We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed at Best Western PLUS Laguna Beach for an overnight stay and had a lovely time! The reception staff were very friendly and polite. The room was perfect for 2 people and we really enjoyed the spa tub in the room. Overall, would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your words with the staff as motivation so they can continue to ensure a pleasant stay for all our guests. Best regards and come back soon.

Jose Berumen
General Manager
generalmanager@lagunabrisas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    168
    67
    33
    31
See reviews for
92
193
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Wonderful hotel with modern amenities and upgrades. Had a balcony with a view of the ocean, comfortable bed, nice big counter in the bathroom, big TV, underground free parking, in room jacuzzi! The breakfast was spectacular with waffles, eggs, potatoes, sausages, yogurt, fruit and more. Staff was very friendly and helpful :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
I will share your words with the staff. They will be appreciative that their efforts have been noticed. We will continue to instill a can do attitude and work towards 100% guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon. Happy travels.

Jose Berumen
General Manager
generalmanager@lagunabrisas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, Usa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised that the feel here was not of your typical stale chain hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. Having breakfast available got us out onto the beach earlier. having CNN blasting all the worlds problems into the breakfast area was not pleasant. I also would have gladly traded the jacuzzi tub for a room safe to keep valuables while on the beach. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We are delighted that we met your expectations. I will commend the staff on their efforts. No, we don't have safes in rooms but we do have some I the back office. We will continue to train our staff to ensure a pleasant stay. Best regards


Jose Berumen
General Manager
generalmanager@lagunabrisas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here for two nights for my friend's wedding in Laguna Beach. The bonus was that it was close to the Montage where all the wedding activities took place. That was pretty much the only plus side.

I came early to see if I could drop my bags at the front desk because I had to meet the bride early and didn't want my bags sitting in my car melting all day. I showed up and the man behind the desk said they didn't have a place to store luggage, and that maybe someone could watch it behind the desk…I chose not to take my chances so I lugged it all back into my car.

I finally checked in to a hot room, and quickly found the poorly schemed 'western' motif very odd. There are swinging cowboy doors to the bathroom that don't stay open they just keep swinging shut or get stuck which is very odd. I also came to find a trail of ants and two spiders. I went to the front desk and they moved me to a different room, but sounded like they just wanted to me check out and that my finding spiders was annoying. Thankfully there were a ton of wedding activities and I didn't have to stay at the hotel very long.

Free parking for one car. For the price I paid I could've stayed somewhere way nicer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I will share your words with staff. We apologize for the lack of hospitality you experienced. We are committed to changing and continue working on our shortcomings. Best regards, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Booked a room from a block that was set aside for a wedding. The booking experience was easy and accommodating, but the overall experience fell short of our expectations. The room was very small, had to move the desk to access the air conditioner and allow for proper air flow, and the beds were very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I agree Laguna beach could be quite expensieve especially in the summer time. We always try to keep are rights below the competition. We will continue to train our employees and work on our shortcomings. Travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The rooms were fine. The hotel layout very awkward. We checked in early and were very lucky the room was ready. I was told nothing about getting make up on the towels would result in a charge. My daughter checked in with her bridesmaids a little later that day. I was there at check in and they made a big point of saying DO NOT get make up on the linens are there will be a fine. Totally rubbed me the wrong way- either I was not completely informed on check in or they were just being rude to the young girls. You get one key per room, two if very lucky- that is a super big pain if you are not always together. Since it is so close to the beach the whole property is locked, so the key is a must. There is a nice free breakfast and pretty ok coffee till 10:30. Right by the summer trolly stop and beach access.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to work on our shortcomings and strive for 100% guest satisfaction. I will talk to the staff regarding how to properly phrase their words. It is not our intent to be rude just informative. Best regards.

Jose Berumen
General Manager
generalmanager@lagunabrisas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Southern California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Best Western Laguna Brisas is located about 1.5 miles from Main Beach. This is my 3rd stay here and although it’s been a while, the experience is much the same.

Let’s start with the pro’s. It’s close enough to Main Beach and most restaurants that you can walk to them in a sort while (although it’s not for the faint of heart). If it’s Summer time (July-August), you can always take the free shuttle that comes around about ever 20 mins.

Although not ocean front, it’s a short walk to the sandy beach across the street and down a small driveway. Easy for all, except again the faint of heart as there is a slight incline. The street you have to cross is PCH, a rather busy street but does have a marked crosswalk and a signal which make the crossing fairly safe. The beach there is clean and safe like most of Laguna.

Now the con’s. The room are good size (about 500 sq ft) with a large bathroom. Most of the rooms have elevator access except the top floor. About half the top floor you need to walk up a flight of stairs (a lot). I don’t recommend the top floor for anyone one that is physically challenged or if you have young children.
One thing that they sell as a feature I find a liability. Their Jacuzzi in room tub is oversize and is not sunken. Since it is not sunken, you have about 2 feet you have to climb over every day to take a shower. There’s a lot of grab bars (you’ll need them) but that still can be a challenge for many.

The biggest con (on all stays) are the rooms are very humid. I don’t know why they seem humid but every room we had there is very “wet”. It does have A/C which solves the problem for the most part but it is noticeable.

Parking is underground and somewhat plentiful. Wi-Fi is throughout and spotty. Both are free as of this writing.

Would I stay here again, probably but this last stay is pushing the top dollar range ($$$) and there are other options, some on the water.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
I appreciate your words. A very honest evaluation. Rest assured we will continue to strive for perfection and 100% guest satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit. Best regards.

Jose Berumen
General Manager
generalmanager@lagunabrisas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our newly remodeled, fully air-conditioned rooms featuring large, oversized whirlpool spas for two, beautifully appointed new furnishings and new 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar.Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway, each fully air conditioned room features a refrigerator, coffee/coffeemaker, iron/board, hair dryer, complimentary local and toll free calls and newspaper. Complimentary off-street parking is available for our guests (a true rarity in Laguna Beach!). Meeting room space is also available as well as a rooftop Terrace and observation deck for social or business gatherings offering panoramic views of the coastline, Catalina Island and the breathtaking colors of the sunset beyond. For the sun worshipper, the quiet and serene courtyard area features an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa. Enjoy your moment at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.