We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Rates Close to the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Beach Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laguna Beach Motor Inn
Save Saved
You added Laguna Beach Motor Inn to your Saves list
985 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Woodland Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable Rates Close to the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This little place reminded me of staying at Grandma's house. We rented a little room with a nice private balcony overlooking the ocean. It also had a separate little seating area inside with a table and two chairs. The bathroom was clean. It is an older motel built in the 50s, but seems to be well kept. There is a lovely little courtyard with a beautiful garden, a bbq grill that guests can use and an outdoor pool (although it isn't heated). It is also about 1 block from the beach. The bed wasn't great, but good enough for the price. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view - I think it's an extra $10 a night, but oh so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was a busy weekend in Laguna Beach and we had no bookings - hence we stayed here. Yuk what a mistake. Honestly people, just keep looking for somewhere else. We had 2 rooms one for myself and my husband and 1 room for our 3 kids. The smell of mould and (maybe cats pee), was just awful - if we hadn't all been so tired and it was so late there was NO WAY we would have put up with this. Please, listen to my review, and just go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else - this place is awful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived in Laguna not knowing where to stay or where the motels were located. Came across this motel very close to the centre of Laguna and so we gave it a go. It was a Friday night and the offer price was very reasonable however the owner just failed to sell the positive aspects of the motel. The motel had lovely gardens and a beautiful pool, the sea is visible from the gardens and both the town and the beaches are very close by. Our room was big and airy with a separate kitchen and the room was equipped with a microwave and fridge freezer. There was coffee freely available all day and there is free wifi, all for the reasonable price on a Friday evening. So why didn't the owner tell us all this ?????? If there was an event at the olymcs of 'one word answers' the owner would win gold! Maybe the motel is a training groud for telepathy ! But now you know what it has to offer ! As stated it is ideally located the rooms were good and well equipped and there is a large supermarket across the road ideally placed. It was good value and we would definatly stay there again when in Laguna now my telepathy skills have been honed !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I took a recent vacation to Cali that was unexpectedly extended due to car problems. We stumbled upon this hotel by chance. It was the first hotel we came across when we entered into Lugana Beach and we saw that it was only a block from the beach. The rate for a Monday was only $99 so we decided to stay there. The hotel was very old so we didn't expect much.

When we entered our room Ie saw that it was somewhat smaller than average. The bathroom and shower were very small. The room had a queen bed, small refrigerator, table, and two chairs. The walls had been freshly painted (possibly from a remodel) and everything seemed cleaned. It wasn't until later in the night when I went to turn the heater on that I noticed that there was no ac/heater system installed in the room. There was only a small portable plug-in heater/fan in the room (it actually worked quite well). I then went to call the front desk and saw that the room had no phone, or even phone lines installed. At this point, I was not surprised to see that their was no clock in the room either.

Our room was towards the front of the hotel which borders PCH. The walls looked thick but I woke up in the middle of the night from road noise (didn't bother my girlfriend's sleep). Just outside of the room's entry door was a hallway balcony with two sitting chairs where you could sit and watch traffic. We saw that positioned throughout the hotels courtyard were potted plants. The grounds grass and schrubbery were immaculately maintained. There was a soda machine, ice maker, and coffe maker near the office. The pool was a nice size (up tp 7 feet deep) and also heated. No jacuzzi though.

In the morning we walked down a steep hill from the hotel and numerous stairs as we descended into a cliff to the beach. There was about 200 yards of beach where we were at and it was bordered on both sides by rocks (similar to a reef). The back drop was the cliff itself behind us. There were only about 30 other people on the beach. We saw that there were snorkerlers in the water, a couple of professional photographers taking pictures (one of a couple poising), and a fisherman on the nearby rocks, it had the feel of a private beach. I don't know the name of the beach but it definitely is a best kept secret.

We were aware that there were better rooms available at the hotel with a view, kitchen, or balcony but at much higher rates. Some of the rooms are 3 month rentals and possibly longer. I don't think the hotel quality would have improved if we spent more money on a better room and if we were willing to do so we would probably be staying somewhere else. Although our room had no ac controls, telephone (hence no room service), or clock we found that we did not need these items anyway. The weather was comfortable at about 75 degrees during our stay and at night the heater fan worked quite well. Also, I used my cell phone to make calls and also as an alarm clock.

My girlfriend and I talked in depth about this hotel and we both reached the same conclusion. Despite its many short comings, the distance to such a remarkable beach made up for it. Ordinarily when we are on vacation we don't spend much time in the hotel room anyway. We found this hotel to be clean and we felt safe in it. We would stay here again and recommend it to a friend however, if you want luxury and to be pampered your better off staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We had an ocean view suite with a balcony in the front of the room with a table and chairs. We had a couple chairs and table in the room along with a refrigerato and microwave. We stayed on a Monday night and it was only $129. It is and older remodel hotel. The bed was comfortable and it was worth the money. It is a quick walk to the beach. The grounds at the hotel are very charming.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

This hotel has a great location just steps from the beach and a large heated pool. But for $200 a night we got a room in desperate need of renovation, a "kitchenette" stuffed into a closet with the smell of leaking gas. No phone, no clock, no view and a refrigerator next to the bed instead of a night stand (it couln't fit into the closet) There were a few people appearing to live there and kids running around in their diapers in the courtyard. What a wierd experience!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room quality
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

I've stayed at his motel for many years. I am 42 with 4 children and i own a business. This is not a fancy hotel if that is what you are looking for...however, there is a great little coffee shop just across the street that we go and get early morning java and head down the street to Shaws Cove and sit on the beach and watch the sun come up....every room has a beautiful view of the ocean and it is very old and nostalgic.....we don't spend our day's in the room, so room luxury is not what we love...we love the smell of jasmine in the courtyard and the beautiful views and the great coffee and short jaunt to the beach.....I could afford to stay in any place in Laguna, but this cute little place is our special place and will continue to stay there every year that we go.

  • Liked — the views and the proximaty to the beach
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Beach Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Motor Inn

Address: 985 N. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Motor Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Beach Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.