We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but a bit dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa del Camino to your Saves list
La Casa del Camino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but a bit dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here one night when traveling between LA and San Diego. The hotel is in a great spot and has great access to downtown Laguna and the beaches.

The interior of the hotel itself is very dated. The lobby and bar area seem updated, but the corridor to the rooms and the rooms themselves have what appear to be old carpeting and very dated and worn fixtures. The hotel could feel better about charging the prices they do, or more if they gave the rooms and corridor a little face lift.

Another thing that was not so great about the hotel was the roof deck bar. There was a private party there when we arrived. We went out for some dinner and drinks and arrived back at the hotel around 9:30, we figured we would grab drinks at the roof deck then. The bartenders up there was incredible rude and when I ordered a drink the woman said, "Fine, but drink fast because this is last call." At 9:30pm?

Overall I am giving the hotel 4 stars, mainly for the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    95
    34
    25
    23
See reviews for
35
177
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were taken in by the heavily discounted price of this property, and again learned the hard way that "you get what you pay for." Our room was terrible - small, noisy, poorly lit, and the bathroom was a joke - so small it was claustrophobic. Although billed as "a smoke-free property", the smell of someone smoking marijuana wafted through the air ducts to our room 2-3 times over the course of our one-night stay. We had originally booked for two nights, but had had enough after night #1, and asked for a refund for night #2, to which they quickly agreed. I dinstinctly got the impression that the complaints I aired to the hotel staff had been heard many times before, which is quite telling. Lastly, the decor in the rooms, which they proudly told us had been renovated over the past six months, consisted of big, clumsy furniture with a lot of boxy, sharp protruding edges - it made it really difficult to get around the room, and I can't imagine how families with kids would ever fare in this establishment. Avoid this property!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of La Casa del Camino. We are very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction, and would like to let you know that we have a very wide variety of room sizes and styles to suit the various tastes of most guests and travelers. It sounds like you may have received a deeply discounted room rate on one of our smaller (more original) room sizes in our historic building. Please know we also offer much larger rooms, more contemporary in design, but as with most hotels, the more premium rooms are priced accordingly.

We are most definitely a non-smoking property, and apologize profusely for the possibility of another guest disrespecting our policy. We are glad you brought your comments and concerns to us after staying one night. Our number one priority is the comfort and satisfaction of every guest; A refund for your second night was given so freely because we truly just want you to be happy with your visit to Laguna Beach. We realize that our historic and energetic boutique hotel may not be for everyone, and we thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Charlotte
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were redoing our house in Hermosa Beach, so we decided to have a "staycation" in Laguna, which is about an hour south. I searched online to find a place, and many of them looked the same... so price was the deciding factor. This hotel does not charge a resort fee, and it doesn't charge for parking... so it was the winner. We arrived and noticed that the location was great. It is on the west side of PCH, which means that it is right by the beach. All you have to do is take the steps down to the beach. We were greeted by Holli (I may be misspelling her name, but I don't think it had the "e.") She was terrific and really made our stay. She got us wine glasses and a wine opener when she noticed our bottle of wine. She did the same with glasses when she saw us enter with a bottle of beer. She also made several fun recommendations for us for our stay.

The rest of the staff in the downstairs bar was also very fun and friendly. It turns out that the bar is a very popular "scene" that was fun, energetic, and friendly. We met quite a few locals at the bar. They also had live music. The rooftop bar was also the place to be, and it was great watching the parade of people going through the lobby and up to the roof. The downstairs restaurant (Kya) was very good, and you can order food from there and have it at the bar. Both upstairs and downstairs had great happy hours. Upstairs happy hour ended at 5 and downstairs ended at 5:30.

We brought our dog, and he was welcome everywhere. He hung out in the lobby, and he clearly had a good time.

We were near the lobby, but the noise wasn't bad considering the "buzz" around the hotel. We did not have any trouble sleeping. We had the window open, and there was actually more noise outside. Again, though, it wasn't an issue.

The Good:
Great service
Fun environment
Great bar upstairs and downstairs
Lively
Free parking
Free breakfast
You may sign out free beach towels.
Great location
The only extra fee was to bring the dog, and it was reasonable

The Bad
Parking looked limited, but we got a space. It looked like it could fill up. (Parking is across PCH but not far.)
The hotel has remodeled rooms, but they are small. A friend who visited did not like them because he thought they were too "gold" and dated. Hotels like this often have rooms that are smaller. I thought the room was designed to look more Spanish colonial, so I don't think it was dated - just small. I don't spend much time in the room, though.
The breakfast isn't good, so skip it and go nearby. There are many reasonable places for breakfast, so go out and have fun.
No pool
Portable airconditioner that had to be unplugged and plugged back in when it would stop working

All in all, I would recommend this hotel strongly if you like an energetic and social buzz around a hotel. I will stay again if I overnight in Laguna again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights! We booked through hotels.com and got placed in ther handicap room. Which was fine. The bed was amazing. But... They have other rooms that were a lot nicer. You can't beat the location and the restaurant downstairs! Also... Their breakfast ~ Amazing!!!! Best part is its FREE. Also they don't charge for parking which is another plus! Overall we loved the hotel just wish we would of had a different room!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed in a few years back for about a month whilst working in the area. Service was fantastic, clean rooms, great food and great ambiance on the rooftop.
Always a place I would go back and see when I'm back in Laguna.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband & I dropped off our 3rd (& last) daughter at OSU and headed to the airport for a much needed "empty nest" celebration! The atmosphere is amazing! The breakfast was always enjoyable and the roof top lounge is awesome!! Only downside...we got a parking ticket upon arrival, do not leave your car in the 3 min loading zone, you will get a $95 ticket! (the desk should alert its patrons to that fact).

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor, very cozy. I loved that you could open the windows, beautiful flowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We just got back from a week of busy family functions in Orange County and coming back to relax in Laguna Beach was ideal. The location was absolutely perfect for us. The beach was just down the street. While the room we had was rather on the small side it did have a bed and a bath and, really, that's all we actually needed. I was surprized by the fact that there was a crowded bar with music directly below us and the room was still quiet! (I had lived in a 100 year old building above a bar for 7 years and the noise was always deafening.) The roof top restaurant was wonderful and the prices were very fair (can't even begin to describe the incredible view). The staff were friendly and helpful. I have been telling everyone I know to check it out. I'd even send my mother there! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel La Casa del Camino quickly became the cat's meow for the former Hollywood elite when it opened in 1929, making it a perfect coastal destination. This historic, Mediterranean-style boutique hotel features the beach in its backyard and is located in the heart of the Laguna Beach Hip District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Camino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.