We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Laguna Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Laguna Beach to your Saves list
Travelodge Laguna Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   30806 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Burlington, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just as good as home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed there on a famliy vacation for a week and I mush say I was more than happy with my stay. The vieew was nice from the pool and the staff went above and beyond to my sure my stay was great. The entire staff was great but i got to say 2 members stand out. Dillon was fantatic and the young lady on the day shift was great too. Sorry i dont remember her name too. Room was very clean for the price range and i plan to stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Travelodge Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you and thank you for staying with us!
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    151
    88
    44
    37
See reviews for
132
123
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

An old, outdated motel style building with ageing furniture/fixtures in a shabby, dank room.
Of the eight hotels on our recent trip this was the only one to disappoint and subsequently the only negative review I’ve written in several years.

We appreciated that it’s got a good location fairly near to the beach, and that the nearby high-end hotels are much more expensive – but boy we didn’t expect it to be that bad.
The location is all that this property has going for it – we stayed at much nicer hotels for less money in the same week, so rates are inflated purely because of where it stands.

In the early 1990’s I would have accepted it, but these days the Travelodge has been outclassed by newer, modern budget inns such as Holiday Inn Express and Hilton Garden Inn.

The old CRT TV required me to move the heavy cabinet and rewire it in order to get the rooms DVD player to work! I got it going in the end by placing the player at an angle (the cable was too short to reach the outlet!) The small mall next door has a Redbox DVD rental machine so we decided to hunker down and watch movies for one night.

The reception/breakfast area has been newly decorated and breakfast was just fine, as were the polite staff. Oddly though, all the newspapers in there were out of date (a trend?).

We checked out a day early, gladly forgoing the following nights room charge just to move on. Later that day we checked into a Doubletree by Hilton which was considerably cheaper and considerably nicer!

Almost forgot to mention the beach! Yes, very nice beautiful beach and cliffs. Totally deserted on a winter weekday morning. Just us and the occasional dog walker.
A great beach break, very nearly ruined by an awful hotel. You have been warned!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Travelodge Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We truly appologize that you did not enjoy your visit -

Travelodge Laguna Beach most often has the lowest rates in Laguna Beach, while we know that we are not the best or newest hotel in town we make up for it with our team and of course location. It is hard to find a hotel in Laguna Beach for less than 125 a night - especially one across the street from an amazing beach. We cannot compete with hotels in other cities.

We understand our hotel needs continued love, in the past year we have installed new carpet in all the guest rooms, updated the lobby, painted all the guest rooms and done some unseen work that older hotels like this require. In no way are we done of course - more improvements are on the way.

The most important thing for us is for guests like you to share your experiences so we can make the changes most important to our customers - so thank you. Please check back with us in the near future as we will continue to make improvements, we certainly hope that like many others, you will find our little hotel a great place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Good price for the location. Right across the street from the beach. You can hear the waves from your room. Secure gated courtyard. Room was large. Nice fridge and microwave. Cute bathroom with tiny shower. Great rainfall shower head, lots of hot water. Bed was really uncomfortable, like sleeping on concrete. Convenient Albertsons and drug store, along with a few eating places in the parking lot next store. Across PCH and down a million stairs is a LOVELY beach cove area - maintained by the fabulous Montage. I actually saw a couple of dolphins just off shore. Lovely place.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor rooms have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed here while attending a nearby leadership conference, and found it to be completely comfortable. It was a little way out of Laguna Beach downtown, but across the street from the Montage (which had beach access and a nice lounge for cocktails), and next door to Albertsons (which had a Starbucks). Decent value for money. They had free wifi which was handy. The service was friendly, and I enjoyed the heated pool. The only downside was the leaking shower, and I would have like to have a bath.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Travelodge Laguna Beach, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you! Hope to see you in Laguna Beach again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We'd spent the last week on the road touring California and just wanted a nice base for our last 3 nights by the sea.

Location is fantastic for the price. Beach over the road is stunning. Good choice of places to eat nearby, otherwise Laguna town is well worth the short drive. Also very convenient for Dana which is nice too.

Room was big and comfy. Shower was great. Swimming pool spot on.

Breakfast just a bit too basic to be perfect but not a great issue.

To be in such a lovely area for such a good price was a real bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Travelodge Laguna Beach, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you for the kind words! We are working hard to make Travelodge the best value and experience in Laguna Beach!
Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Janice (FD) and Rudy (Maintenance) were very professional and helpful. They both attended to all our needs. The location and "vibe" were excellent. I will recommend this establishment to anyone headed towards Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover Park
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The hotel is a little outdated inside and out but the garden in so pretty. Beds could be a little more comfortable, but for the great price they will do. The beach is right across the street, which is a plus. The front desk staff was all very friendly minus the last day of our stay (9/22) the woman at the front desk was so rude I'm glad i checked out that day. I would stay here again if it was just my husband and I, Laguna does not really have much for children to do. Overall i would rate my stay an 8 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeLB, General Manager at Travelodge Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and posting your kind comments! We are continually improving our little hotel - we hope to see you here again!

Best,

Kurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Laguna Beach

Address: 30806 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Laguna Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning backdrop of Laguna Beach, a classic 1950s Southern California Motor Lodge is reborn as a comfortable boutique hotel.The Travelodge Laguna Beach offers outstanding value: free parking, complimentary breakfast and attractive rates.Ideally situated and perfect for families, we capture the spirit of Laguna and make it all affordable, convenient, and fun.•A short walk to Treasure Island Beach.•Summertime trolley service from our front door to Laguna's village.•Free Wifi.•Bright, cheerful, freshly refurbished Laguna Beach hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Reef Hotel
Laguna Reef Motel
Best Western Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.