We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently Updated Boutique Hotel in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Camino

Save Saved
You added La Casa del Camino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Recently Updated Boutique Hotel in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

First of all, it would be difficult to beat the location of this hotel. It is on the ocean-side of Pacific Coast Highway and within walking distance of downtown Laguna. It also has a wonderful roof-top bar that is available for use by guests of the hotel at pretty much any hour. The rooms in the hotel have recently been updated, which is an added bonus. The rooms are small but nice. The restaurant located in the hotel has great food as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    76
    27
    23
    23
See reviews for
31
150
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Twice started to write a review, but got carried away. Short story is that we decided to go up to Laguna Beach for our 31st Anniversary ... only an hour North of our home in Olivenhain/San Diego. Hadn't been up here overnight for 15 years. Actually drove up one afternoon to see what was new, and picked this place out visually. Location great. Close to town. A total hotspot for the locals. Prices reasonable. Rooms are a bit eclectic, but comfortable and kind of retro-cool (Ie: window A/C when needed). Rooftop bar is fantastic. Downstairs restaurant is popular and there's another popular bar down in the lobby. Great place to go to the roof around 4, and only have to get back to your room 1 floor away!! Anyway, fun for us. From my view, unless you want to spend the money on stature, this is the best deal in Laguna Beach these days.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back side -#212 I think - view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are glad to hear you had a great time during your stay with us.. Your tips and comments are greatly appreciated, and we hope to host you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

First off the staff was great. A very attractive women took care of us(Charlotte) and was very helpful at the front desk. We got the King deluxe room I think it's called and it was very charming. The room is small compared to other hotel standards but very enjoyable and the bathroom had a nice updated modern design. The roof top lounge was awesome with a great view. They have a free breakfast buffet that you can take to the roof top patio and eat while enjoying the view. Due to it's location to the shops/stores/restaurants and literally steps from the ocean this a nice Laguna hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

La Casa is a gem in Southern Cal. Less than 40 rooms, everything is just a minute away from your room. The Rooftop Lounge is awesome and the food at K'ya is amazing. The Rooftop bartenders are a blast. The hotel staff always has my room ready. I always stay in a Surf Suite which is roomy and comfortable. Young, hip, and fun property.

Room Tip: Get one of the ten surf suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I looked at a three hotels while I was planning this trip. It was a surprise trip for my friend - I had some questions and clues for him, he had no idea, where or what I had planned. Historic or modern, inland or something near the beach, were just some clues for him to go with.

Did a little pre-weekend trip to Laguna to check them all out. La Casa won hands down because of many reasons, hotel reception, location and overall ambiance. They showed me my actual room, which was perfect cause we weren't planning on spending a bunch of time in it. Rooftop bar was great to spend early evenings before hitting the town for the evening. Breakfast was included in the great room price, hotel staff during the stay were very hospitable and so helpful. Veronica who worked in the breakfast area was as sweet as can be. The staff at the front desk were awesome as well (during my pre-visit with my 2 black labs and during our stay).

We will definitely stay here again. Kudos to La Casa and all hotel staff for making this a great weekend get-away.

Just an FYI for those thinking of booking - it is somewhat noisy during Happy Hour till about 9 pm, after that - pretty quiet except for the normal hotel noises (remember it's a historic hotel - so nothing is completely sound proof). It did not bother us at all.

Room Tip: We were downstairs - did not see a reason for a room with an ocean view since the ocean was steps aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to know that your weekend get away went off without a hitch :) It was our pleasure to show you around our hotel and guest rooms, and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Thanks again for your recommendation!
Charlotte
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked this spot last minute for a trip we had to Laguna area. Based on the reviews of the hotel and restaurant we decided to stay here. The rooms have been upgraded and although not huge they were big enough for what we needed. Bathroom was also very nicely upgraded. Rooftop bar / restaurant has incredible panoramic views with very tasty foods.

Parking was included as well as access to a gym right around the corner from the hotel. In the morning we were able to go for a nice walk down the beach only a few steps away from the hotel. There are plenty of great restaurants and shopping all within walking distance from the hotel. The staff was very nice and friendly. This is not the Ritz Carlton but we would def return to the La Casa del Camino

Room Tip: 3rd floor gives you the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel has terrible customer service. The receptionist seemed bored out of her mind and was very unpleasant. The accommodations do not match the images on the website. Asked for early check in and despite being assured I would be contacted regardless the outcome I was not. The room was not ready when I was finally given the key. The bed was VERY uncomfortable. The walls are very thin. Worst hotel stay I have ever had. Hotel looks very lovely on the outside and has a great location. There was potential for this to be an awesome experience. Spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Spend money elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Pelon19,
I am so sorry to read this review of your recent stay. I am the person who checked you in, and I apologize if it may have seemed as if I were bored... I was in fact very busy on the afternoon of your check-in. Still, no excuse for not being more enthusiastic, and you have my sincere apology.
I recognize you had requested an early check-in of 10am, which was not guaranteed. Check-out time for the guests staying the previous night is 11:30am, and we had a full house the night before your arrival. After check-out time, the room must be cleaned and prepared for the next guest's arrival, which can sometimes take a few hours for the housekeepers to get around to all the rooms. Our guaranteed check-in time is 3:00pm, and a request for earlier check-in is based on the availability of a clean room. Looking back on your reservation, you were granted an early check-in at 1:53pm, after I had verified that the room was clean and ready.
It is unfortunate that an earlier check-in was not available, and I am very sorry that this has caused so much dissatisfaction for you. Thank you for your feedback, and I sincerely wish you happy future travels.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte Gulley
Guest Service Manager
La Casa del Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel La Casa del Camino quickly became the cat's meow for the former Hollywood elite when it opened in 1929, making it a perfect coastal destination. This historic, Mediterranean-style boutique hotel features the beach in its backyard and is located in the heart of the Laguna Beach Hip District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Camino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.