We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million Dollar Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At Laguna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn At Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Inn At Laguna Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Million Dollar Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

On a sunny Friday afternoon, after we had inched our way through heavy traffic to get to the Inn at Laguna Beach, we were dismayed to see that there was apparently no off street parking available. Having no other choice, we parked near the reception area, and were greeted by the bellman, who welcomed us to the hotel. One of the ladies serving at the front desk immediately went in search of a parking spot in one of the two underground parking lots, found a recently vacated one, and held it for us while we completed check-in. Needless to say, we were very grateful for her help.

We had splurged, by reserving a king sized room with an ocean view. This million dollar view was worth every penny. From the wall to wall windows, we could see down to the far end of the village and in the opposite direction to a rocky point jutting over the sea. The room was spacious, and not only included the king sized bed, but also a couch, coffee table and extremely comfortable chair. The room also came with a desk, two bedside tables and a chest of drawers, plus a mini-bar. A large closet accommodated all of our clothes and suitcases. There was plenty of counter space and storage under the bathroom sink, too. The shower and toilet were in their own enclosure, and the whole area was lined with travertine marble.

We spent many happy hours,often until nightfall, looking out to sea from our perch. When we did tear ourselves away, we enjoyed walking along the pathway lining the coast, and admiring the many plants in bloom; the surfers, and a group of painters trying to capture the exquisite views.

The Inn is well placed within the town, so that there is easy access to the beach,shops, galleries and restaurants. Once there, the use of a car is not needed, unless one wants to explore the great shops and galleries further along the Coast Highway, or explore Newport Beach or the Mission at San Juan Capistrano, both of which are an easy drive away. Las Brisas Restaurant, with its fantastic location, good food and outside bar is a quick two minute walk away.

All in all, the Inn is very well maintained; the continental breakfast for $15.00 is certainly enough for two people, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We will return, and next time stay longer!

Room Tip: Splurge and reserve a king-size room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    79
    21
    9
    1
See reviews for
103
158
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in early April over spring break. Friendly staff, and lovely rooms with very comfortable beds. Ocean view rooms are a premium but worth it. We saw dophins, seals and a whale during our stay! Request top floor (5th) for best views. North end of the property is the most quiet as there is a big construction project next to the south end of the property. No restaurant but a great evening wine hour on the terrace. Great restaurants within a few minutes walk and a Starbucks across the street. No valet parking and self parking is $29/night - for that price would expect valet particularly since the lot was occasionally full during our stay. All in all a wonderful property. Can't wait to come back to fall asleep to the crashing surf!

Room Tip: 5th floor, north end of property is most peaceful. Ocean view with small deck is amazing - note some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed in room 509- fantastic views and sea air. Close to everything. Small older facility that is well kept and has a lovely peacefulness (even with our two young kids). Pool is heated which was great as it is still a bit chilly this time of year. We will go back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Let me start off by saying that my wife and I are parents of 4 year old twins, I own a business and she works so we rarely get time to take vacations. As a result, we sorely needed to get away, even for a couple of days and Laguna Beach seemed like the perfect location to decompress. I decided on this hotel because it was only about an hour from where we lived and was right on the beach (a stipulation of my wife.)

When i first contacted the hotel, the guy I talked to was very friendly and told me my options as far as the types of rooms they had and what would work best for what I was looking for. He couldn't actually reserve a room for me since I called after midnight, but when I called back the next day they had my info. in the system and were able to reserve it quickly. He suggested we get either a 5th floor room which had a "Juliet Balcony" that overlooks the ocean, but didn't have enough room to actually sit on the balcony, or a 4th floor room that did have a balcony with seats, but had less "character" than the former room. I chose the 4th floor room and am glad that I did as it was amazing sitting on our balcony listening to and watching the ocean everyday.

The room itself was a nice size with a spacious king size bed and sleeper sofa. The hotel apparently went through a renovation in 2012 and it shows: the bathroom was nice and updated with granite countertops and a nice shower stall, the bed was very comfortable and the furniture was fairly modern. If we had to complain about anything in the room it's that it seemed like the shower and toilet were built for smaller people. My wife is 5'8" and I'm 6'2" so having to bend over to wash our heads in the shower was a little uncomfortable, but it was a minor inconvenience. Also, it seemed to us that it would have made more sense to just make the shower stall bigger and do away with the tub altogether as how many people are really going to be taking baths in the small tub they had in there. If it were a spa tub that would be another story.

Our room was perfectly situated overlooking the ocean and we could hear the sound of the waves crashing on the beach day and night which was really relaxing. We had nice view of the beach to one side and some tide pool rocks to the other. Our room even had a side window that we could open to get a nice cross breeze going through the room. They have a complimentary wine social every night from 5-6 which was a nice touch as we would go grab a couple of glasses and then return to our room to drink and enjoy the ocean.

There were really only two negative points that, while not huge deals, I need to mention in fairness to those who might be considering the hotel:

The hotel does offer free wi-fi, but I found I could connect at all in our room. In the lobby the signal was very strong, but I think they may need to get a stronger antenna. Again, not a huge deal, but if the hotel advertises free wi-fi in the room as a selling point you should be able to access it in every room, not just some of them.

Also, they are currently constructing a new lifeguard headquarters/public restroom building right next to the hotel. While the construction wasn't very loud, we could hear banging and sawing during the day and beeping from trucks backing up as well. With all the windows closed it was barely audible, but you don't really pay this much at a hotel overlooking the ocean to keep your windows closed all day so we could hear some noise at different parts of the day. I felt like they should have said something about this when I made the reservation in case I was very sensitive to noise as some people are. They are going to be working on this building until the end of 2014 so if you do decide to stay here I would ask to get a room that's far enough from the construction that you couldn't hear it.

Regardless, I would highly recommend the Inn to anyone thinking about a short or long getaway at Laguna. It was the perfect place to get away from it all for a couple of days and enabled us to recharge our batteries and come back refreshed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear novaj,

Thank you so much for your comments we ceratainly appreciate them. I am happy to read that the staff was able to take care of your needs and accomdate your room request for your much needed get away. Thank you for pointing out the psoitive items about your stay and noticing our renovation, as you may or may not know with a major renovation there are always things you wish you would of done or items that you wanted to do but for various reasons were unable to accomplish. We are keeping comments so we know in our next renovation what should be addressed based on our guest feedback.

WiFi is an item that we have been addressing I could not agree more with you that we should have a good signal in every room. This past quarter we have added new antennae's and access points to improve the WiFI signal but we still need to do more for certain rooms. Please know we are addressing these areas.

The Ligeguard construction should be ever by this time next year and once it is complete not only will we have a state of the art Lifeguard facility but we will also have a multi-million dollar park. The City should finish up the excavation this week and then they will start to pour concrete for a sub floor and walls. The work changes each week and sometimes each day so it is hard for us to predict guest disruption. The City of Laguna is very concerned about our guest so they are doing there best to limit the disruption and on occassion they have modified the operating hours.

We do hope to see you back at the Inn the next time you need to recharge your batteries. Please look me up so I can give you a warm Laguna Beach welcome back.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family of four really enjoyed this hotel and the area. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The Inn was very clean and relaxing. If you want major relaxation and a prime location this is it!! We will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the fifth floor beach from suites. Well worth the minimal upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
John Lahina

Thank you for your nice review and am really happy to read about your relaxing stay. i am happy you touched on our location as we beleive it is the best in town.

Please come back and visit so we can give you a warm welcome back!!

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I love this hotel. It is extremely charming and in one of the best locations in Orange County. You are walking distance from everything that matters. Our favorite part was the dolphins that would come out and play every morning right in front of our balcony. The only downside to having a balcony is that the noise is a little loud from the street, but we found it worthwhile. I would definitely return to this hotel again for a 3rd time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear JenHillJHCCS

Thank you for your kind review. I wish that we could take credit for the dolphins but we cannot, but with our location you can sit and watch for the dolphins or you can take a stroll into the Village.

We truly apprecaite your loyalty and we are very happy you continue to retrun to the Inn, please look me up the next time you visit as I would love to personally welcome you to the Inn at Laguna Beach.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

What a gem! This is a spectacular hotel. I stayed for 1 night on business and found the staff to be warm, sincere, welcoming and always smiling. That’s says a lot about the culture. The rooms are wonderful, clean, fresh and comfortable. Rachel, Katie and Amour (spelling) at the front desk are a pleasure to be around. You can hit the ocean with a rock it’s that close. The views are spectacular. You must go to the 4th floor terrace overlooking to ocean, incredible. I’ll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn At Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Laguna Beach

Address: 211 North Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn At Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top 5 rated Laguna Beach hotel on Tripadvisor / Top 10 Gayot rated boutique hotel in Orange County, CA. The Inn at Laguna Beach is located in the heart of Laguna Beach, perched on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The Inn just completed an extensive renovation in 2012 and features brand new guest rooms, pool area, and meeting rooms. Some of the in room amenities are Pillow Top Mattresses, iPod/iPhone docks, 32 inch HDTVs, Central A/C, Starbucks In-Room Coffee, COMPLIMENTARY WIRELESS INTERNET, DAILY BREAKFAST IS INCLUDED, AND NIGHTLY WINE RECEPTION WITH FRESHLY BAKED COOKIES IN THE LOBBY. Our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi is open and heated year round, and we provide complimentary beach amenities. The Inn at Laguna Beach is a beachfront property and features direct beach access. The Inn is centrally located within short walking distance to downtown Laguna Beach with over 100 boutique shops and restaurants. Heisler Park, along with many World class art galleries and the Laguna Art Museum are just steps from the hotel. For day trip options, Los Angeles and San Diego are 1 hour away, 30 minutes to theme parks such as Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, and Legoland. One hour to theme parks such as Universal Studios and SeaWorld. Newport Beach to the North and Dana Point to the South are 10 minutes away and from there you can catch a ferry to Catalina Island. LAX is 40 miles, and John Wayne is 15 miles away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn At Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.