We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming "get away" steps from the beach!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Camino

Save Saved
You added La Casa del Camino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charming "get away" steps from the beach!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Older, charming, boutique hotel. Staff very friendly and informative about Laguna Beach area.
My husband and I stayed here 2 nights as a romantic getaway. We loved the relaxed atmosphere. Found the hotel convenient and steps from the beautiful, almost private beach area. We loved to walk to area restaurants and shopping. The hotel is quite old, but rooms (suite) modern, smaller, but clean and relaxed. We stayed in the special designed surf suite, which was decorated in all white, great use of space. A note to consider, trucks behind the hotel begin around 7 am, which is noisy, but if you are early riser, no worries and great ocean view! Would need additional rooms for kids, but perfect for us. We walked a few blocks to the gym which is provided free of charge through hotel and reserved a table on "rooftop lounge" for sunset cocktails. It was a bit crowded, but great to be there. We would definitely recommend this for a couples get away as long as you don't expect super fancy, but clean, comfortable and friendly for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear family_2go702,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay! We are so glad to hear that you appreciated our relaxed atmosphere, clean rooms and friendly team :)
We hope to have the opportunity to host you and your husband again soon!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    77
    26
    23
    23
See reviews for
31
151
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wonderful place, magic, the view to the ocean makes you lose in time and space, highly recommend it to go to enjoy the company wirh friends or that special person.
The attention of the staff is friendly, although you have to book to get a place in the lounge otherwise expect is a long process.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff, the views, the food all good. Very crowded on Saturday and Sunday nights when the bar scene picks up until 10:00 pm and then a hush settles in. The rooms - some designed by local designers are fantastic but the hallway and lobby are really kind of shabby. Maybe that is the charm? I would not go here as a single person.

Do go up the beach 3 miles to 9th street and take the trip down the 1000 steps to the 1000 steps beach. Go early and watch the die hard fanatics who do it over and over. A great work out.

Room Tip: Go on line and take a look. You do not go to this location for the room. The beach and atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear pick11,
Thank you for your review! Your feedback is appreciated, and we're please to let you know we are always in the process of updating and restoring our historic hotel. Since our guest rooms have recently been renovated, our next focus is on our hallways and lobby :)
Thanks again for your candid comments,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed one night at La Casa and attended the 80th anniversary Pageant of the Masters. Charming hotel on the free shuttle line to the Pageant so very convenient. A 1920's hotel so do not expect expansive room, but beautifully appointed with updated bath and comfortable bed. Walk to the beach where you are provided with towels and Adirondack chair. Self-parking across the street - lot was a little tight for larger cars and SUVs and unfortunately it appeared that not everyone was displaying the hotel parking tag. Had lunch on the Rooftop Lounge with a great view and then the light dinner at Ky'a Bistro in the hotel which was perfect for a "before show" bite. Unfortunately the bar was closed when we returned at 11:00 but enjoyed our own cocktails on the couch in the lobby. Great full, hot breakfast in the lower level which was cozy and enabled us to share Pageant memories with other guests. Would return again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear sjpietch,
Your review is very much appreciated. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your cozy guest room, our restaurants, and the breakfast buffet :)
We'll definitely look forward to hosting you again, next time you return to Laguna Beach!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I also enjoy staying here. They remembered by anniversary which is nice. The remodel on the hotel looks great. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating. The room was great, the bed was very comfortable. The full breakfast is truly a breakfast that everyone will find something they want to eat, eggs, bacon, rolls, muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit. I am sure I missed something. The rooftop deck, great views and good food. Looking forward to heading back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Mary W,
We are thrilled to have you as a loyal guest! Thank you for choosing to stay with us each time you visit this beautiful beach town :)
Your kind words and recommendations are certainly appreciated. We hope you had a wonderful anniversary, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here in June and really enjoyed the location since it was a little further away from the congestion of the town. Unfortunately, the room we stayed in was located below another room that was VERY, VERY noisey. Apparently, a bride and groom were staying in the room above us and invited all of their guests back to their room for an after party. We complained twice to the front desk about the excessive noise. This was irritating, as we were trying to enjoy a peaceful evening, but the issue was resolved by management to our satisfaction. Everything else was great including the breakfast, the views from the rooftop deck, the cute restaurant, the beach - and the fact that they will bring chairs and umbrellas down to you! Will definintely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear V L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, despite the celebrating honeymooners above you, and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Feel free to contact me personally and I will be happy to ensure you have a more peaceful stay when you return.

Warm Regards,

Charlotte, Guest Services
guestservice@casaresortsinc.com
949-497-2446
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right a few steps from the beach, some rooms have ocean views. We left our room at 7:55 and saw the sunset on the beach at 7:56. The room we stayed in (queen) was extremely small and dimly lit. On the ground floor (rooms in the one hundreds) there were two doors to the outside street that seemed to remain open all night. Walls are thin, you can hear everything. Don't plan on sleeping in as there is some sort of garbage pickup in the morning. Breakfast was good, eggs, pancakes, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear NYGD,
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is appreciated, and I wanted to let you know that we have already been able to address the lighting situation in the smaller guest rooms. We now have multiple light sources in each room for our guest's comfort and convenience. The first floor entrances are typically closed at dusk, but sometimes the guests of the hotel prop them open for more convenient exit/entrance. We have discussed this internally, and are working more diligently to keep these doors closed and locked during the evening and night times.
Thanks again for your candid comments.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel La Casa del Camino quickly became the cat's meow for the former Hollywood elite when it opened in 1929, making it a perfect coastal destination. This historic, Mediterranean-style boutique hotel features the beach in its backyard and is located in the heart of the Laguna Beach Hip District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Camino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.