We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here for the room experience...it's about the bars/restaurant..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa del Camino to your Saves list
La Casa del Camino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Camas WA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Don't stay here for the room experience...it's about the bars/restaurant..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

......unless you upgrade to one of their beach themed rooms. Also overall the room features were nice, the small size doesn't bode well to spending much day time in your room. Also - stay far away from the stairs, as the lobby bar noise can be loud.

A great locale for a old-time California hotel experiencs.......3/4 mile walk to downtown past some nice shops......outstanding roof bar......lobby bar can get exciting.

Great staff........provided towels/chairs/umbrella for the beach - a short 50yd walk - felt very private.

Not the best place for the kids - smaller rooms and no pool.

Room Tip: avoid the stair area - too much lobby noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is true, our Deluxe Queen rooms can be quite cozy, however they do have some very nice features and have recently been fully renovated - new bathrooms, furniture, carpet, drapes - the works!
For future reference, I would suggest a Deluxe King room, if you're looking for something a little larger, in the same Spanish decor.. you must contact us directly for a Deluxe King, as we only have 4 on our property! Thank you for recommending our Casa Surf Suites as well - they tend to be quite popular for their more generous size, and unique surf inspired decor.
Thanks again for your compliments and candid comments. We hope to host you again, should you return to Laguna Beach!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    88
    31
    24
    23
See reviews for
34
166
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were in Laguna beach for a four-day weekend getaway to see our daughter & son-in-law, and this Spanish-villa themed boutique hotel was, for the most part, a great find and a very nice part of our getaway. First of all, I can't say enough good things about the service here. Everyone we met and dealt with from the people at the front desk, to the maids in the hallway, to the wonderful young woman at the breakfast nook was as pleasant and accommodating as we had ever found, anywhere. Honestly.
The relatively small size of our tiny little room (308) made us and our two suitcases along with the rooms portable air conditioner on the floor a little too cramped for our liking, and didn't leave us any room to do something as simple as just sit and read for awhile (we resorted to lying on the bed to do our reading.) Since we didn't spend a lot of times in our room, it wasn't a serious drawback for us, only a minor inconvenience. That being said, the Queen-size bed was very, very comfortable, and made for a great nights sleep. Pillows...a little too firm for both of our tastes, but we adapted quickly. The shower/bathroom was very nice and comfortable too. When we arrived, we were asked to pay an additional $12/day fee that included breakfast for 2 each day, free WiFi & parking in the private lot, that was a bit of a surprise (I thought it was all included), but we figured was a good value for those services.
Breakfast was a delight with fresh fruit each day, eggs, bacon, french toast, bagels, great coffee and even an outdoor cafe with a very european feel to it. The young woman working the self-serve breakfast buffet was such a pleasure to talk with, and very accommodating too.
Conversation and the live music from the small bar/lounge are drifted up the open stairs to our third floor room each night, but gratefully seemed to fade away by 10:00 or so.
We had a wonderful dinner one evening in the street-level restaurant (K'Ya?), and would definitely recommend you try it. With a reasonably priced a-la carte menu, my wife and I LOVED the delicious salads as wall as the braised short rib, and the Chicken Marsala entrees. Perfectly prepared. Veggies cost extra. All desserts are just $4, & we shared a creme brulee sprinkled with fresh berries that was just perfect! (Just be careful of the rather pricey mixed drinks, as the bar bill adds up very quickly.).
Parking is rather tight in the small lot across the main street, but certainly do-able (If we rented anything larger than our 'standard' Dodge 200, I'm afraid we might have needed a can opener and some vaseline just to get in and out of our car each day.) Fortunately, there was always a space in the lot, and no dings on our car doors when we left. We were all in the same boat, & everyone seemed to be respectful & careful parkers.
Next time we'd ask for a room larger than room 308, more like our daughter and son-in-laws room on the first floor, which we all agreed was a little more spacious and comfortable, but we'd definitely stay here again because of the friendly and accommodating staff, great food, & nice location. Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the bar/lounge on the second floor, & top of the stairs on the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your descriptive and candid review! Your comments and compliments have been passed on to the appropriate departments, and we are all thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay :)
We look forward to hosting you all again!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect. The view from our room was great. The rooftop lounge was really cool and the food was delicious. The staff was very friendly. They took awhile to respond to a request but they were still friendly. The rooms are very small but we didn't mind. They were the perfect size for us. And what you would expect for a small hotel in Laguna. The room was very cozy and we loved the decor. Overall, we were very happy with or stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a great location but our partial view room overlooked the dumpsters and the lounge singer sounded like he was in our room.
Breakfast buffet was great. Rooftop nice but took forever to have someone wait on us.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear your compliments regarding our beautiful hotel and breakfast buffet :)
Our hotel is quite small, with only 36 total guest rooms, and I apologize that you may not have had the best of the partial ocean view rooms. I would recommend the Casa Surf Suite's with a full ocean view, or a Deluxe room with a courtyard view, should you return in the future. Please book with us directly for the best room choice.
For future note, the live music played in the lobby on weekends is typically over by 10pm. I apologize if it seemed too loud during your stay.
We appreciate your feedback and wish you happy travels!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
La Casa del Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It's a little bit pricier but still reasonable. Consider the location, literally steps away from a flight of stairs down to the sand of the beach.

The parking situation isn't too bad. Pull up to the "unloading parking" on the side of the hotel and call the front desk to send out an attendant to take the luggage. They give you a parking pass to hang on your rear view mirror and you park in their designated parking lot across the street.

We checked in Friday night at around 10pm, The lobby was pretty live, Middle-aged crowd (beach locals) was flowing out of the Bistro off to the right, bar off to the left was pretty calm but group of guys were watching the game on the flat screen and some random guy was playing the piano to a pair of ladies.

We checked in and walked up to one of the regular rooms. The room was pretty snug but the decor was really night. Very Spanish Villa-like, hence the name of the room on their website. The bathrooms were small, you can fit two people in the bathroom but you are packed in like a sardine.

My girlfriend and I freshened up and had the front desk call us a cab. We headed up to Javier's Mexican Restaurant and Bar, which was a $20 including tip cab ride up PCH to Newport. One of the top restaurants in the Newport/Crystal Cove area.

The following morning we woke up for the free hotel breakfast buffet downstairs in the wine cellar type dining area. They had a full coffee/juice bar with an attendant to keep the food and beverages flowing. After breakfast, the buffet attendant offered us some medium size fleece blankets to take down the steps to the beach. We walked out the side door of the buffet dining area and walked down the stairs to the beach. Laid some blankets out on the sand and laid down to relax and take in the moment.

This place has great service along with the amazing location. Unfortunately we did not get to go upstairs to the rooftop restaurant but next time I come down I'll be making it up there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to hosting you again, and hopefully you will make it up to our ever-popular Rooftop Lounge. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
La Casa del Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was very impressed with the location walking distance from the beach as you exit the hotel. The staff takes chairs and a umbrella for you down the steps to the beautiful beach down below. You get the beach towel from the front desk. So convenient. We as a family of four ( kids 6 and 9 yrs.) booked a King size non view special discount hotel website. My lucky day. All the surf suites were taken that were King size bed with sofa bed. The staff was so accommodating to want to get us a roll a way bed if needed and gave us a room that fit our needs that was roomy. I was concern past reviews that the rooms would be small. The room was fine fit our needs was roomy with a closet and a armoire to hang clothes. The breakfast was great! Oatmel, Hot cakes, french toast,Fruit, scrambled eggs, kids loved the bacon! We love the K'ya Bistro ate there two nights in a row. We could not imagine going anywhere else with nice happy hours prices small plates. We were trying to check of the list of small plates try every dish recommended. Sumac Salmon, Poke Tuna, Short ribs..and the Banana bread pudding ..yum! Mojitos were awesome! Nice Kids menu. Next time we will be back and try one of the Surf Suites. There is no pool but you have the beach and Rooftop Lounge view to dine at also! Loved it!

Room Tip: Look at the hotel website to choose surf suite. Non View King rooms good too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend to attend my buddy's wedding. It was one of the hotels listed as "nice places to stay" courtesy of the bride and groom. And it was. It wasn't the most money and it wasn't the cheapest so I didn't really have a problem with the price. The rooms were quaint (small) but we were hardly in the room. The attraction of this hotel is the rooftop bar and the wonderfully enthusiastically attractive clientele. We had fun haning out up there both before and after the wedding (Our server Noelle was great). If you're looking for a good hangover cure, order the breakfast burrito. It's great! There's also a Jack in the Box 2 minutes from the hotel and I found myself there late Friday and Saturday night.

The one caveat I have is that there's NO parking around the hotel. You have to go inside and get a parking permit to part across the street. They have a white "3 minute unloading" curb where I parked and I don't know about you but I don't know anyone who can check in and unload in under 3 minutes and therefore when went back out to my car I was greeted with a parking ticket. I was so upset but I got the sense that this little town of "Laguna Beach" has to keep up with its pricey reputation somehow and that the meter maid probably just sits there and waits.

Other than that, the hotel was pretty good and the rooftop bar was great. Would I go back? I guess if I had a reason to go back to Laguna Beach I would definitely check this place out first but I'm also the type of person who will shop pricing until I'm blue in the face.

I can't say enough about the rooftop bar. Good food, good service, great view. Check it out!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our little hotel. So sorry to hear about the parking ticket :( We've tried to get the time limit in the loading zone increased to even 10 minutes, but unfortunately, the city won't agree with us.
We hope you can find another reason to visit Laguna Beach, and that we may have the opportunity to host you again!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
La Casa del Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel La Casa del Camino quickly became the cat's meow for the former Hollywood elite when it opened in 1929, making it a perfect coastal destination. This historic, Mediterranean-style boutique hotel features the beach in its backyard and is located in the heart of the Laguna Beach Hip District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Camino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.