We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides Inn to your Saves list
The Tides Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CALL FOR DAILY SPECIAL!
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Fresno, ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Tides. We came to Laguna Beach to see the Pagaent of the Masters. This is an older, small property. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The pool area is awesome with bars set up that you could use to entertain friends. The location is outstanding with Heisler Park right across the street and many restaurants located within walking distance. The beds were comfy. Parking is very tight but not impossible. The noise from the Pacific Coast Highway (PCH) is loud during the day. They provide ear plugs to help at night. I didn't give 5 stars only because it could use a little updating BUT it kinda felt like staying at Grandma's and we all love our grandmas. :))

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back of the property. The PCH is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
We all loved your review! Cozy is good! Our goal has always been to be clean and affordable. Kind of like Grandma's! Please come back to Laguna soon.
Thanks so much for taking the time to write to us.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    85
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
72
114
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed one night for the Pageant of the Masters. We had the Marilyn Monroe room. Great room, friendly staff. Super comfy bed. Very relaxing. Close to everything. Great pool area for entertaining. Parking was tight if you don't have a compact car.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing The Tides. We are hoping you reserve again next year when you receive your Pageant tickets. We are one of the few hotels in Laguna Beach who do not have a minimum stay. Sorry about the tight parking--always feel free to ask us for help. We are grateful to have one parking place per room! (and not charge extra) Looking forward to a return visit and thanks for all the positive comments.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simi valley
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Celebrated my wife's birthday. Great little hotel. Clean, super friendly staff, great location. We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed the experience. 15 minute walk to downtown laguna beach. Would recommend an inside room away from pch.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
We are so happy that you took advantage of our "birthday special" for your wife and hope you do the same for yours. Summer birthdays are a really big savings!
Laguna Beach is a perfect place to celebrate anything. Please come back soon to enjoy our town even more.
Thanks so much,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Pets are allowed which is fantastic for me. Under new management but seems to be doing well. Outdoor BBQ and fireplace available.mfurniture around pool and pool itself are really nice. Some rooms are very tiny. Has a sort of doll house or cottage feel to the rooms. Parking is tight for bigger vehicles. Really nice staff.

Room Tip: Rooms located off the main street(PCH). I would not recommend the rooms clo to road at all. One is e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Yes, we have new managers, Sophia and John. They are terrific, happy and always positive. Pure joy. Dale and I are very content owners.
We appreciate your taking the time to comment, so glad you enjoyed The Tides and hope to see you soon.
Thanks very much,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra Heights, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We took the family – my wife and I and our 2 year old and 5 month old – to the Tides for a brief family getaway in June, 2014. We were thoroughly charmed by the place and hope to make staying here an annual tradition. We are SoCal locals but having a room right across from the beach makes life so much easier, especially when kids are involved.

We had room 212, which is the largest room and looks out over PCH toward the ocean. You get two very comfortable queen beds and a full kitchen with oven, stove, fridge, microwave, plates, and utensils. There’s also an eating/sitting area between the kitchen and bedroom. All in all a very comfortable place to stay with the family. Noise from the road can be an issue if you’re a light sleeper. It wouldn’t bother me, but did wake the baby on occasion. Note that no cribs are available at the Tides, so if you have a little one you’ll need to make your own arrangements.

The location is ideal – just across the street from Heisler Park, which sits atop the cliffs above the beach and makes a fine center of operations for exploring the beach and tide pools. Easy walking to central Laguna for restaurants, coffee, ice cream, whatever you want!

The pool is nice and there is a bbq and outdoor fireplace.

My only complaint is about the shower. It was small, the water pressure was weak, and the hot water was warm at best. Kind of disappointing when you’re cleaning up after a day at the beach. Otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We try to charm our guests. Our goal is to be clean and affordable so more folks and families can enjoy Laguna Beach. Children love our salt water pool. Our plumber got right to work on the hot water/water pressure problems thanks to your comments. We always appreciate those comments. Looking forward to your return visit.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Moved to the Tides for the weekend while in Southern California for business. While not ideal as a business hotel, it's perfect for a weekend getaway. The location is great, being only minutes from the oceanside parks and beaches. The staff are very nice and helpful - when I checked in, they suggested I move to another room because it's quieter. The Tides is clean, comfortable and has a good boutique feel to it.

Since it's on the PCH, there can be significant road noise for the rooms close to the road. The hotel provides earplugs.

I had room 213 which has two double beds, a fire place and faces the back alley making it the quietest room.

The only downside is there can be room noise through the adjoining doors between rooms. Only a problem if you're a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Room 213 is the quietest room since it's farthest from the road. It has a fireplace and is spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We very much appreciate your comments and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you. We also sure do wish there was something we could do about the traffic noise. Kind of tough on the hotels to have our gorgeous ocean next to PCH but it is convenient! The Tides was built in 1949 and I believe the walls have not been changed except for paint--there can be some sounds from adjoining rooms on occasion. Hoping you return soon. Laguna Beach is gorgeous in the fall.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Loved The Tides. Staff friendly and competent. Stayed in 104, lovely. Our own little beach cottage, with dining area, kitchen and two very comfy queen beds, very nice flat screen TV on the wall. Pool and fire pit area was great, and an easy walk to Laguna Beach proper and the stunning Heisler Park. Free parking, which was great, but sometimes a little tricky when parking behind the building(some careful manuvering was involved). Small price to pay for such a nice place. Next time we visit from CT, will definitely stay at The Tides. P.S. Did not need earplugs, but their presence provided a good laugh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We are so happy you had a good time. That is exactly what The Tides hopes to accomplish. Sorry about the parking problem--cars are much larger than in 1949! We are just so happy to have a parking place for every room. Looking forward to your next visit from Connecticut, glad you had fun and a good laugh. See you soon, we hope.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.