We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aliso Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Aliso Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aliso Creek Inn
31106 Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
San ramon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Aliso has potential, quiet and secluded if that is what you are looking for - if you want to be close to the action this is not your place . Wildlife around property very cool ! They need a shuttle to take you to grocery store up the road . The rooms have kitchenettes which is great ! They also need shuttle service into town that would be amazing so you can enjoy both the secluded location and ease getting in to town to watch the sunset while having a cocktail or dinner - under new ownership , so I'm super excited to see what they do to utilize a great property . Service staff was very nice and professional

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Front Office Manager at Aliso Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor! We value the opinions of our guests and appreciate your feedback! The hotel is currently shut down for renovation work, which is the first step in the exciting changes to come! Your suggestions will definitely be considered for the operations of the new resort! We encourage you to come back and stay with us when the resort reopens in 2014 at a date to be later announced!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at Aliso Creek Inn recently for 4 nights as our house was renovated. Perfect location just a stroll to the beach. Really nice full kitchens with utensils, large closets with generous storage space. We especially appreciated TV and DVD players in living room and bedroom as well.
The patios are enclosed and private with access to the pool and hot tub area.
The hotel is a bit dated and in need of some remodeling, but the location, amenities, hotel grounds and friendly and helpful staff make up for it.
They have a wonderful pet policy with one-time $50 fee. We had our kitty with us and we all felt like home and really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Front Office Manager at Aliso Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Irena, thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Aliso Creek Inn and Golf Course. We value the opinions of our guests and appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed the location of our resort along with the amenities that were offered.

Thank you for the kind words regarding the customer service you received from our staff. That is our number one priority and we are glad that it was delivered! Our hotel rooms are all currently closed for renovation, so this will definitely address your comment about the facilities needing remodeling. Please stay tuned and come stay with us again once we reopen in 2014 at a date to be announced later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

For my spouses birthday I always book a hotel for the night. This year I was so busy with other things that I wasn't able to start looking into hotels until a week prior to his birthday. All the hotels I had in mind were booked when finally I can across this place. The beach was a plus, since he loves the beach, and the scenery looked lovely, so I booked it. Check-in was at three and check-out was at noon which was great! The building itself is old looking and could use some new paint. The lobby was small but the workers were very friendly. They also had, what looked to be, complimentary newspapers on the lobby table which I thought was really nice. We drove to our room which was across a little bridge that looked to be a walking bridge rather than a car bridge. Nonetheless, I drove over it and parked my car. In the parking garage there were a couple beer bottles, which I didn't care for to much, but the garage was spacious.

We walked into our room and it was very large! Loved the kitchen! That's one of the reasons why I booked the hotel. I brought my own food, a sharp knife (since they only have butter knifes), and soap and a sponge. Nicely, they had soap and a sponge and a decent amount of different sized cooking pans. Our room looked out over the creek which had a couple ducks swimming in it. The bedroom was large and the bathroom was a good size as well. If we had invited our friends we could have comfortably placed ten of them throughout the room. The size of it was just wonderful. After being in the room for about 15 minutes we get a knock at the door and the lobbyist graciously gave my spouse a birthday card and little chocolate birthday cake. I love when places get intimate that way. Major plus for me.

One of the things my spouse and I love doing is walking around the hotel, so we did. We walked by the golf course and noticed about 6-7 deer eating the grass. It was so great! We even saw a raccoon later that night! We watched them for a good ten minutes before checking out the pool and hot-tub. Next to the hot-tub is shuffleboard and even though the cement is cracked, making the game hard to play, my spouse and I played anyway. Then next to the pool they have a Ping-Pong table set up. We played that for about 30 minuets. We loved these two amenities. After that, we took a nice little stroll along the golf course which is just lovely.

There's an Albertson's down the street, the mattress was good, and even though there were dings or loose cabinets here and there, that was insignificant to what else you could do in and around the facility. I also wanted to draw particular attention to the a/c unit. It's a small old unit located in the living room for easy access. However, you get the option to go down to 60 degrees all the way to 90 or 100 degrees. The room has A/C and anyone who says otherwise must not know how to work the wall unit.

It was a good place to stay but if you are looking for a hotel vibe, you definitely won't get it here. You get a real sense of hominess. Personally, I like the hotel vibe but my spouse really liked the feel of this place. I think I'd give it another try when management redoes the outside of the buildings, because the paint really did give the place an old feel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Front Office Manager at Aliso Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We value the opinions of our guests and appreciate your feedback. We are really glad that your spouse had a great birthday celebration and thank you for spending it with us! Starting on November 1, 2013, all of our hotel rooms will be shut down for renovation work. This will definitely address your concerns about both the interior and exterior portions of the rooms. The hotel will reopen sometime in 2014 at a date to be announced later. Please stay tuned and come stay with us again next year after the rooms are "reimagined"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is an old resort dating back to the 60's...and it hasn't been updated since. It is in great need of a good fire, or a major rehab. However, if you are in need of a place to stay that is spacious and is reasonably clean, this is a good start. We stayed in what was probably once a two bedroom condo. It was huge and has everything you need for a one night stay or a week. The furnishings are basic and spartan. The pool area is huge but we didn't use it so it is hard to comment. The resort is in easy walking distance to the beach. My wife called it a condo with Motel 6 quality! I think she nailed it.

We had two little kids with us so we ate up the street at Ruby's. Good burgers and great shakes in an old diner setting.

We enjoyed the whale watching at Dana Point Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Front Office Manager at Aliso Creek Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and also for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor! Your observation is absolutely correct. In 1963, the resort was originally designed and built as apartment and condominium units before being converted into a nightly hotel room rental operation. The property was recently purchased and the new ownership group is planning on some great improvements that will no doubt address your concerns about the rooms needing a major rehab. Please stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have frequented this location since our children were infants. The rooms have been perfect for all ages and stages. The true comfort of home..away from home with a feeling of escape. Not to mention the beauty of wildlife in your golf course view. A nice walk to the beach and a pool to cool off in at the end of the day...for young and old! Keep the prices competitive and you will have customers coming like us for life. Keep some towels out at the pool for swimmers who forgot their room towels. See ya next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Front Office Manager at Aliso Creek Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Lydia, thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We value the opinions of our guests and appreciate your feedback! We are thrilled to see that you have been able to spend some quality family time at our property for many years! We are also glad to see how much you enjoy the scenery and wildlife at ACI and Aliso Beach Park! Thank you for your continued business and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We got a good deal on this hotel through Hotel Tonight app and were very happy with the value. OK, the room was in such need of remodeling, it was almost shabby. But it was relatively clean and spacious, with a full bathroom and a good-sized bath. What made us happy were the hotel grounds -- 83 acres in a lush canyon where you can go birdwatching or walk to the beach or play Executive golf course. It was absolutely quiet, a perfect place to sit outside with coffee and breakfast. We've been to Laguna Beach many times before and never noticed this little gem. The front desk staff were very helpful. We were sorry to have to move on after one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Front Office Manager at Aliso Creek Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Aliso Creek Inn and Golf Course on TripAdvisor. We value the opinions of our customers and appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel grounds, and we are thrilled that you got to enjoy the nature in the canyon and at the beach!! We also love hearing that enjoyed your breakfast, along with the canyon and golf course views at Ben Brown's 10th Hole.

Yes, we cannot disagree with you that our property is in need of some “love,” and in this regard we have some great news! The property was recently purchased and the new ownership group is planning on some great improvements that will no doubt address your concern! Please stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aliso Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliso Creek Inn

Address: 31106 Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Is Calling…Welcome to the 83 acre Aliso Creek Golf Course, truly a “hidden gem,” and home to the only golf course in Laguna Beach, California. We invite you to experience why so many keep us their secret for golf and special events. Framed amongst the historic and inspiring Aliso and Woods Canyons, our Gary Roger Baird designed 9-hole, Par 32 (Five Par 4s and Four Par 3s) golf course offers world class playing conditions in a serene and spectacular wilderness habitat. After your round, unwind at Ben Brown’s 10th Hole and enjoy daily offerings from our patio grill and panoramic outdoor seating. Our property can also provide the perfect event venue for a memorable wedding, corporate meeting, or celebration with full service catering available.Come and explore the hidden beauty and tradition of Aliso Creek Golf Course, where the canyon meets the coast in the famous seaside village of Laguna Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aliso Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aliso Creek Hotel Laguna Beach
Aliso Creek Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aliso Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.