We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1,000 Steps Beach

1,000 Steps Beach
Ninth Ave and Pacific Coast Hwy, South Laguna Beach, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
949 661 7013
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 attractions in Laguna Beach
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were at Laguna Beach for a couple of days, so of course I looked at Trip Advisor for unique things to do. I read about the 1000 steps beach & immediately knew we needed to find. Here are a few things to know:
>There are no large signs that say 1000 steps, you have to literally go to 9th Ave & PCH
>Parking on the street can be busy, so you may have to walk a bit & there are no sidewalks part of the way. This is fine for adults, but I would not feel safe walking down busy PCH with a family.
>The steps down are fun & easy, it is the walk back up that is a quad killers
>The above being said, DO NOT pack a lot to carry. I say a couple of poor fathers that had chairs, cooler, beach bags, etc that had to stop & catch breathe not once, but twice while the mother was trying to carry the kiddos up the stairs. They both looked out of breath & not happy campers.
>Bathrooms only 2 stalls, line can get long & they are beach/public/park bathrooms (not a fan)
Once you are at the beach...it is beautiful, private, calm, romantic!
Homes looking out to the ocean equally as stunning.
I am so happy we made this a MUST on our stop in Laguna.
If I lived here, this would be at least a weekly workout for me & a romantic day at the beach with my man.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Apex,NC
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I have to what??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My friend took me here to show me some great places to get amazing photos
the climb down looked fun..but wait I have to go back up too
It was a challenge but I felt better for having done it..
She said Make sure you take your husband here too!
I said Oh I will but Ill wait for him at the TOP!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moberly
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice beach, great workout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Parking is tough and finding these steps can even be more difficult. You get a great workout and share these steps with lots of other fitness minded people on a Saturday morning. Get your sweat on and enjoy the beautiful beach while you relax after the workout you put in.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Laguna Beach is full of shops, restaurants, and beaches. The 1000 steps beach in laguna beach is more private and gorgeous. Great for surfing. Beautiful scenery. It's kind of hidden so you may have to ask. Parking is limited.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Although called the 1,000 steps beach - actually there are only 80 or so. Venture down and enjoy the tranquility of this local gem!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1,000 Steps Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to 1,000 Steps Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1,000 Steps Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 1,000 Steps Beach to your Saves list