We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel with great room, rooftop and restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa del Camino to your Saves list
La Casa del Camino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Cute hotel with great room, rooftop and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I were looking for an overnight getaway while visiting Orange County. I called and made the reservation the night before with Jamie, who was extremely helpful. After reading reviews on the hotel I knew we wanted a room that was quiet - away from most of the PCH noise. We were placed in room 316 which had a queen bed and partial view of the ocean. We didn't notice the PCH noise at all. There was a little noise in the morning with delivery trucks on that side street, but that was it. It was a very cute room. Yes, our room was on the small size, but we both moved around just fine. The bed was super comfy and the bathroom area was very clean. The room had an air conditioner unit in the room, but it wasn't a big deal. It was cool enough out so we just opened the windows. When we checked in the rooftop bar area was open and Happy Hour was underway. We went up there during sunset and it was awesome. Alex was our friendly waitress and the cocktails and apps were really good. We planned on walking somewhere for dinner, but after checking out the menu at the restaurant downstairs we decided to give it a try. We got a nice little table outside on the terrace and the food was amazing. Unfortunately, I don't remember our waitress's name, but we ordered the items she recommended and they were very good. The next morning we ate the complimentary breakfast which was good too. We really enjoyed our stay. We had plans to venture to other parts of Laguna during our stay, but we ended up hanging out mostly at the hotel. Whether it's the reception desk, the bartender, or housekeeping - the staff is so nice and they have free parking. We would definately return.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the small size so try to avoid bringing in big suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear PadBrooke,
We are happy to hear how you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your comments and compliments to our friendly staff are very much appreciated and have been passed along to them. Thank you for your review... We look forward to your return!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    88
    31
    24
    23
See reviews for
34
166
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My Fiance and I just recently stayed at La Casa del Camino for one night during a California trip this month. We were traveling with friends of ours - another couple. We we able to check into the hotel a few hours before check-in. The hotel is on the main road that runs parallel to the ocean. There is a ton to do within walking distance. The lobby is cute - Spanish style. We stayed in the basic Queen room with a partial Ocean view. To be honest - it wasn't anything special, but we weren't expecting it to be since we were only traveling through Laguna for one night during our trip. Our friends booked one of the Surf suites that had a full ocean view. Their room was bigger and I thought it was nicer, however the ocean view was still slightly obstructed by the residential homes that come between the hotel and the beach.

The staff was extremely friendly. They had heard we were recently engaged and sent a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room upon arrival with a nice note. Go to the roof top bar. The views are spectacular and they have a happy hour in the afternoon. Get there early as it got busy quick and it was a week day!

There is a complimentary breakfast that was tasty and we sat in this cute little courtyard area which was nice.

We also walked to the Cliff for lunch which has amazing views and sits right on the beach. They had great drinks, great service and good food.

I would definitely return to La casa del camino - I felt we got the true Laguna Beach experience while we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 9 nights at Casa Del Camino. Location is great to shopping. The hotel has parking and the guest breakfast bar every AM was filling and delicious. We stayed in one of the Skateboard Design rooms. Very cute! Bed was comfy and the room spacious with great storage. We like to hear the ocean so we kept the windows open - this means noise from the trash trucks in the AM and people partying near the beach access.The hotel is 50 ft from the Cress St Beach access. It is about 30 feet/ 3 flights of stairs down to the beach. Just remember that the beach disappears during high tides, which was in the AM during our Sept 2013 stay. The hotel staff are great in setting up chairs and umbrella so we could watch the surf in the late afternoon. Hotel roof bar is very active and the drinks are great and prices are average for the area - $12 or so for a cosmo or margarita. The view of Laguna Beach is fabulous from the roof. The K'ya Bistro is the hotel restaurant. Very good small plate style - the bacon wrapped dates were especially good and the Thai chicken wings. Make a reservation as this restaurant is VERY popular all year round!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our american road trip and absolutely loved this place. The hotel has a gorgeous Spanish feel and has a cosy lobby with a fire place which was very inviting as you first step in. The staff were lovely and friendly. We had breakfast on the rooftop which was beautiful as we were overlooking the sea and had the terrace to ourselves. Then in the evening the rooftop has a great atmosphere as it's packed and we had a beautiful view of the sunset. The only slight negative is the room we had was tiny, which didn't bother us as we were only there a couple of nights, however if you had a longer trip I think you should maybe ask for a large room. However it was very clean and cosy and we had no real complaint! I would definitely recommend, laguna beach is also an amazing area!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear kellybroome,
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we appreciate your recommendation.
Thanks again!
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed there for three nights. Service and location are very good. The sleeping area of our room was large, but very dark and unappealing. A rug on the floor of the bedroom would do a lot to give the room warmth. The bathroom was recently upgraded with new tile and fixtures, but very small. The complimentary morning breakfasts were great. Would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your compliments are appreciated; we are happy you were able to enjoy our great location, breakfast buffet buffet and our friendly service.
We appreciate your feedback and suggestions for our guest rooms, and would like to note that each guest room is different in layout and decor. You may enjoy one of our Casa Surf rooms, as each one is uniquely designed by a different surf brand!
Thanks again,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was excited to stay at Casa del Camino because of all the great reviews but was disappointed with the room size, the mammoth A/C unit on the floor in the room, the fact that the bottom part of the window was not attached to the building and the loud event that the hotel was hosting in the lobby below my room. It was also a little disconcerting that the drapes, which had some kind of a strange residue on them, were draped over the very hot plug for the mammoth A/C at he wall outlet. The staff is fantastic and very helpful, but I have to wonder if the management is actually on-site/inspecting the rooms or if the idea is more of a "rack 'em and stack 'em" mentality without thought to return customers. I visit Laguna frequently on business and have stayed at numerous hotels in town. Regrettably,I would not stay at Casa del Camino again, nor would I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear KandHfromUS,
We are sincerely disheartened to hear how you feel. It is true, some of our guest rooms are petite, as this is a historic boutique hotel built in 1929. As with most hotels in Laguna Beach, ours was not built with central A/C, and we consider the addition of portable A/C units to be a nice addition to the comfort of our rooms, especially on hot days. Your feedback regarding the size and placement of the portable A/C unit is being considered and discussed.
Thank you for your compliments to our helpful staff. We hope you will consider staying with us again, perhaps in one of our larger Deluxe King or Casa Surf rooms. Thanks again for your candid comments.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel many times over the years, and I must say this trip was very disappointing. The staff was great, as usual, so hats off to them. My sweetheart and I stayed in a newly redecorated room and I guess I had my hopes up too high. We each had one large suitcase and that pretty much made it so that we literally could not move around the room.

We have stayed in the loft several times before, and I will never stay there again if I cannot get that or the one next to it.

Breakfast on day 1 was quite the challenge for them. When we got there at 9:00am, all the food was gone and we had to wait, along with 15 of our newly made friends, about 20 minutes for more to arrive. Of course, once it did, it was quickly consumed, and the next group ran into the same issue. On the plus side, the food, when we got it, was great!

For the price, not worth it in my opinion. We paid $360 per night after Labor Day. We stayed at The Fairmont Newport Beach for our 1st 3 nights. With their 3rd night free promotion, our rate was $109 / night. Spacious rooms, great outdoor pool, outstanding food and fantastic service.....all just 5 minutes down MacArthur Blvd to Corona del Mar beaches and about 15 minutes to Newport Beaches.

We may stay again if we can get a better rate, stay across the street in the large units, and possibly restripe the parking lot so that even our small car could park without having to climb in and out of the sunroof.

Greg C

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Greg C,
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment in your guest room. It's true, our rooms are a bit smaller than a large luxury chain hotel located in the middle of a concrete business district, however, we feel that La Casa del Camino offers a very different, more intimate experience, as we are a historic boutique hotel (36 total guest rooms) located on the beach in a small, eclectic beach town. Our rates are very competitive in the city of Laguna Beach, especially considering our location and amenities.
We do look forward to hosting you and your family again, when you return to stay at our Loft apartment. Your comments and feedback are appreciated.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel La Casa del Camino quickly became the cat's meow for the former Hollywood elite when it opened in 1929, making it a perfect coastal destination. This historic, Mediterranean-style boutique hotel features the beach in its backyard and is located in the heart of the Laguna Beach Hip District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Camino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.