We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RV and tent camping in Moro Campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove State Park

Crystal Cove State Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Cove State Park
Save
You added Crystal Cove State Park to your Saves list
Pacific Coast Highway between Corona del Mar and Laguna Beach, Laguna Beach, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“RV and tent camping in Moro Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We just returned from our first visit to the Moro Campground in Crystal Cove State Park. If you book online at reserveamerica.com be sure you reserve at the correct campground! We heard about families who showed up at this location on the coast but had reservations for the remote inland tent sites that are only reached by a 3 1/2 mile hike.

Also note that this campground is a couple of miles away from the Historic District with the cottages and the Beachcomber Restaurant. Not the same place, I have a feeling people who aren't familiar with the area occasionally get confused.

This campground really suited us! Nice views from every site, water and electric hookups on the upper rows. It's a good 1/4 mile down to the day use parking where you'll find a tunnel under PCH that leads to the beach, and.... it's a good 1/4 mile back up that steep hill. But we didn't mind at all. Hiking and biking trails in the hills on the inland side of Pacific Coast Highway, and miles of beautiful beaches to explore. The camp hosts during our stay were friendly and helpful.

We plan to stay here again in our motorhome, it's an hour from home so a very easy place to take a break for a few days.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Friends of ours are camp hosts here during the winter and we were so happy we made the drive all the way from Bellingham to this campsite for a few days of quiet in the desert. The ocean view is truly awe inspiring. The RV parking offers this view from every site. Good clean restroom and shower facilities. We visited the beach, the historic cabins and the little cafe on the beach. Wow, what a great place! Don't tell anyone. I want to save it for myself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We used the RV Park here and it made for a very tranquil and enjoyable start to a vacation after leaving the bustle of LA. There are no sewage hook-ups but all other facilities are in good order and the service and welcome were exemplary. It is a huge bonus to have an easy walk down to a beautiful beach and we also took the opportunity to do the very easy walk into Moro Canyon - cactus heaven

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Crystal cove state park is worth the walk. Parking is plentiful and if you are unable to walk down to the shore a shuttle is available for a fee. The path is paved but a little steep. There are a number of clean modern rest rooms and lots of helpful staff to steer you in the right direction The cove is maintained by the Crystal Cove Alliance and is the process of renovation. Small beach cottages have been restored and can be rented nightly. The cottages are clean but very rustic. The beach is wide and good for walking. Tide pools and rock features make for an interesting trek. There's a great restaurant on site, serving breakfast and lunch. The menu is adequate and the prices are fair considering the view! Since we ate at the restaurant our parking/entrance fee was free. There are a number of cottages that are under restoration and gives you a glimpse of what the colony must have looked in the past. Plan on a few hours to see it all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

One of my favorite CA beaches. Weird to hear people gripe about $15 parking fee. I guess they don't know that you get most of that $$ back as a credit if you have lunch at the restaurant. It's a bit pricey, but excellent food, and it's right on the sand, with beautiful views.
Problem is, on a busy weekend, the restaurant is crazy busy -- so you have to plan ahead. There can be long waits, so it's best to reserve ahead (days ahead) or combine it with a beach day where you put your name in and hang out on the sand for hours.
You can take shuttle down to the beach or walk. If you just want to walk down for a few minutes, park for free at the Date Shack up above on PCH (also - good sandwiches, ice cream, date shakes, etc). But be warned: you'll get your car towed if you try to park there for a long stretch on a busy day.
The other way to experience this beach is to stay at the cottages - but again: you have to plan WAY ahead. There are sometimes last-minute cancellations, but generally, all the cottages are booked six months ahead promptly at 8 am on the first day of each month. Check the website for instructions. Cottages are funky and not for everyone -- but plenty of repeat visitors love them. Prices range from less than $50/night up to about $200/night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

If you are willing to pay $15 to avoid the crowds of Laguna, this is the place. It is a beautiful sandy beach with neat rock formations and tide pools where the little ones can search for sea critters. We had a great day and there was hardly anyone there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I can totally see where what the state has done to the cottages area (fix up some of the buildings, do a god-awful "private-public partnership" up the prices, etc. Just go down south two more stoplights to the street called "Reef Point" and go down to either of two beaches, Scotchman's Cove or Muddy Creek. Both of these have their different positives and negatives, but honestly this stretch of coastline is about as nice as it gets in Southern California in the present day. Across the street is now a fancy shopping area, so if you want to go to Trader Joe's and get some picnic supplies before, that's an option for you. My favorite beach by far in SoCal.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Cove State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove State Park

Address: Pacific Coast Highway between Corona del Mar and Laguna Beach, Laguna Beach, CA
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove State Park Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Cove State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.