We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At Laguna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn At Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Inn At Laguna Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durango
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrific location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the last minute and found the setting relaxing, the staff friendly and the bed extremely comfortable. The location is terrific - just steps away from the beach. There's a little wood boardwalk that leads across the top of the beach into the main shopping and dining hub of Laguna Beach. The room service guacamole was the icing on the cake. We will always stay here when we visit Laguna Beach.

Room Tip: Even a partial view of the ocean will be well worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Desilina

Thank you for you comments regarding your last stay at the Inn at Laguna Beach. I am very happy to read you enjoyed our bed, we did complete a renovation in June 2012 and we spent much time choosing a mattress. We cannot agree with you more we think our location is one of the best in Laguna Beach, as there is no need to get into a car, from our hotel you can walk to over 40 restaurants and many art galleries and shops.

We are fortunate to partner with Las Brisas for our Room Service and although we may be biased we do believe they have the best guacamole in town, so we are happy you enjoyed it.

Please look me up the next time you are visiting Laguna Beach as I would love to give you a warm welcome back.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    99
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
113
200
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on passing through driving the California Coast. This hotel is just lovely the rooms, the staff, the views and the location.
The hotel sits right on the beach but also only a short walk to all the restaurants shops and bars.
The rooms are spacious and very clean with free wi-fi.

The hotel also put on a wine hour from 5pm-6pm serving free wine on the roof top terrace with an amazing view of the ocean just before sun set. This is a lovely touch and is a great way to finish a nice day in laguna beach.

We will defiantly be coming back to laguna beach and will defiantly consider using this hotel again.

Only 1 gripe is the coast of the parking at the hotel £30 dollars a night which is quite high! But the alternative parking is laguna beach is quite limited!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Casey+Jenny

Thank you for your review after your stay at the Inn at Laguna Beach. We appreciate all comments as it helps us improve our products and service. We cannot agree with you more regarding our location if guest choose to rent a car it will most likely stay parked through there stay as we are within walking distance to over 40 restaurants and many art galleries and shops.

I am happy to read you enjoyed our wine hour on the Terrace, We agree it is the perfect way to unwind after a day in Laguna Beach. It is good to see that you will return to Laguna Beach as our City has so much to offer and typically it takes more than one trip to fit it all in.

I am happy you will consider our hotel for your return but what would make me happier would be to give you a personal welcome back. Please let me know when you plan on returning to Laguna Beach.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked this place for 210 US through third party TravelRepublic who are very reputable. However upon arrival in the hotel, we were put in room on the road with tiny window which is not what the picture on the website indicated.

We asked for better room. We did not expect full frontal sea view, but certainly not a busy highway! The manager scoured the voucher I printed off trying to 'prove' that we had not booked a sea view. The voucher actually said 'standard room', and from the picture on the web we assumed we would have something pleasant to look at.

The manager took ages 'looking' for another room - he asked us in a rude way 'did you touch anything in the room' and when we replied 'no' he said again 'are you sure you did not touch anything' as if we were a pair of children! The concierge was with us who confirmed we did not touch anything!

After 'searching' for half an hour he found us the 'worst' possible sea view he could give us which was below a hill with a passage in front of the room which meant that anyone walking overhead could see into the bedroom. A very minor sea view if you strained your neck. The manager was determined not to 'give us something for nothing' despite the fact the hotel was not full.

There is no where to get a cup of coffee, one has to go next door to the café which is not owned by the hotel to sit down and order anything. Small pool and lobby. Bit of a terrace and pool, but overall more like a motel.

Parking 29US, overpriced and greedy.

There was a dog barking for an absolute age in a room next to us at about 7 p.m. which was ignored until several guests complained. In addition, tiled corridor on the first floor and the laundry which meant lots of noise of carts going 'to and fro'

There are masses of beautiful places to stay in Laguna and up and down this beautiful coastline.

Only use this place if you are desperate and don't mind being insulted by a manager, who was much younger than we are and showed us a total lack of respect.

Room Tip: just make sure they don't dump you in the back or give you room in the basement behind the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Marsha123

Please accept my sincerest apologies for our actions we certainly did not mean to upset you as it is our goal for all of our guest to have an enjoyable stay. Our property like many others in Laguna Beach is situated between the Pacific Coast highway and the Pacific Ocean so unfortunately not all of our rooms face the ocean. In working with our third party vendors we have tried to have them state that a "standard room" does not have a view. We have gone as far as to ask them to use the descriptor "no view" but we are not having much luck. It is not our intent to try to deceive anyone in booking a room which does not meet expectations.

We have partnered with Las Brisas, the iconic restaurant next door, to provide room service as we do not have a kitchen on property. We also offer complimentary in-room coffee, and coffee and tea in the lobby until 9:00am every morning. I am sorry that these offerings were not enough for you.

Once again I am terribly sorry for your experience as this is not typical of the high standards we strive to maintain.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is the 4th time my husband and I have stayed here and it just feels like home! I absolutely love it from the ideal location, to the wonderful cleanliness, the friendly staff and all the comforts from home. There most definitely will be a 5th time! Thank you for making our stay the best!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Darlene D

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay and for your loyalty we very much appreciate it. We understand Laguna Beach has many choices for a Hotel stay so we are honored to welcome you back each time you visit.

With our renovation in 2012 we really wanted to give the hotel a residential feel, we want to welcome guest into our home and then have them make it there home so I am happy to read that we succeeded in your case.

Please look me up on your fifth visit as I would truly love to give you a warm Laguna Beach welcome back.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Was there for business and wifi went down every evening I was there. It is also a bit inconvenient that they have no restaurant. However if this is a holiday then the location, views and concenience to the town of Laguna is perfect.
The people were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Kiwisteveandali

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Inn at Laguna Beach. You touched on one of our best features our location, steps from the beach and walking distance to over 40 restaurants, there is no need for a car.

I am sorry about the WiFi, a couple of months ago we upgraded our WiFi and although this does not help your last stay we hope it will impact future stays. Our service provider has had outages that occur in the area not just at the hotel, they have been working on the equipment and we all hope to have the issue solved within the next week. I really hope that this will not deter you from returning as I would like you to be able to experience the better WiFi service.

I hope to meet you the next time you return to the Inn at Laguna Beach.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for our 25th anniversary. Our check in was a bit delayed. It was because they were getting us an upgraded room. They also had a bottle of champagne delivered with a hand written note congratulating us. What a wonderful gesture...they care about people...They certainly made our stay memorable. We definitely will be back. The staff was wonderful. You are right on the beach, you can't get any better than that. What a beautiful place. The hotel is close to everything. You can walk to wonderful restaurants. Next time...we want to stay longer. We fell in love with Laguna Beach. And the weather was perfect!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Opensky3

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Inn at Laguna Beach. We certainly appreciate you trusting us with your stay on such a special occasion and we were happy to celebrate with you. Congratulations on 25 years!!!!

Everyday I consider myself a fortunate person to work with such a great group of people. They truly care about each guest experience and want everyone to leave with positive memories.

We are looking forward to your return and we cannot wait to give you a warm Laguna Beach welcome back.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were visiting for out 17 th anniversary weekend. The room was wonderful. Crashing ocean waves...best sleep ever. We really recommend this property. Clean...comfy bed ( king).
We have stayed at other properties, but will surly return to this hotel /Inn. Wine reception on top deck each night... Cookies and milk end of the evening. Steps to the sand.... Love love love this place. Really liked Eckterina who checked us in.

Room Tip: Get a top level...best views...cooler in summer... Love that it is close to everything... Private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Toothfairy32

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Inn at Laguna Beach. I would also like to thank you for spending your special occasion with us, Happy Belated Anniversary. You touched on many of the great things that we have to offer but your comment regarding our staff and Ekaterina is particular makes me very happy. I am lucky everyday to work with such a great team they truly care about each guest experience and want everyone to leave happy.

We look forward to your return, Ekaterina will be will here with a big smile and I would love to give you a warm Laguna Beach welcome back, please look me up on your next visit.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn At Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Laguna Beach

Address: 211 North Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn At Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top 5 rated Laguna Beach hotel on Tripadvisor / Top 10 Gayot rated boutique hotel in Orange County, CA. The Inn at Laguna Beach is located in the heart of Laguna Beach, perched on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The Inn just completed an extensive renovation in 2012 and features brand new guest rooms, pool area, and meeting rooms. Some of the in room amenities are Pillow Top Mattresses, iPod/iPhone docks, 32 inch HDTVs, Central A/C, Starbucks In-Room Coffee, COMPLIMENTARY WIRELESS INTERNET, DAILY BREAKFAST IS INCLUDED, AND NIGHTLY WINE RECEPTION WITH FRESHLY BAKED COOKIES IN THE LOBBY. Our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi is open and heated year round, and we provide complimentary beach amenities. The Inn at Laguna Beach is a beachfront property and features direct beach access. The Inn is centrally located within short walking distance to downtown Laguna Beach with over 100 boutique shops and restaurants. Heisler Park, along with many World class art galleries and the Laguna Art Museum are just steps from the hotel. For day trip options, Los Angeles and San Diego are 1 hour away, 30 minutes to theme parks such as Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, and Legoland. One hour to theme parks such as Universal Studios and SeaWorld. Newport Beach to the North and Dana Point to the South are 10 minutes away and from there you can catch a ferry to Catalina Island. LAX is 40 miles, and John Wayne is 15 miles away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn At Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.