We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and spacious accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
milton keynes, england
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable and spacious accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a 3rd floor room with a partial ocean view, which was as good as it gets due to the road and other hotels being between us and the sea. However, we could see the ocean and waves breaking, so no complaints.
the hotel is about 1.5 miles out from the centre of Laguna beach, which is a nice walk along the beach, and is surrounded by good restaurants and art galleries, also there is a nice Ralphs supermarket about half a mile away.
There is free underground parking at the hotel with access to the lobby. The hotel feels a little old, with carpets, lift, pool area etc looking tired, the rooms are quite dark but spacious and comfortable. Our room came with a huge spa bath as well as shower and bathtub, and a nice balcony, although all rooms on the floor share the same elongated balcony around the property. The staff are friendly and efficient, there is free coffee in the lobby and a good free breakfast in the morning . The pool is small but clean, and the top floor has a nice sun terrace with decent views across to the ocean. It can be noisy due to the traffic, but overall this is a really good value hotel, with spacious comfortable rooms in a nice part of town, and for our 2 night stay was perfectly good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are delighted you found us! Our hotel is very "Laguna-esque" as all rooms are different shapes and sizes with many to choose from. It sounds like yuo may have been in one of the rooms 301-304. This is the ONLY section of rooms (4 rooms total) with a connecting balcony. The other rooms on the front of the building all have a private balcony or patio (except for one) and the quiter rooms on the opposite side of the front have no balcony at all (generally). See what we mean? A call to the hotel prior to your visit can help us deliver our guest's expectations. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    155
    65
    30
    31
See reviews for
88
175
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Average hotel in a great location. In general, I guess Laguna Beach is expensive, if you can secure a discounted rate - do so. I attended a wedding and spent a considerable amount of time across the street and at various restaurants and bars. If you are looking for amenities, this is not the hotel but it definitely has LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!!! Moreover, one can nab amenities from the local businesses down the street or the resort across the way. Very close to the beach and a nice walk to the center of Laguna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We certainly are surrounded by many local and visitor favorites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is situated near a busy road and has no view of the beach. There is a private garage for the car.
The lay-out of the hotel is rather strange: the lobby is in the cellar and rooms have only small windows towards a small open corridor. As a result there is a lot of noise from the neighbours, especially from their aircos.
Rooms are spacious but rather dark as there are only small windows. Beds are comfortable.
There was a rather unpleasant humid smell in our room.
Breakfast was OK but we were shocked that it was served on cheap plastic plates. The plastic knifes were of such poor quality that it was almost impossible to cut a piece of waffle with them.
This is really below the expected standard for a hotel that asks 188 dollars for a night!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time from your busy day to express your comments regarding your recent stay. We have many rooms and room types to choose from. Calling the hotel direct when making your reservations is the best way to ensure you receive what you are expecting. Our rooms are all shapes and sizes but we do have different locations available. We hope we are able to better accommodate you on your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, UT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Best Western was a decent place to stay. I was a little dissappointed in quality, but just because I'm used to newer hotels. The rooms felt clean, the jet tub was lovely, and the staff was nice. The hotel is in a great location and right across the street from the beach. It was fantastic with an 8 month old so we could just run back to the room for naps or what ever else we needed. The pool was good, and the breakfast really nice. I would stay here again for sure. In Laguna it's hard to get new nice hotels at a decent price so this is a really good compromise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! The beach access is especially nice as there is a walkway with no stairs leading you right to the beach. Unless you are at busy Main Beach, all other beach access requires use of stairs which can be a challenge for strollers. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here due to its location, which is right on PCH. The hotel has an undercover parking which is convenient and the staff was helpful. We booked a deluxe queen room (which was on the 2nd floor) and it was very spacious with a spa bath in the bedroom, with a balcony and great view. However, it is right on the busy highway so it was a little noisy when the windows/door were open.

Room Tip: If you are not interested in the view, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Your comments are very much appreciated! Additionally, some guest upgrade to a Premium room on the third floor which removes them further from any traffic noise and still provides a balcony and a partial ocean view as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed there on our way down the coast and found it very easily as it is located along the PCH. The hotel had an undercover parking which was convenient and the staff was helpful.
We booked a deluxe queen room (which was on the 2nd floor) and although it was very spacious with a spa bath in the lounge room (!!!) the balcony and outlook was right on the busy highway making it quite impossible to open the window door as it was too noisy. Breakfast was very average in a dark room, the only highlight was a waffle maker apart from that the food was below average. The pool and common terrace/sun deck area was nice though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or at least not on the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments! For those who prefer not to people watch from their private balconies, we suggest one of our rooms on the other side of the hotel. While they do not offer a private balcony, yu will not be on the highway /beach side. Your breakfast comments are alos appreciated. We are currently trying a variety of combinations to ensure we are serving up to our guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our newly remodeled, fully air-conditioned rooms featuring large, oversized whirlpool spas for two, beautifully appointed new furnishings and new 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar.Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway, each fully air conditioned room features a refrigerator, coffee/coffeemaker, iron/board, hair dryer, complimentary local and toll free calls and newspaper. Complimentary off-street parking is available for our guests (a true rarity in Laguna Beach!). Meeting room space is also available as well as a rooftop Terrace and observation deck for social or business gatherings offering panoramic views of the coastline, Catalina Island and the breathtaking colors of the sunset beyond. For the sun worshipper, the quiet and serene courtyard area features an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa. Enjoy your moment at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.