We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding on 07/07/07” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa del Camino to your Saves list
La Casa del Camino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Claremont, CA
1 review
“Wedding on 07/07/07”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

My wife and I were married on the rooftop on 07/07/07. Our wedding/guest planner Jessica went out of her way to make sure everything was perfect. The food was amazing!! The staff was always helpful. The room was beautiful. We go back to the hotel every wedding anniversary and enjoy a drink on the rooftop then we enjoy dinner at K'ya.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenageHotelAnaheim, Owner at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, April 13, 2009
lucky7Claremont_CA,

First and foremost that you for your comments about Jessica, I will make sure to pass them along! Secondly, thank you for being a loyal customer to our hotel, it's truly an honor that you were married at the hotel and we look forward to many happy years for you to return to our property!

Thank you for the continued business and we look forward to seeing you at La Casa del Camino...

Regards,

La Casa del Camino...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    87
    31
    24
    23
See reviews for
34
165
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Bungalow on Hwy 101 very loud. Fan didn't work Office was going to "research it" which meant it didn't get fixed.

Reported Xmas money in gift envelopes taken out of my carry-on in bath.Nothing was done..no apologies. Emailed manager of La Casa Del Camino and still no response.

Breakfast was wonderful in restaurant located 3 blks away.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — very loud traffic noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens ga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

We came across this place through trip advisor forum. We could not have been more pleased with our experience here. Unfortunately we were only here for one night but I must say this was one of the most nostalgic places we've ever stayed. When walking through the front door you realize you've made the right choice. We had lunch on the rooftop - awesome views!! First time on the West Coast and I must say we were most impressed. The rooms were not what I expected but very clean and I realize they are trying to keep with the theme of the place. Lobby area with fireplace and cush sofas are a great place to enjoy a glass of wine. Many locals come here for the sunset views so you know it's good when the locals come!! The town of Laguna is so quaint and not what I expected at all - LOVED IT!!!!

  • Liked — Rooftop Lounge
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenageHotelAnaheim, Owner at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, April 13, 2009
momonthegoAthensGa,

Thank you for your great comments regarding La Casa del Camino! The rooftop lounge is the most beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean and the Hills of Laguna Beach! Our hotel was built in the early 1900's so we did try our best to keep the charm, while updating the amenities for 09! Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!!!

Regards,

La Casa del Camino!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

I was so impressed with the staff at this hotel! The hotel itself is quaint and full of character. The roof-top terrace is popular with locals and is quite the scene on the week-ends! The food was outstanding especially the huge breakfasts. Nickolas and Norma were wonderful and the room was spacious and well appointed. I loved the down comforters and the huge amount of pillows. The housekeeping department did a nice job of keeping the room looking fresh. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be in the center of things, and who likes a good standard of service. I will definitely be returning soon!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Owner at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 23, 2008
deejay21,

Thank you for your compliments for La Casa del Camino! We do pride ourselves on our service and I will make sure Nick and Norma hear your kind words... Our Rooftop Lounge is one of the most popular attractions for Laguna and our food, service enhance the sunset view from the Pacific Ocean! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

La Casa del Camino...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

The hotel was built in 1929 so the room was small AND that is the way rooms were in 1929. The hotel was also spotless, tastefully refurbished and totally charming. When built, it was an icon of Laguna Beach and has much of that same tone today. We understand that the new owner lives on the property so it is obvious he is very hands on. The manager had just joined the staff when we visited. He is from several generations of hotel and restaurant ownership in South Africa. His old world, professional touch is also apparent.

ALL of the staff were friendly, cheerful and seemed to genuinely care that we had a wonderful vacation. Jessica, at the front desk, helped us find sight-seeing attractions and great restaurants and went through their menus giving us suggestions. Others behind the desk assisted us with beach chairs and towels. Our breakfast waitress, Daniela, from Romania, was great fun. Our evening waiter, Al, walked us through the menu suggesting items and when he discovered one of us was a vegetarian brought the chef to the table and we talked about several choices not on the menu. They prepared a Tofu Steak that was out of this world. The dining room is lively at dinner. Not noisy, but certainly with an energy about it. It is right on the sidewalk and, especially at breakfast and lunch, a great place to people watch. On the roof-top are tables and chairs where you can have lunch and look out over the Pacific. An hour before sundown, it gets very busy because of the incredible vista of the sun dropping into the sea. Awesome. Our favorite cocktail, "Stuff In A Glass." Suggested by a charming waitress with a huge smile. Raspberry vodka, crushed raspberries, pineapple juice and a fruit garnish. After dinner, sip a brandy on leather couches in the lobby. Fireplace and a brand new grand piano (which should have a pianist). The steps down to the beach are about 100 yards from the door.

We understand there are larger rooms with different views and next time we may try one. If friendliness and attentiveness of the staff are important to you, this is the place. If you like the nostalgia of a hotel that was an icon of Laguna Beach and want to feel appreciated, you will love La Casa del Camino.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness and efficiency
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Owner at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 23, 2008
MoviemakerLasVegas,

Thank you for your kind words for La Casa del Camino... I will ensure all your great words get passed onto the team and assure you that we will only continue getting better!

Thank you for the business and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

La Casa del Camino...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

My husband,and I stayed at the La Casa Del Camino for a total of five days over labor day weekend.The website looked very nice,and we had a wedding to attend in the area.
When we checked in the staff was very friendly,and helpful,but when we got to our room it was clean,but very old and small.The ironing board,and iron were under the bed!!
There was a wedding going on one night,and it sounded like elephants running upstairs,just awful!We paid alot of $$$$ to stay here,and I never would recommend it.plus the locals hanging out in the front of the hotel at night is very scary!! The only plus was the restuarant in the hotel!!Never again.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Owner at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 23, 2008
caeley,

I am sorry that you experienced what you did. The hotel was built in the late 20's and we tried to keep the "historical" look and feel of the hotel. Some of our rooms are smaller, however all of them are charming. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to improve on your experiences...

Regards,

La Casa del Camino...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

After trying to find a room at several other Laguna hotels we struck lucky with this one. We negotiated a great price on a king beach front room which was beautifully and tastefully appointed. The reception staff were outstanding. There's a great restaurant on the roof where we had lunch overlooking the beach. Free parking was across the road and beach towels/chairs were supplied. After returning from dinner in the town the restaurant in the hotel was full with lots of people around the bar. However, there was absolutley no noise in our room apart from the sound of the waves hitting the shore. Breakfast was not included in the price but we ate at a reasonable price in the hotel restaurant. I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — location & quality of room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Owner at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 23, 2008
Wilson080,

Thank you for your compliments about La Casa del Camino! I assure you the team will be happy to hear of your experiences and look forward to seeing you back in Laguna soon!

Regards,

La Casa del Camino...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel La Casa del Camino quickly became the cat's meow for the former Hollywood elite when it opened in 1929, making it a perfect coastal destination. This historic, Mediterranean-style boutique hotel features the beach in its backyard and is located in the heart of the Laguna Beach Hip District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Camino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.