We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and super service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surf & Sand Resort to your Saves list
Surf & Sand Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms and super service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed here for a group meeting, and I hope to go back on our own someday. The rooms are lovely - the Tower rooms are RIGHT on the beach, and beautifully appointed. If you like to go to sleep with the sound of the surf in your ears, this is the place (they provide earplugs for those who don't). Staff service couldn't be better - the concierge gave us a right-on restaurant suggestion, taxi for early-morning departure was arranged in advance and there ahead of time. The on-property restaurant isn't cheap (what hotel restaurant is) but the food is good with lots of healthy options. Can't comment on the spa but the fitness room was reasonably equipped, and a broken machine was fixed within 24 hours. Having a car makes the most sense, but downtown Laguna Beach is barely a mile away, if you are into walking, with lots of good restaurant choices there and closer to the hotel. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 250 was great - at the end of the hall, so has views north as well as out to beach - surf can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    147
    67
    37
    31
See reviews for
190
351
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

First time to Laguna and staying at the Surf and Sand and it is stunning. To be able to be that close to the water is rare on the California coastline and the service and staff are outstanding. I work in the hospitality industry so I am hyper-critical of any mistakes made, and I had a flawless experience at this hotel. Would definitely recommend it for a weekend getaway from Los Angeles.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Great resort with a great staff. Our room was in the north building on the fourth floor overlooking the ocean. Very little noise other than the wonderful sound of the ocean. The beachfront was not busy making this a great place to relax. Loved every scond of it and will return!

Room Tip: North building does not overlook the pool, just the beach. Great room without the noise from the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I chose this hotel - - once again relying on tripadvisor to steer me in the right direction. They didn't let me down. But you have to do some reading and do your homework. Based on the reviews, I read recommendations like "choose the tower" "the lower level floors can be loud with beach noise" "the rooms overlooking the pool can be noisy" and "the rooms on the 9th floor are larger but have no balcony". Once you've determined your preference, I would call the hotel directly and let them know the room and location you're hoping to secure. We stayed in a King in the tower on the 7th floor. The corner room wasn't available, but the interior location was fine. We found the room to be beautiful and from this room (ours was 274) you see nothing but water and Catalina Island in the distance. Robes, mini-bar, turn down service, a knock on the door as soon as you've made a request, an exquisite bed where we slept like babies. Ear plugs are provided in case the ocean is too loud for you and you have a sitting area where you can watch TV if you can tear yourself away from the balcony. We didn't use our car during our entire stay. The town with lots of restaurants, shopping, galleries and gelato is a healthy walk away. I'm trying to think of something negative so that it doesn't appear that the hotel wrote this review:) As the room faces west, it was a little difficult to cool it down in the afternoon.....although there is a thermostat in the room and a ceiling fan to help. But this was minimal. I guess if we wanted a cool room, we should have picked one facing another direction:)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

Last time I stayed at Surf and Sand Resort, the property was undergoing improvements. The entire stay was terribly noisy.

When I made my reservations this time, I phoned the hotel to ensure I would not have the same experience. They assured me that there would be no construction during my stay.

Upon check in, I heard jackhammering. The front desk told me it was only for a couple of hours. Those couple of hours turned into the entire day. Furthermore, I was informed that it would continue tomorrow.

When I asked to speak to the manager, he was unavailable. He told the front desk that there was a broken pipe that was being repaired. I had already spoken to the construction workers to see how long this was going to take and they gave me a different story.

I am very disappointed and feel deceived by the Surf and Sand. In good faith, I made reservations (over $500 per night) expecting to be able to rest and relax. Instead I was once again met with construction noise.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssrta, Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Surf & Sand, I offer my sincere apologies for the miscommunication and inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us last week.

I certainly understand your surprise and frustration upon learning of on-site construction as in your previous stay. The project was not planned far in advance and was due to unexpected circumstances that were imperative in addressing immediately. Upon commencement of the work, it was determined that the original timeline was not sufficient or realistic to complete the project and additional repairs were needed.

Please know that we made every attempt to relocate guests to alleviate the noise issue and also made concessions and special considerations to ensure their comfort during this period.

As our valued guest, we would like to have you return to the Surf & Sand. Please
contact our Executive Office directly at 949-793-8075, so that the details of your stay may be handled personally and to avoid any miscommunication.

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We only had a short time for a one day to get-a-way but staying at the Surf & Sand made us feel like we had been away for a week. It was so relaxing and beautiful in every way. Thank you to the great staff! The restaurant (Splash) was fantastic as well as room service! My spa treatment was one of the best in years.

Room Tip: All rooms looked like they had a beautiful view. The dolphins were swimming non-stop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Superb hotel. The location is outstanding - rooms right on the beach with the million dollar views. The staff was outstanding and friendly in every part of the hotel. Our room (#423) was a little worn but nothing too bad. The views are just fabulous. The main bar is small but nice. We did not eat in the restaurant (opting for room service each night) but the food was excellent.

The Surfside section of the hotel is a little more secluded and private and is located away from the pool area. I would recommend that part of the hotel.

The resort provides ear plugs because the crashing of the waves is pretty darn loud.

Room Tip: The Surfside building is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf & Sand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.