We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Best Western I've ever stayed at!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Hollywood, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The BEST Best Western I've ever stayed at!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Perhaps it's just because it's Laguna Beach and the room was ~$200/night, but this was by far the BEST Best Western I've ever stayed at! We were lucky to find a room at the last minute (without prior reservations), as this was the same weekend as the Pageant Of The Masters and the Sawdust Art Festival (a few blocks away in downtown Laguna Beach). We had already parked our car many blocks away on an unrestricted residential street for free, and we were on our bikes -- not knowing that the city has an ordinance against riding bikes on the sidewalks, and the streets have NO bike lanes! C'mon, Laguna -- what's up with that?

PROS:
-Excellent service! They placed our bikes in a locked garage storage room overnight as a courtesy.
-Great location! Right on the PCH, a block from the beach!
-Modern, updated décor and all the amenities: hair dryer, mini-fridge, Jacuzzi hot tub (in the room), coffee machine, WiFi, widescreen cable TV, etc.
--Super-comfortable mattress and soft sheets!
-The continental breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon!

CONS:
-The shower's hot/cold knob was broken; you could only turn the water on, but couldn't adjust the temperature.
-We had a ground-floor room, so we could hear footsteps above us from time to time.
-They prop the breakfast room's door open, which allows secondhand cigarette smoke to drift in throughout the meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful tribute! We always try and save a few rooms for last minute reservations. Not everyone has time to pre-plan a get-a-way. We're so glad you found us and we hope to see you again very soon. Happy Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    168
    67
    33
    31
See reviews for
92
193
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

A little older but well appointed Spanish style hotel that features good sized room and that rarest of commodities in the area: Free parking on site! A street side room will be a little noisy but delivers a morning sea breeze. 99 steps from the beach is pretty accurate...nice if smallish pools on the top floor, with a great view! Excellent breakfast included in our rate. ($179 in the summer) ...very competitive..great staff..Gracias Carlos!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We'll be sure and pass along your thanks to Carlos as well. please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff went above and beyond for us to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. We checked out July 12 to stay at an ocean front hotel but was disappointed there so we can back to Best Western the next day. Even though it was short notice, your staff welcomed us once again with open arms. I can't say enough great things about our stay there. A million thank yous for going out of your way to make sure we enjoyed our time. It felt like a home away from a home.. We will definitely be back! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you, Megan, for coming back to us! The thought of a hotel on the beach is a beautiful thing, but we all know we don't spend time in our rooms when we're on holiday. We're out making memories! The money saved by staying ACROSS from the beach than rather beachfront can better be utilized by nice dinners and maybe a little something special for you or your loved ones, don't you think? We know YOU do. Thanks again and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Laguna pricing is steep in Summer everywhere. Compared to other hotels in the area, this one is CLEAN, quiet, comfortable and has a cute small pool and nice patio area. It's an older hotel but has been kept up and the rooms are larger than most hotels in the area. It's located on one of the free shuttle stops - right at the corner/across the road so it's extremely convenient to get around Laguna. And the breakfast has more choices than most with a few hot items which are constantly being topped off. The staff is friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you, Sue, for staying with us. Your words are very much appreciated! We'll be sure to pass them along to our staff, too. The shuttle/trolley is an excellent way to get about town when they run during the Summer months while the art festivals are going on. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My friend and I absolutely LOVED this place. We initially wanted something right "on" the beach and debated whether we should do the more expensive hotels or not and ended up choosing Best Western. The best decision we made during our stay in California. Driving to the hotel, we realize the other hotels that cost double what we paid for this hotel was right across the street only. Not much difference, and the beach was only literally across the street. Highly recommend this place. I absolutely love the hot tub in the room. We definitely made good use of it after our long flight and long day of driving before settling down. Breakfast was good, room was great, staff was polite, close to the beach, and amazing free parking ramp-ish. Will definitely love to stay here again next time. Oh, free wifi too and cable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you for sharing your experiences while visiting our lovely hotel and Laguna Beach. Close, comfortable and convenient. It's all here! And we'll be waiting for you to come back soon......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Review for room 303.

The customer service at this hotel is AMAZING. You will not get better care anywhere. Scott, the reservations director is an angel on earth, truly. We had special circumstances which Scott listened and responded to with the most compassion and care we have ever experienced. No question was too much for him, and he did everything he could to make our trip to SoCal the best ever. He has become a friend for life for our family.

Anyway, we were upgraded to a partial ocean view right next to the pool. We were a bit worried it would be noisy, but we never heard anything from either traffic or people in the pool. The room was very clean, came with a mini fridge and shared balcony and best of all two person hot tub. We saw other reviews complaining that it's hard to get in and out of, but we never had an issue - there are bars to help, and the fact that it's so deep is wonderful. We made good use of it every night we were there. It was heavenly! The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows. Very nice TV and beautiful art in this room. Others thought the room shapes "weird", but we liked it because it was not like every other square hotel room you have ever been in - we prefer to call it unique. I suppose it's all in your perspective.

Breakfast is great, hot scrambled eggs mixed with ham, sausages, hash browns, make your own waffles, fruit, yogurts, bagels, toast, cereal, juices, tea and coffee. Something for everyone and always plenty of it. The breakfast staff are amazing, never letting anything run out, and keeping counters and tables clean.

The pool, while small, is heated and clean, and most of the time we had it to ourselves, since the beach is literally across the street. It was plenty big enough for the kids to play in and to relax a bit after a day at the beach.

The front desk staff are unrivaled. Very attentive to all our needs and pretty much have access to anything you need at any time. Plates, utensils, bottle opener, scissors - you name it, they had it. We loved that they provided beach towels and chairs, boogie boards and beach umbrellas too. A huge bonus.

Also, parking is free and plentiful at this hotel, which is rare in California. The views from the balcony were spectacular, and we enjoyed watching the sea over Pacific Coast Highway while drinking a cold one every night.

There is a nice sun deck on the fourth floor with lots of tables, and we ate lunch up there a couple of times. It was never crowded, probably because you are within very easy access to everything Laguna Beach has to offer in this location.

If you have any special circumstances (wedding, honeymoon, babymoon, traveling for illness, recently widowed etc.) just email the hotel and they will make sure they accommodate you. I was blown away by the personal service we received after doing so.

Book here, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are great, partial ocean view, near pool very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
What a beautiful review to share with everyone! Thank you so much for your kind words. We will be sure and share them with all of our staff. We do our best to sincerely accommodate each guest with their individual expectations..... and then surprise them by taking it a step or two further to deliver even something more whenever we can! It's just not just a job here, it's our passion. Thank you again and we hope to see you all in the4 very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I originally booked the room using an Internet-only rate. The day before I was scheduled to arrive with my travel partner, there was a medical emergency in her family. We were unsure what to do -- keep the trip or cancel it. I obviously didn't want to lose the money I'd spent on the reservation, so I went ahead with the cancellation, hoping that if I gave the hotel enough notice so they could open the room to other reservations, they'd be more generous in refunding my money. The morning of our scheduled departure for Laguna Beach, my friend made the decision that we should keep our original trip plans. In the hurry of getting ready to go, I made another online reservation. An hour later, I got a call from the hotel asking what my intentions were, because they had seen a cancellation, but then they had seen a follow-up reservation. I explained the situation and they gave our original booking back to us and cancelled the follow-up. This saved us money. And then once we arrived at the hotel, we found out we had been given a complimentary upgrade. I was very impressed that the hotel was paying attention enough to see what I was doing in my "wishy-washy" state and they made the effort to call and clarify how they should proceed. Their willingness to go the extra mile helped save me money. And I still got to spend the weekend at the hotel I wanted to book the minute I saw it online.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us of your positive experience. We 're glad you made it! There are times when one books through a third party website which prohibits us from making changes in reservations, so it was VERY smart of you to book directly with Best Western. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our newly remodeled, fully air-conditioned rooms featuring large, oversized whirlpool spas for two, beautifully appointed new furnishings and new 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar.Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway, each fully air conditioned room features a refrigerator, coffee/coffeemaker, iron/board, hair dryer, complimentary local and toll free calls and newspaper. Complimentary off-street parking is available for our guests (a true rarity in Laguna Beach!). Meeting room space is also available as well as a rooftop Terrace and observation deck for social or business gatherings offering panoramic views of the coastline, Catalina Island and the breathtaking colors of the sunset beyond. For the sun worshipper, the quiet and serene courtyard area features an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa. Enjoy your moment at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.