We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“???????????” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa del Camino to your Saves list
La Casa del Camino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Year's Eve @ our Casa
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
“???????????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We was traveling to CA on our happy Christmas hollidays as a familly with 2 kids and from Jan. 1 we decided to stay at La Casa del Camino's La Casita... . turned up like a ... difficult to even describe! You can judge yourself...
the appartament was cold, old very well used soffas( even dirty) TV on the dining room's wal was kind of first flat screans TV ever produced and works only for 20 min then you have to svich off for 10 min to cool down and then you can use onother 20 min. the shower on the bathroom out of order, dirty corners and paper thin walls ... we was not able to put our kids to sleap because they was just sceard from the multiply noises outside... so the breaking point of all this was after i ask at front desk if they have a swiming pool? The lady was kind and nice and told me sorry, but behind her there was a guy from the staff who quickly offer me ,, the bigest swiming pool in the world just down to the ocean..." Jan. 1 after 5.pm when outside is around 45F? thank you for hospitallity!
But there was a good thing too - they let as cansell our stay for rest of the time and made me to loose only 299 per night what we even not spend there.
i jumped in my car and in 30 min i picked up my family for onother hottel the very same evening and payed extra 119 !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Norway_13,
I am so sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your stay in La Casita. In researching your stay, our records show we only charged you for the one night that you stayed. The only reason we were given for your early check-out was that your children wanted a swimming pool, and we unfortunately do not have a pool on our property. We sincerely apologize for the negative impression you were left with as you checked out after your first night.

We are reviewing your list of feedback with our housekeeping manager and maintenance engineer, and will have a resolution for these items within the week.

Thanks again for your feedback. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Laguna Beach.
Sincerely,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    88
    31
    24
    23
See reviews for
34
166
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from a 1 night stay at La Casa del Camino for my birthday getaway. This hotel has character which was very much appreciated. The location is fabulous, right in the middle of town and next to the water. Parking is easy in a lot across the street. We had a non view room and although it was small, it was very comfortable. The decor was beautiful with carved wood furniture and romantic touches. We dined at the K'ya Bistro in the hotel which as usual was a great experience. The rooftop is an amazing bonus and in the morning we took our yummy complimentary hot breakfast there to enjoy the sweeping ocean views. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating; We enjoyed our interactions with the front desk and Veronica, who was working in the breakfast room, went out of her way to bring us a plate of fruit we had been waiting for- all the way up to the rooftop! We really liked the historic feeling of the hotel and how easy it was to walk outside and be next to the ocean. We definitely will stay there again when we come back to Laguna!

Room Tip: The front desk informed us King sized rooms on the 1st floor are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've been traveling to CA on business once a month for the last year. About six months ago, I found La Casa del Camino on Priceline and read the reviews. What surprised me was the number of review that focused on the Staff. To my fortune, the reviews were spot-on. I've had the honor and privilege to get to know the staff. They make me feel like family and consistently go out of there way to make me feel at home. Top shelf.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and loyalty to La Casa del Camino! We look forward to your next visit, and hope you have a very happy holiday season :)
Warm Regards,
The management and staff at La Casa del Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I had a series of travel mishaps. The entire staff helped us out at one point during our stay. Thank you Norma at the Front Desk  your help was much appreciated. Also thank you to the house man and housekeeping. The rooms were clean and pleasant. The restaurant is my favorite… Authentic Spanish food with a great wine selection. Five Stars *****

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

what a delightful find. The rooftop bar is a great place to watch the sunset and the happy hour prices are great.
The breakfasts enjoyed the patio garden were delicious. We were there for four nights and there was a variation in the selections.
We were concerned about the room size from the reviews,but our suite was large with a jacuzzi bath which unfortunately didn't work. Our only complaint was the decor. We had expected a tastefully med design. Instead thought we were back in the sixties with surfer decor that we would have enjoyed as teenagers 40 years ago.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our charming little hotel! It sounds like you stayed in one our our 10 unique Surf Suites. I'd like to let you know that we have recently remodeled all 26 of our Deluxe guest rooms in a rich Spanish theme to coincide with the hotel's original architecture. I recommend you try out one of our Deluxe King or Deluxe Partial View Queen rooms during your next visit... you won't be disappointed!
Looking to seeing you again!
Charlotte Gulley
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Spent a few nights in the Cottage. Great for a family (fully-fitted kitchen, washing machine, dishwasher). Superb location; excellent staff. A real treat. Would definitely choose this hotel on a future visit to Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good: yes, it has character-it's not just another motel. About 50 yards from great beach access.
Comfortable beds and proper tub ( except in the suites, which strangely only have showers).Majority of staff friendly and keen to help.
Bad: Mexican theme means rooms are decorated in a sepia-type finish, and with dim lights, are dark, especially smaller rooms ( most of the rooms are small)..can be very noisy..recommend do not have rooms 105,106,107 at weekend because staff have to go past constantly to serve food in the courtyard...and would expect rooms on PCH side to be noisy.
Restaurant- tried once, has complicated half-price offer on Tuesdays, food was OK but you can do better in LB. No pool, spa, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the unique character of La Casa del Camino, and that you slept comfortably.

It's regrettable that our newly renovated Deluxe rooms were not pleasing to you. Our vision for the renovation of our Deluxe guest rooms was to maintain the Spanish style in which our hotel was originally built, in 1927, while updating the rooms with the modern amenities of a boutique hotel.
I'd like to let you know that we have 10 additional guest rooms which were each uniquely designed by 10 different surf companies. These are our Casa Surf Suites, and based on your feedback, I think you would enjoy one of these rooms more than our Deluxe rooms. You can see pictures of our various guest rooms on our website.

To clarify our Tuesday Bonus Happy Hour - When you buy any cocktail, beer or wine, you receive half off any food item on the dinner menu. Tuesday Happy Hour is offered 5:30-close in K'ya Bistro.

Your candid comments are appreciated, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again, perhaps in one of our Surf Suites :)

Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
La Casa del Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel La Casa del Camino quickly became the cat's meow for the former Hollywood elite when it opened in 1929, making it a perfect coastal destination. This historic, Mediterranean-style boutique hotel features the beach in its backyard and is located in the heart of the Laguna Beach Hip District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Camino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.