We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We used to be regulars, no more.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Olamendi's Laguna Beach

Olamendi's Laguna Beach
1100 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
(949) 497-4148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 154 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We used to be regulars, no more.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I used to go there every week. We had not been there in a while and it was completely changed. The tables were different, the menus were different, the food was different and even the salsa was different. The worst part was, they charge you if you ask for more salsa with your meal! Who does that?! What Mexican restaurant charges $1.00 for a small cup or salsa with your meal? I have never heard of that. I was so shocked. We did not question it but did notice it on the front of the menu. I just assumed it was for the folks who were just there drinking and not eating. There was only one other couple there eating and so it seems that the place is not as busy as it was years ago. When we first started going there it seemed to be run by a very nice woman and was always busy. Now, not so much. We will not be back, I assure you. The food was just OK and the service was also just OK. The salsa thing really rubbed me the wrong way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great service great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Loved our dinner! awesome margs and great food! Will definitely be back!!! Outside patio was great for sunset views and people watching. The staff could not have been nicer or more attentive. Perfect dinner with friends.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“just not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

if i were rating on the food alone, it would be one star. the service was excellent so i give two. the salsa was flavorless. the entrees were bland and boring. the margarita's were even worse...after them telling us how great they were. NOT! the only positive thing i can say about this place was the service, which was excellent. at least they have that part in their favor....but nothing else, unfortunately. i do not like writing poor reviews....but would you rather i lie?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Olamendi's Laguna: My Go-To Place Especially on Weekends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We visit Laguna Beach once a year, and consistently like Olamendi's. We especially like to go on Friday or Saturday evenings when all the crowds are filling downtown's parking spaces and restaurants. There is a validated (or free) parking structure in the building, and they always have tables available. In the last couple of years they (maybe the original management has come back?) have redecorated with bright, cheerful, festival-type colors everywhere, and colorful new menus now bearing the name as the Original Olamendi's Laguna Beach. Often there is a guitar playing, roving singer to entertain at tables. I ordered the chimichanga combo plate (wet), and it was delicious and more than I could really eat. My wife had the enchilada suiza, which came with soup or salad, and she very much liked. We were both too filled for dessert.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good traditional Mexican food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Friendly staff, excellent tacos, will stay open later if patrons come in late. Large restaurant, clean and efficient. No mistakes have been made any time I've eaten here.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olamendi's Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Olamendi's Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olamendi's Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.