We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay in Laguna Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay in Laguna Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in December (the off season) . the hotel was very nice, very clean rooms, spacious, and the room we had was very quiet area. The breakfast was very nice (but it did not start until around 730 am which we felt was quite late as we were ready to eat at about 4am due to the time difference!). But we enjoyed the hotel and the area The hotel itself is a bit far of a walk to the center of town, but that was not an issue as we had a car rental and this time of year it was fairly quiet, so parking was not a problem.
Overall we would recommend this Hotel and would not hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have the nice Balconies, but are on the busy road, so we opted for a room more at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for spending some holiday time with us Chris! You mention the "off season", but with the contrinued promotion of the Sawdust Winter fantasy and other events, Laguna Beach has much more of a year round draw anymore. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    161
    65
    31
    31
See reviews for
90
182
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elsinore, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here because we were going to a Christmas party nearby. The front of the hotel and the lobby were nice. We were excited because the room was a decent price for the area. The room quality wasn't too bad and it had a jacuzzi tub, but the room smelled funny...very musty and moldy smelling. We opened the door to the patio to get some air and see the view...which was a huge wall with a small opening at the top for light and air. We were basically in a basement. To make matters worse, we were right along the street so we could hear the cars, smell the exhaust, see people's feet walking along the street and hear them talking. The room was also really hot and stuffy. My fiancé slept fine, but I barely slept at all. If I ever stayed there again, I'd request an upper room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Views do vary from room to room as the hotel is built on the slopes of the Laguna Beach hillside. While some of the more economical rooms do offer little or no ocean view, they are advertised as such to avoid any confusion on expectations when booking. Premium / Partial ocean view rooms are available but the rates are normally different. Have a Happy Holiday season and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

What a darling hotel! Some reviews have made comments on the loud traffic noise - I don't know what instead you would expect from any of these hotels being on the coast highway? Of course you're going to hear traffic! Front desk staff were very nice and welcoming. Continental breakfast was generous (eggs, sausage, bagels, cereal, fruit and waffles) and delicious.

The room was very clean as was the bathroom and jacuzzi. I loved the bed and how there was a duvet. So nice! Great TV with good channel selections and very fast WiFi.

We really really loved our time here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
What nice things you have to say! We are so happy to hear of your wonderful experience here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel. And its so nice to hear yuo enjoyed our new, upgraded HOT breakfast buffet, too! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Room was nice and clean, if a little oddly shaped. I got one of the "partial ocean view" rooms. Traffic was a little loud due to the hotel being right on Highway 1, but we had a great time. Both of us definitely enjoyed and we have plans to come back the next time we need a 'nearby getaway"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for visiting with us, Bob. We hope to see you again soon. Have a very happy holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel location was easy to find, right along PCH, however the hotel was a a mile away from the main downtown of Laguna. But, plenty of parking and the location is still close to other shops in the Laguna area.

Service, everyone was really nice and they even gave us a gorgeous room with a view of the ocean! The rooms are clean and our room had a jazcuzzi!

They do offer a daily breakfast buffet, but we never got to taste the food but free is free.

Overall, very satisfied and no complaints with our stay at Best Western Laguna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank yuo for staying with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel. Your comments are appreciated! Yes, we are about one mile south of the main "hustle and bustle" of the downtown/Main Beach area. Many visitors do not realize there are several different "atmospheres" to discover within our little beach town. Our location can provide a more relaxed and less "touristy" feeling but is still surrounded by the many art galleries, restaurants and small shops for which Laguna beach is so famous. If you are seeking a bit more people activity, a stroll up the beach or walks can put you right in the middle of all of this action, but then you can escape back to the quieter comforts of your room. A quick soak in your in-room whirlpool spa will melt away any stress you might incur!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the BW on the weekend of 11/11/12. This hotel was very nice on-line and it made it seem like all the rooms were so big and spacious. Ours was average. There was nothing to brag about. The only nice thing was the whirlpool tub but that was about it. Our room was located on the 4th level, we were told to take the elevators up to the forth floor but then we had to come down some stairs to go back up to our room. The layout of the rooms are not very good. Especially after a long trip where you just want to go and relax. It literally took us an additional 5 minutes just to figure out the room set-ups.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your regarding your recent stay at our beautiful property. Yes, the room configerations and locations can be a bit quirky - very Laguna! Room prices are actually based on the amount of ocean view rather than the shape, size or location. We apologize for your challenge in finding your room but so glad you were finally able to relax as planned. Suggestion to all: When calling to make your reservation, please consider discussing with the reservationist any room details you might be expecting or requesting so we might best accommodate you. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We visited for one night in nov. our trip was not beach focused but rather touring and seeing the sights. This was a good place for that. Location was On the main road. The room was spacious and we were upgraded when we arrived. The bathroom was huge. Only concern would be for older folk getting in and out of the shower. Since the big tub doubled as a shower, it was not the easiest getting in and out. My only concern

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and suggestions. There are actually TWO types of bathrooms; one with the step in tub/spa combination while others have a separate spa and bath tub allowing for easier access. If this is any concern, be sure and ask when making your reservations.. Thanks again and take care of yourselves in New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our newly remodeled, fully air-conditioned rooms featuring large, oversized whirlpool spas for two, beautifully appointed new furnishings and new 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar.Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway, each fully air conditioned room features a refrigerator, coffee/coffeemaker, iron/board, hair dryer, complimentary local and toll free calls and newspaper. Complimentary off-street parking is available for our guests (a true rarity in Laguna Beach!). Meeting room space is also available as well as a rooftop Terrace and observation deck for social or business gatherings offering panoramic views of the coastline, Catalina Island and the breathtaking colors of the sunset beyond. For the sun worshipper, the quiet and serene courtyard area features an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa. Enjoy your moment at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.