We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe inspiring view, quiet RV parking, lots of trails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Cove State Park

Crystal Cove State Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Cove State Park
Save
You added Crystal Cove State Park to your Saves list
Pacific Coast Highway between Corona del Mar and Laguna Beach, Laguna Beach, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring view, quiet RV parking, lots of trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Friends of ours are camp hosts here during the winter and we were so happy we made the drive all the way from Bellingham to this campsite for a few days of quiet in the desert. The ocean view is truly awe inspiring. The RV parking offers this view from every site. Good clean restroom and shower facilities. We visited the beach, the historic cabins and the little cafe on the beach. Wow, what a great place! Don't tell anyone. I want to save it for myself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We used the RV Park here and it made for a very tranquil and enjoyable start to a vacation after leaving the bustle of LA. There are no sewage hook-ups but all other facilities are in good order and the service and welcome were exemplary. It is a huge bonus to have an easy walk down to a beautiful beach and we also took the opportunity to do the very easy walk into Moro Canyon - cactus heaven

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Crystal cove state park is worth the walk. Parking is plentiful and if you are unable to walk down to the shore a shuttle is available for a fee. The path is paved but a little steep. There are a number of clean modern rest rooms and lots of helpful staff to steer you in the right direction The cove is maintained by the Crystal Cove Alliance and is the process of renovation. Small beach cottages have been restored and can be rented nightly. The cottages are clean but very rustic. The beach is wide and good for walking. Tide pools and rock features make for an interesting trek. There's a great restaurant on site, serving breakfast and lunch. The menu is adequate and the prices are fair considering the view! Since we ate at the restaurant our parking/entrance fee was free. There are a number of cottages that are under restoration and gives you a glimpse of what the colony must have looked in the past. Plan on a few hours to see it all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

One of my favorite CA beaches. Weird to hear people gripe about $15 parking fee. I guess they don't know that you get most of that $$ back as a credit if you have lunch at the restaurant. It's a bit pricey, but excellent food, and it's right on the sand, with beautiful views.
Problem is, on a busy weekend, the restaurant is crazy busy -- so you have to plan ahead. There can be long waits, so it's best to reserve ahead (days ahead) or combine it with a beach day where you put your name in and hang out on the sand for hours.
You can take shuttle down to the beach or walk. If you just want to walk down for a few minutes, park for free at the Date Shack up above on PCH (also - good sandwiches, ice cream, date shakes, etc). But be warned: you'll get your car towed if you try to park there for a long stretch on a busy day.
The other way to experience this beach is to stay at the cottages - but again: you have to plan WAY ahead. There are sometimes last-minute cancellations, but generally, all the cottages are booked six months ahead promptly at 8 am on the first day of each month. Check the website for instructions. Cottages are funky and not for everyone -- but plenty of repeat visitors love them. Prices range from less than $50/night up to about $200/night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
249 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

If you are willing to pay $15 to avoid the crowds of Laguna, this is the place. It is a beautiful sandy beach with neat rock formations and tide pools where the little ones can search for sea critters. We had a great day and there was hardly anyone there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I can totally see where what the state has done to the cottages area (fix up some of the buildings, do a god-awful "private-public partnership" up the prices, etc. Just go down south two more stoplights to the street called "Reef Point" and go down to either of two beaches, Scotchman's Cove or Muddy Creek. Both of these have their different positives and negatives, but honestly this stretch of coastline is about as nice as it gets in Southern California in the present day. Across the street is now a fancy shopping area, so if you want to go to Trader Joe's and get some picnic supplies before, that's an option for you. My favorite beach by far in SoCal.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Crystal Cove has some very unique lodging right on the beach. This is a colony of old fashioned beach cottages that are being restored for public use. All the charm is preserved!

We were luck enough to stay in the cottages and had an amazing time. The staff was friendly, the cottages comfortable. Best of all was to wake up and have an entire beach and ocean right outside our window.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguna Beach
2.8 mi away
Inn At Laguna Beach
Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 21 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#3 of 21 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
#2 of 21 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
2.5 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 21 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Cove State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Cove State Park

Address: Pacific Coast Highway between Corona del Mar and Laguna Beach, Laguna Beach, CA
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Crystal Cove State Park Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Cove State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.