We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews, travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Inn

Save Saved
You added The Tides Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tides Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
BIRTHDAY SPECIAL
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews, travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location, friendly and attentive owners and on-site management team, lovely property.
Rooms looked even better to us when we saw them than the photos indicated on their website. Across the street from beautiful Heisler Park, a nice place to wander and enjoy a sunset. We did the right thing selecting the Tides, and are thankful we did.

Room Tip: Room 207 left nothing to be desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks so much for staying at The Tides.
We appreciate your review and our location. Hope to see you soon again.
Don't forget our birthday special.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    76
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
67
100
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here on our SoCal five-day road trip. It's a modest hotel, nothing fancy, but clean and well maintained inside and out (nice pool area). It's located directly on PCH within walking distance to the beach (the restaurants are a bit further south, a fair hike by foot). We stayed in room 205 and paid $133.28 (all taxes included). It's not a large room and the bathroom is a quite small. It does have a small room before you enter the bathroom where there is a vanity area and small frig and a place to hang clothes. They do supply earplugs and without the air conditioner on, you would definitely need them! Also, the walls are very thin - we got an X-rated ear-full from the couple next door. I've read all of the reviews and agree with most of what has been written - however, I wouldn't say it's FABULOUS as many others have written. Comparing this to the other 4 places I stayed on our journey, I would give it a healthy, solid 3+.

Room Tip: Ask management as they are very helpful with your wishes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We are happy with a solid 3+.
Thanks,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Tides Inn has a great location and I enjoyed my stay. It was my first time there and the staff was great; although the hotel itself is not flashy. It is situated right on PCH between Crystal Cove and the main Laguna Beach area so it is central to a lot of things. They have a nice pool area set up to have your own BBQ with friends or just relax on a floatie. They also have an outdoor fireplace area that is pretty cool. I enjoyed my stay there and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist that you want to be as far away from PCH as possible to limit noise . My reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We very much appreciate your taking the time to review The Tides. It is a great place for a single visitor as well as a family. We have some darling small rooms and yes, our location is fabulous. Parking for free and being able to walk all over town are wonderful perks.
Please return soon--winters are also quite gorgeous.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We couldn't have been treated more warmly or courteously. No wonder this modest motel gets such high ratings from guests! We chose the Tides Inn because our daughter was getting married in Laguna Beach at Heisler Park across the street. The Tides management bent over backward to accommodate our requests and make our stay hassle-free. My husband says, "It was like staying with family -- the kind of family we all wish we had."

Room Tip: The Tides Inn website gives photos of each unique room; very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We feel like we have the nicest and most courteous guests. We all thank you for the nice comments. Wedding and reunions are our favorite groups. Hoping to see you visit more often and most of all for the "anniversaries-to-be."
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a great place to stay in Laguna. Convient to everything. Beach is a block away, shops down the street, trolley stop right outside the Inn. I stayed at The Tides with my two kids and Fred and Denise made us feel like family. We arrived after the office closed, well Fred put our room key under our mat in case we were really late arrivals. The second day they upgraded us to the 1 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen. Very spacious and comfortable. With the kids we just went to the market and picked up dinner and ate in our "apartment". We enjoyed the fireplace that evening too. . We really wanted to take advantage of the barbeque but since we were only there for the 2 nights we didn't want leftovers.
The pool was a little chilly but that didn't stop my kids. They liked the water fountains in the pool. The beach was a nice 5 min walk. They even had beach chairs and toys for your day at the beach. This was a nice start to our week in So. Ca and our 4 days at Disneyland. We will definitely stay here again !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks so much for the wonderful Tides review. You didn't miss a thing! We are so glad you enjoyed every minute. It is great to have a kitchenette, especially with children.
Please return soon. There is always so much to do and see in this town. Very much like paradise.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1julieg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a delight to find a hidden gem in beautiful Laguna Beach! Cute, quaint, and homey! We were taking a trip down the coastline and were only staying 1 night, but would have loved staying longer. We thoroughly enjoyed our room 102 for our family of 4. We loved the large table, which was perfect for board games and elbow room for the kids. The room had a cabinet with puzzles and Legos that the kids really enjoyed using. Kitchenette and bathroom were a decent size and had all the amenities we needed. From previous written posts, some had mentioned the noise of the highway...we didn't notice it. Maybe it depends if you are a light or heavy sleeper...but our family didn't find it a problem, nor did we find it really that noisy. The air conditioner worked like a charm, although, we preferred opening our windows for fresh air. The hotel has lots of sand toys and beach accessories to use, which we thought was awesome! We didn't get to use the pool due to cooler temperatures and rain the day we stayed : ( But, it looked inviting! Our room had two full beds, so if that's a tight squeeze, the, consider another room. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 102 has two full beds and "cozy", and doesn't allow for lots of luggage, unless y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review of The Tides. Room 102 is a great family room because of the full kitchen and dining area. We adore our place and love catering to happy families. We strive to be clean and affordable so families can enjoy Laguna Beach--the community has so much to offer.
Keep traveling and hope you return soon.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Halfway through our trip from SF to SD on Hwy 1, we found ourselves in Laguna Beach and checked the Tides out on the web. We took a chance and stopped in finding 2 rooms for 2 nights.
The location was convenient to groceries, beverages and restaurants and the vibe is typical SoCal.
Here's what makes this unique. Great staff, great pool area, super BBQ in a built in outdoor kitchen and a perfect evening unwind around the fire. Add their mascot Fiona to that and the road noise, while apparent, quickly becomes a minor nuisance.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and closest to the road on the upper level, but the traffic quiets eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are just as happy that you found us and hope you stop by on all your fabulous road trips. There is not a more beautiful place to be than Laguna Beach, especially this time of the year. The sunsets are spectacular.
Thanks so much for the lovely review. It means so much to all of us.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.