We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides Inn to your Saves list
The Tides Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CALL FOR DAILY SPECIAL!
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We LOVED staying at this quaint inn, especially for the price. The staff were very accommodating, our room was clean and comfortable, and you simply couldn't beat the location. Everything we could possibly want to do or experience was within walking distance. Once we checked in and parked we didn't have to fight the beach traffic. A gorgeous park and small, private beach are literally a couple blocks away. We will be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
When we purchased The Tides, our goal was to be clean and affordable (and fun) so more families could come to Laguna Beach. We are proud to have free parking, towels and beach chairs available, free wifi and absolutely no extra charges. We hope you plan a return visit real soon. Thanks so much for taking the time to write about us.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    85
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
72
114
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for the first time over Labor Day weekend for my mom's birthday. They offer an AWESOME rate on your birthday night! Its a 10-15 min walk to main beach/downtown and a 5 min walk to the beach across the street!!! The room was adorable (108). Everything seemed clean and very well cared for. The linens were nice and my mom thoroughly enjoyed the little patio. I highly recommend the Tides. We will definitely beyond a doubt be staying again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We will be looking for you both on every birthday. They should be perfect and we were happy to help with yours.
Thanks so much. Please return as often as possible.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in room 208 for an enjoyable 5 nights, the room was bright and clean. I didn't hear any road noise only the splashing of the pool in front. I did have a small view of the ocean from my room.There is parking space for each room assigned which saved me having to park on the road. Walking distance to the ocean, and not far from coffee shops. Staff are friendly including Fiona the dog. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Room 208 is one of my favorite rooms. The cross ventilation is perfect. We do have a quote in every room--some are hidden and you must have noticed the Buddha quote. The photo on the wall was left by a guest as a special surprise gift to the room. We get the nicest visitors at The Tides. Our wonderful new managers, Denise and Fred are the owners of that wonderful Princess Fiona. I think she is the most photographed dog in Laguna.
We will look forward to another visit and thanks so much,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here one night with two other couples. We were in room 204 and it was a roomy room with a full kitchen. Bring paper towels and napkins if you plan to use kitchen. I did not see any kitchen towels. Our friends were in room 104 and 214 and their rooms were also nice. The property and pool area are well taken care of and we would definitely stay here in the future. The rates for summer are in the $200 range which is expensive but normal for hotels in Laguna in the high season. The staff is very helpful and even loaned us some beach towels.

We were gong to Pageant of the Masters and Sawdust Festival which are both easily within walking distance just under 1 mile if you enjoy walking. There is also a free trolley/tram that can be caught just down the street from the hotel.

Heisler Park is just across the highway and a beautiful area to walk and also has easy access to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much.
We are so happy you had a nice summer vacation with us--even great steaks on the BBQ.
Laguna Beach is the prettiest community with so much to offer. Please return soon.

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from a quick weekend getaway in Laguna, and I wish we could have stayed a week! The Tides Inn was the perfect location - comfortable, within walking distance to everything, and relaxing. We did not even get to take advantage of the pool, outdoor firepit, or beach chairs that were kindly offered to us. Clearly, we need to return. We were in one of the front rooms on the street, and yeah, there was a tiny bit of road noise, and yeah, we could hear the kids in the room above running around playing with a ball in the morning. But you know what, it felt like home because that is just what life is like in my apartment. If you need a soundless superplush room, there are plenty of Laguna hotels at 3+times the price that might be more up your alley. If you want a friendly, comfortably stay that is very well located - the Tides is the place to be!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you. Thank you. You get us!
You must come back just for the pool and fireplace experience and we think we can find about 100 other fun experiences to enjoy.
See you soon.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent one night in Laguna Beach and chose this inn after researching our options on Trip Advisor. Our room was in the back of the property and had two queen beds, a wooden floor and a fireplace. It really felt like we were staying at a favorite aunt & uncle's guest room, it was so homey and comfortable. I personally liked that the furnishings and bedding/bathroom decor looked more like a bed and breakfast inn than like a typical hotel room. Everything was clean and tidy, and the shampoo and soaps in the bathroom smelled wonderful! There was even a little bookcase stocked with novels to read, and wifi available.
The staff was welcoming and helpful, giving us great advice on how to make the most of our short time in Laguna Beach.
It was a pleasant walk from the inn to the main part of the beach area, with restaurants, shopping, etc. There was also a free trolley but we did not use it so I can't really comment on that.
Overall, a very nice experience! We will definitely be back to this charming little inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your review.
Sounds like you like everything we like!
You truly made the most of your Laguna Beach visit.
Please come back soon. We all think this should be your home away from home.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Recently, me and my boyfriend stayed here. Our room was very nice, and decorated very pretty and it had an ocean view without the price tag. It was so cool that the hotel room offered some books to read. And we absolutely loved the kitchenette!! But there was a few minor details that bothered us; our lock to our room looked like someone had tried to break in, the window looked out onto the stairs, it was a little dirty, and there was some water damage on the ceiling. The parking spots are very tight, especially if you drive a bigger veichile like an suv or truck. (We had to climb over to the passenger side to get out of our truck in all the parking spots.) But the pool was very nice and the offered a lot of "beach toys." Overall, it was defiantly worth the price we paid, and thats it. If you are looking for somewhere extravagant, then you might want to look a little harder, because they offer a little more then the minimum. It was nice, but we defiantly got what we paid for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are always glad to receive feedback and to fix problems. This summer was so busy (our best ever-a good thing) we hardly had time to breathe!
The deadbolt lock has been filed - key always goes in wrong door lock.
The windows are clean.
The ceiling is patched and painted.
Parking places are small but there is one for each room and NO CHARGE.
We happily look forward to a winter with more time to clean, repair, paint, make changes--our favorite things.
Please return soon. Thanks for your review.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.