We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go there and surf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Beach

Main Beach
Laguna Beach, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 25 Attractions in Laguna Beach
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“go there and surf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

getting in and getting out could take a while but water is great and lots of activities even play area for kids

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    53
    16
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island, ny
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love Laguna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I could keep coming back here forever and be content. So pretty and right in town. Such a nice town, full of restaurants, galleries, shops. I truly enjoyed my day at Laguna and if I am ever back in Orange County this is where I would stay.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice tourist spot, but not the best beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Main beach is nice in that is convenient to shops and restaurants and its a really cool Laguna vibe, but if you are looking for a beautiful beach in Laguna you can find much better. There are 31 coves along the 7 mile stretch along PCH in Laguna. If you drive along PCH you will see signs showing coastal access and most of these spots are worth the effort. You may have to search for parking, but can often find free parking in the surrounding neighborhoods. You also will usually have to walk down many steps to get to these coves, but when you get there you will find some of the most beautiful beaches, views and tide pools imaginable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid until construction is finished in 2014”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful and interesting beaches in the world. Why they need to build a lifeguard headquarters right on the beach - and have a hideous temporary structure in the meantime - is puzzling. The temporary bathrooms are stinking up the beach air in the meantime. When it's done it will be great again but for now I suspect a lot of visitors are disappointed with the construction zone ambience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“PERFECT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

LOVE this beach!
Clean sand. Good crowd of people, families and friends. With a park, bathroom, and volleyball. A huge plus that all the streets surrounding it are super cute filled with tons of cute shops, restaurants and cafe's. All reasonably priced and fun. After we boutique shopped for 2 hours of great finds we picked up sandwiches, snacks and drinks from Whole Foods a block away.
Great day spent!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.