a low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    499
    134
    56
    29
    29
See reviews for
167
317
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I just went here for our 10 year anniversary. Unbelieveable place with exceptional service and views. If you're willing to spend the money you will not be disappointed. You are in walking distance of everything in Laguna including shopping, food and activities. Splashes restaurant has exceptional food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The only negative I have for the resort is that the bar area is small. Even though it's literally on the beach, it can get crowded on the weekends. Other than that, it's a fantastic place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Wanted to surprise my ailing mother with a seaside celebration of her 76th birthday. Andrew in reservations saw to it that we were accommodated with a very nice ADA equipped suite on the Tower side of the property. Thank you, Andrew!
Our beautiful seaside room was perfect. Stunning views of the ocean and soothing waves have left her with a treasured memory.
A note of thanks to fitness instructor, Tommy Bensen who so graciously held his Boot camp workout dispite the fact that I was the sole boot camper, inspirational!!
Housekeeping was so incredible in regard to my mother's limited ability to leave her suite. Did not get the name of the man and woman that attended to her the afternoon of September 1, but thank you!
Splashes dinner birthday celebration for the 14 of us was incredible! Food-exquisite, as usual.
We shall return for our next celebration!
xxx, L. Stratford

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a beautiful location...and to be honest it is our new favorite Laguna hotel...no more Ritz C for us! The service was wonderful and our room was extraordinary. When making a reservation ask for "Building 4" as there are about 24 rooms in that building which is located on a strip of the beach where the waves break...and you have the most unobstructed view of the ocean. I believe it was called a "surfside room." Watching surfers, joggers and the like was really nice while sipping on vino. Then, the sunset was just absolutely stunning! We slept with the sliding glass doors open all night and were lulled to sleep by the wonderful crashing sound of the waves. The spa experience was great too. If you are booking soon...the Pumpkin Chai Package is amazing. It starts with a pumpkin scrub, followed by a massage and wrap in honey body butter and lastly an almond oil scalp massage. I would say the only negative was that there is no air conditioning in the guest rooms and we just happened to be there on a weekend when it was in the 90s. It really wasn't too much of a problem in the end though...between the ocean breeze and a ceiling fan. We had a friend who stayed in one of the other buildings which was not as close to the beach as our room was and it was soooo warm in his room...another reason why the "surf side room" is the best way to go!

Room Tip: Ask for a surfside room in building #4. Avoid the main tower where the lobby is located and the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield CT
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed for the second time for a week recently. A few things have gone downhill since I was there last. One was the front desk staff. I dealt with one lady a few times, and she was less than welcoming and hardly pleasant. The other was Splashes. Last time, I could have eaten there every day - this time, after the first lunch we decided not to return. The service was brusque, it took 25 minutes to get a glass of wine, and the food was only average. The waitstaff had an argument directly behind me. I wonder what happened there. Onto the good points - I booked the Vista Suite for the days it was available, and it was lovely, with a wonderfully large outdoor terrace. Be aware though, it does hang over the pool area, so if it is a busy weekend, you may not want to hear the music wafting up and the cries of the kiddies. I lucked out and had it during a quiet week, and so it was very enjoyable. When I had to check out of that room and into the other I had booked, a corner king tower oceanfront, I got the runaround. I was told the room was booked and I had a few options that were not going to do it for me. Low and behold they received a cancellation for the room I had booked just as I was on the phone to the Montage. Once in the other room, it was lovely as well, but hot as others have mentioned without AC. One point to add is that it has been really unusually hot in Laguna this summer, so probably this is hardly ever a problem. This is a really solid 4 star resort, and it could easily be a 5 with a bit of tweaking here and there. Still I prefer it to the Montage, as it really has a super relaxed Laguna feeling to it, and is much less corporate. I really enjoyed the beach, the beach staff was great, and swimming in the ocean. Also, kudos to the bell staff, all very professional, and the room service team. Also the concierge was very good. Just please get someone who actually smiles and looks like they enjoy their job at the front desk! Very important when it's the first impression of the resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

First time in Cali - second time at Laguna beach. We loved the location so much we returned to Laguna beach on our road trip back to LAX, after two seriously rubbish hotels, one of which was in Laguna, we decided to make the most of our first trip to the states. This hotel made our holiday, service was immaculate, views and rooms out of this world. I may spend the next 6 months paying off my credit card but when I sleep at night I dream of this place. Yes the sea is noisy, and there is no air conditioning but who gives a damn ..... It's paradise

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I first stayed at this amazing resort after a rather unpleasant weekend in Las Vegas. The trip to Vegas was so negative that I didn't want to return home with that negativity. So, by pure luck I searched local resorts and found Surf and Sand resort. It was late evening, during peak season when I called. I spoke to Emil at the front desk. He was very professional, helpful, and made me feel more welcome than any resort I have ever experienced. I HIGHLY recommend asking for Emil if you want that "special guest" feel. I have spoke to other front desk personnel and the service and feel was just "typical" check-in experience Not bad, but nothing like my experience with Emil. Also, I cant say enough about the bell desk and Valet service. Those guys are so accommodating I feel like a celebrity every time you drive up. I have gone back to Surf and Sand 5 different times in the last 3 weeks. I stayed 4 days the first time, went home for one night and had to go back the next day for another 3 days. Went home for 3 days and just couldn't stay away so I went back for another night. I did this over and over 5 times.... I might go back tonight. I LOVE this place. I'm sure you will too if you meet the same crew I did.
OH, and the rooms in building 2 are all amazing... The sound of the waves crashing 24/7 is unbelievable. I will never go to Vegas for relaxation again. I will see you there again.... SOON.

Mike I.
Dana Point CA

Room Tip: Ocean Front building 2 is my preferred stay. I also stayed in the Catalina suite for one night, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf & Sand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.