We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews, travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides Inn to your Saves list
The Tides Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews, travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location, friendly and attentive owners and on-site management team, lovely property.
Rooms looked even better to us when we saw them than the photos indicated on their website. Across the street from beautiful Heisler Park, a nice place to wander and enjoy a sunset. We did the right thing selecting the Tides, and are thankful we did.

Room Tip: Room 207 left nothing to be desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biff000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks so much for staying at The Tides.
We appreciate your review and our location. Hope to see you soon again.
Don't forget our birthday special.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here on our SoCal five-day road trip. It's a modest hotel, nothing fancy, but clean and well maintained inside and out (nice pool area). It's located directly on PCH within walking distance to the beach (the restaurants are a bit further south, a fair hike by foot). We stayed in room 205 and paid $133.28 (all taxes included). It's not a large room and the bathroom is a quite small. It does have a small room before you enter the bathroom where there is a vanity area and small frig and a place to hang clothes. They do supply earplugs and without the air conditioner on, you would definitely need them! Also, the walls are very thin - we got an X-rated ear-full from the couple next door. I've read all of the reviews and agree with most of what has been written - however, I wouldn't say it's FABULOUS as many others have written. Comparing this to the other 4 places I stayed on our journey, I would give it a healthy, solid 3+.

Room Tip: Ask management as they are very helpful with your wishes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We are happy with a solid 3+.
Thanks,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Tides Inn has a great location and I enjoyed my stay. It was my first time there and the staff was great; although the hotel itself is not flashy. It is situated right on PCH between Crystal Cove and the main Laguna Beach area so it is central to a lot of things. They have a nice pool area set up to have your own BBQ with friends or just relax on a floatie. They also have an outdoor fireplace area that is pretty cool. I enjoyed my stay there and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist that you want to be as far away from PCH as possible to limit noise . My reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerCane86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We very much appreciate your taking the time to review The Tides. It is a great place for a single visitor as well as a family. We have some darling small rooms and yes, our location is fabulous. Parking for free and being able to walk all over town are wonderful perks.
Please return soon--winters are also quite gorgeous.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
299 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We couldn't have been treated more warmly or courteously. No wonder this modest motel gets such high ratings from guests! We chose the Tides Inn because our daughter was getting married in Laguna Beach at Heisler Park across the street. The Tides management bent over backward to accommodate our requests and make our stay hassle-free. My husband says, "It was like staying with family -- the kind of family we all wish we had."

Room Tip: The Tides Inn website gives photos of each unique room; very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We feel like we have the nicest and most courteous guests. We all thank you for the nice comments. Wedding and reunions are our favorite groups. Hoping to see you visit more often and most of all for the "anniversaries-to-be."
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a great place to stay in Laguna. Convient to everything. Beach is a block away, shops down the street, trolley stop right outside the Inn. I stayed at The Tides with my two kids and Fred and Denise made us feel like family. We arrived after the office closed, well Fred put our room key under our mat in case we were really late arrivals. The second day they upgraded us to the 1 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen. Very spacious and comfortable. With the kids we just went to the market and picked up dinner and ate in our "apartment". We enjoyed the fireplace that evening too. . We really wanted to take advantage of the barbeque but since we were only there for the 2 nights we didn't want leftovers.
The pool was a little chilly but that didn't stop my kids. They liked the water fountains in the pool. The beach was a nice 5 min walk. They even had beach chairs and toys for your day at the beach. This was a nice start to our week in So. Ca and our 4 days at Disneyland. We will definitely stay here again !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks so much for the wonderful Tides review. You didn't miss a thing! We are so glad you enjoyed every minute. It is great to have a kitchenette, especially with children.
Please return soon. There is always so much to do and see in this town. Very much like paradise.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1julieg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a delight to find a hidden gem in beautiful Laguna Beach! Cute, quaint, and homey! We were taking a trip down the coastline and were only staying 1 night, but would have loved staying longer. We thoroughly enjoyed our room 102 for our family of 4. We loved the large table, which was perfect for board games and elbow room for the kids. The room had a cabinet with puzzles and Legos that the kids really enjoyed using. Kitchenette and bathroom were a decent size and had all the amenities we needed. From previous written posts, some had mentioned the noise of the highway...we didn't notice it. Maybe it depends if you are a light or heavy sleeper...but our family didn't find it a problem, nor did we find it really that noisy. The air conditioner worked like a charm, although, we preferred opening our windows for fresh air. The hotel has lots of sand toys and beach accessories to use, which we thought was awesome! We didn't get to use the pool due to cooler temperatures and rain the day we stayed : ( But, it looked inviting! Our room had two full beds, so if that's a tight squeeze, the, consider another room. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 102 has two full beds and "cozy", and doesn't allow for lots of luggage, unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1julieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review of The Tides. Room 102 is a great family room because of the full kitchen and dining area. We adore our place and love catering to happy families. We strive to be clean and affordable so families can enjoy Laguna Beach--the community has so much to offer.
Keep traveling and hope you return soon.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Halfway through our trip from SF to SD on Hwy 1, we found ourselves in Laguna Beach and checked the Tides out on the web. We took a chance and stopped in finding 2 rooms for 2 nights.
The location was convenient to groceries, beverages and restaurants and the vibe is typical SoCal.
Here's what makes this unique. Great staff, great pool area, super BBQ in a built in outdoor kitchen and a perfect evening unwind around the fire. Add their mascot Fiona to that and the road noise, while apparent, quickly becomes a minor nuisance.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and closest to the road on the upper level, but the traffic quiets eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are just as happy that you found us and hope you stop by on all your fabulous road trips. There is not a more beautiful place to be than Laguna Beach, especially this time of the year. The sunsets are spectacular.
Thanks so much for the lovely review. It means so much to all of us.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing