We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but simple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, but simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel. Not extravagant, but rooms were good size. I had a partial ocean view. A bit of street noice, but not bad. The only thing was that there was no fitness facility. Free breakfast everyday was nice. Overall, the hotel was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, Michael. While we await the addition of a fitness room, discount tickets to a local gym are available at the front desk. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    168
    67
    33
    31
See reviews for
92
193
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel for an overnight get-away. We had a relaxing stay here. They have a really nice terrace with plenty of tables and chairs and lounge chairs with a view of the ocean. The pool was nice and refreshing. There is a short walk to the beach and the hotel provides towels, umbrellas and beach chairs. The in-room spa (very large) is an extra nice bonus. We had a nice corner room. Even though the hotel is on a very busy street, we didn't hear any traffic noise inside our room and were able to get an excellent night sleep. The breakfast was very nice with made-to-order waffles, scrambled eggs, fruit, pastries, cereals, and even my favorite Yoplait yougart. We will definately return here, but would like to stay two nights the next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
How wonderful you were able to take advantage of some of the amenities offerred here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas. It sounds like you had a marvelous time! We look forwardto your return for your two night stay. Did you know you can save eben more by staying THREE nights? Just a suggestion.......... : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Going to Laguna Beach to see The Pageant of the Masters and staying at the Best Western Plus was ideal. Once we got there, we were able to park our car and utilize the free summer shuttle for the entire visit. The rooms were very comfortable, except for the bathroom, which had no privacy. I went with a lady friend and it was a little strange not having a door to the shower area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank yo for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas. Isn't the FREE parking great? For a more comfortable room situation, may I suggest our Deluxe or Premium accommodations in the front building? All will have a regular door closure unlike the swinging doors in the other deluxe units. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, AZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked this hotel for 1 night during the Laguna Beach Pageant of the Masters. The hotel was full. We were given a parking tag for the garage when we checked in. The day manager told us there was a shuttle to the festival, but we drove. When we returned after the event, the parking garage was full! The hotel is right on t he coast highway. The night manager was very hostile, having just heard a complaint from another couple with no place to park. He told me that the $300. I had paid for one night did not guarantee me a parking spot, since some people "cheated" and brought more than one car. He told me I needed to park my car on the street (Coast Highway), and be sure to get up before 8 am and go out and feed the parking meters regularly. Later on, some people would leave and I could get a spot. His other suggestion was to walk the neighborhood and search for a spot, but watch out for no parking signs there. When I told him that was unacceptable, he finally went to the garage, moved some laundry carts and a wooden box, and told me to park in that no parking area. This experience ruined our stay and took over half an hour (by then it was midnight).Other than no parking, it was an okay place to stay, expecially for families since there was a breakfast in the am. The location was good, but for the price (high due to the event), the no parking hassle was not worth staying again!

Room Tip: Rooms right on the Coast Highway can be noisy! Don't bring a car unless you intend to leave it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments! It is truely unfortunate when someone uses more than the one space we offer with each room. While we do issue parking permits, locating the cars without them can sometimes lead to a dead end as we cannot traceit with only the one car registered. Charging for the parking spaces as most hotels do in Laguna Beach is one option to deter this kind of behavior, however we have thus far decided to keep it free as we see no reason to nickle and dime our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Good location, great restaurant across the street "Mozambique" - quite reasonable. Good location. Comfortable room but ours had a bathroom with huge vanity but only one sink. Limited space for clothing storage. Loved the refrigerator for snacks and drinks. It was very comfortable, friendly, and we experienced good service. Our room had a whirlpool bath and it was SO worth it - very fun, refreshing and relaxing! All in all it was a great stay and we had a blast!

Room Tip: Bring your pillow if you don't like jumbo size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
How wonderful you were able to break away from your beautiful Sedona and visit our lovely Laguna Beach. they are BOTH very special places, indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

stayed here just for 1 night while touring up hwy 1 hotel was very good, nice food close to road but didn't hear traffic! Nice little breakfast in the morning with hot bacon n egg (included). Close to beach which is fantastic and worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, Tony. We're glad you enjoyed our new complimentary hot breakfast buffet, too. We hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Pleasantly surprised and would highly recommend. The rooms were updated, the complimentary breakfast was good and the location was great. If looking for a room with 2 beds I would highly recommend asking for the 4th floor. This way you get to sit on the balcony at night and enjoy the ocean sounds. It was literally right across from the beach. Another great perk was the free parking and the free trolley that runs June-Aug. The trolley stops were right near the hotel and came in handy. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor facing the beach. You get access to the large patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. They are very much appreciated. Please stay again with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our newly remodeled, fully air-conditioned rooms featuring large, oversized whirlpool spas for two, beautifully appointed new furnishings and new 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar.Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway, each fully air conditioned room features a refrigerator, coffee/coffeemaker, iron/board, hair dryer, complimentary local and toll free calls and newspaper. Complimentary off-street parking is available for our guests (a true rarity in Laguna Beach!). Meeting room space is also available as well as a rooftop Terrace and observation deck for social or business gatherings offering panoramic views of the coastline, Catalina Island and the breathtaking colors of the sunset beyond. For the sun worshipper, the quiet and serene courtyard area features an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa. Enjoy your moment at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.