We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Laguna Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Hesperia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our stay in Laguna Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is its best feature. It is across the street from the beach. We enjoyed the roof deck to enjoy the beautiful evening and we also took our breakfast up to the roof. The jetted tub was enjoyed by one of the family members with me who thought it was quite a treat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, Margaret. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

~ Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    151
    63
    24
    30
See reviews for
77
163
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I rated this hotel as average primarily because the rooms are so small, but it is quaint, they had a last minute room available, and I enjoyed my stay there. While the prices were probably comparable to other hotels in the area, it was expensive, which influences my opinion of the value I felt I received for the money. The hotel is a low-rise spanish style building with covered parkiing; a big plus in Laguna Beach! It is located across the street from the beach at Bluebird and near other coves that I enjoy, and the hotel provides beach towels. If you like to walk, it is easy to leisurely make your way downtown. During the summer months there is also a free shuttle. Families with children will appreciate the small outdoor pool area. Staff were friendly and facilities were clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you, Karen, for sharing information on the surrounding area of the hotel. It sounds like you know your way around Laguna Beach! NOTE: All rooms are different shapes and sizes in all room catagories; some smaller, some larger. Please feel free to request a larger sized room next time and we will do our very best. Thank you again!

~ Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

GREAT location....right across from the beach..we had a beautiful room off the roof top deck..beautiful view!!the king size bed was very comfy and loved the in room spa tub!!
The hotel staff was very friendly (bianca your AWESOME) added plus is the free parking!!(almost unheard of in laguna) we spent alot of time @ the beach and the free beach chairs and towels came in handy!!
It was a great b-day getaway!!! Everything was perfect!!!

Room Tip: The roof top rooms have awesome views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
HaPpY (belated) BiRtHdAy, PaMeLa !!! We'll be sure and pass on your words to Bianca as well. We hope to see you NEXT year!

~ Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'll start with the good...the front desk staff were friendly although not all that helpful. The parking is free and there is a free so-so breakfast. The hotel is across the street from the beach so that's a plus. There is plenty of room for improvement. The rates were really steep for a hotel that clearly has seen better days. The bathroom has a weird half- door that swings open and shut like in the old western saloon movies. Therefore, there is little privacy when taking a shower and if someone is trying to sleep when you are taking a shower, forget it. Too noisy.

The location is ok in that is near the beach but it's at the very end of the town/shopping district so a bit of a walk to get to the shops, restaurants and main activities. The A/C worked but was very noisy as others have said. Given the price of this hotel, it's not a great value. I was toying between this hotel and the Holiday Inn and wish I had chosen the latter. It looked much nicer and was more centrally located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for writing, Caryn. While we are a bit further from the hustle and bustle of the city center Main Beach area, our guests do usually preferred the peacefulness of a less crowded beach such as the one across from us. I'm sure you'll find the perfect place on your next visit to Laguna Beach.

~ Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Beautiful, good-sized room in very popular Laguna Beach. Fresh, hot breakfast and helpful friendly staff. Great price with our Best Western voucher and AAA Club deals. Has a/c, full bath, and a separate spa tub (we didn't use). We chose the option of a separate full bathroom for the additional privacy and soundproofing after viewing the available room options. Not in the main part of town but hiking distance to a beach and shuttle stop #8 right outside. Free summer time shuttle takes people into town, other beaches, restaurants and bars, shopping, galleries, and art festivals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful and memorable laguna Beach experience with us, Leticia!

~ Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel/Room was adequate with free wifi, free parking and complimentary breakfast but overpriced for what we paid ($300 for the night), especially considering:

- air con rattles non-stop so when sleeping you either have to turn it off and bake or be prepared to be woken up every 10 minutes when it auto-starts

- we were on the forth floor which means you have to get your bags up a further flight of stairs as elevator access only runs to the third floor. It Is not really an issue as I'm young and fit enough to do it, but would have expected some type of bell boy service to be offered given price and access limitation on this floor

- receptionist was pretty non-interested when checking in and felt like we had to extract information from her that another group were being freely told next to us.

- no gym facility (as far as I am aware from reading, the receptionist didn't tell us if there was!) only a discounted rate at some nearby health club

- final point not really a complaint just an observation - room set up a bit weirdly with salon style half doors to the bathroom that swing open freely (don't expect privacy) and the fridge and coffee maker positioned in the bathroom

All in all it was ok but price and points above mean I will lake to stay elsewhere next time I visit Laguna

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I am sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience at our beautiful hotel. I hope you gave us the opportunity to select a more suitable room for you while you were here. There are many different options and I'm sure we could have found one to suit your needs.

~ Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent a week here over the holidays last year and I have been meaning to write a review ever since. We had a corner room with a hot tub and a balcony. Parking was free and under cover. Breakfast was a big surprise. Eggs, make your own waffles, fruit etc. across the road from the beach and some great tidal pools. A short drive to Laguna or an easy walk either by road or along the beach. Rooms are a bit dated but very clean and comfortable. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
How nice of you to still be reminiscing about your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas a year later. Does that mean you'll be visiting us again soon? Thank you so much and we hope to see yu again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our newly remodeled, fully air-conditioned rooms featuring large, oversized whirlpool spas for two, beautifully appointed new furnishings and new 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar.Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway, each fully air conditioned room features a refrigerator, coffee/coffeemaker, iron/board, hair dryer, complimentary local and toll free calls and newspaper. Complimentary off-street parking is available for our guests (a true rarity in Laguna Beach!). Meeting room space is also available as well as a rooftop Terrace and observation deck for social or business gatherings offering panoramic views of the coastline, Catalina Island and the breathtaking colors of the sunset beyond. For the sun worshipper, the quiet and serene courtyard area features an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa. Enjoy your moment at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.