We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Kept Inn with Caring Owners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Inn

Save Saved
You added The Tides Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tides Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
BIRTHDAY SPECIAL
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Well Kept Inn with Caring Owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I are on an 8 week trip across the country with our dog. We chose this hotel because they are dog friendly and had great reviews. The owners are very nice and take very good care of their inn. They were very nice to us. We had to change rooms a few times and they took care of everything.
I give the inn a very good because the location on N Coast Hwy across the street from the ocean makes it very difficult and dangerous to get to the beach. One corner has a traffic light that is so quick you practically have to run to get across the street in time. The other corner has a button you push that activates yellow blinking lights and a voice that tells you to be careful because the cars may not stop.
We loved the Sawdust Art Show and the Pageant Of The Masters. But Laguna Beach is way too crowded and busy for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Tides.
We hope you can plan a return trip to Laguna Beach in September, October or November. The weather is gorgeous, sunsets are spectacular, crowds have gone home and the prices are cut in half.
We look forward to a return visit.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    75
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
67
99
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is awesome and such great value. The team behind The Tides Inn desperately want you to have an amazing time at their hotel. The details just kept hitting you. The rooms are light, clean, modern with all details and comforts covered. The kitchen is well stocked, with coffee making facilities and we had a lovely bayview over the roof tops. The whole place smells of jasmine, the gardens are very well looked after and pretty. At night the lights are gorgeous and make the whole place feel magical. There is parking for everyone. The pool is heated, clean and refreshing. There are lots of comfy and new sun loungers. There is a BBQ area and a outdoor fireplace and they actively encourage you to make a fire and enjoy the cooler evening in their outdoor lounge area. The hotel is on the main road in Laguna but we couldn't hear the traffic once the windows were shut at night and the AC is really good and quite so you don't need to leave a window open if it is hot. They even provide earplugs just in case you are a hyper-sensitively light sleeper.

Laguna Beach itself is beautiful. A lovely, proud but friendly beach town. It was a five minute walk into the centre of town along immaculate coastal gardens. Birds and wild rabbits come out to great you as you wander down. The beach is gorgeous. Large, clean and the cliffs offer stunning panoramics at sunset. Top tip, turn right out of the hotel for three minute walk to Umami Burger - best burgers we had in California and recently voted top burger by GQ.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
WOW. Huge thanks. Your review almost scares us--that is a lot to live up to!! We do try hard and we do love our place. Very thankful for your appreciation.
We love Unami Burger also. All of the workers and management stayed at The Tides during their construction and opening. We adored them and their hamburgers.
Thanks again so very much,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont Shore, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is our 3rd time staying at the Tides Inn, in Laguna. It is so quaint, within walking distance to downtown, Heisler Park and the beach. The grounds are beautiful and kept up so perfectly, The rooms are decorated tastefully and very very clean. They are pet friendly, so we brought our dog along on this trip and it worked out great! This is the only hotel we consider anymore when we come in from out of town to stay for a weekend getaway. They are so accomodating and easy to work with. Thank you for another perfect time away and we'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We just adore our repeat customers. You make all of our work worth it. So glad your dog had a chance to explore our fabulous beaches!
Looking forward to your next visit.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at The Tides and it won't be our last. Each time we've stayed there we are always made to feel welcome by the staff who will go out of their way to make sure our stay is a good one. It's a small hotel but the rooms are comfortable and clean. There is a bbq island in the pool area as well as a fireplace which is great for cool evenings. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your visit. Now we are looking forward to your 4th time at The Tides. Our fabulous art festivals and the Pageant of the Masters begin June 28th and continue through July and August. Also, the weather and sunsets are perfect in September and October.
See you soon.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairway, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you are looking for lux, go someplace else. This place is old and a bit musty, but very comfortable and clean. I loved being able to walk to the boardwalk along the ocean, walk to shops and restaurants, and being a bit out of the traffic too. Great location. Bedding was good and I like the clean tile floors. The comfy chairs around the outdoor fire pit were great. It is pretty small so there is not much privacy and the bath needed some updates. Overall, an affordable nice place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Such a delightful and truthful review. Thank you. That is exactly what we want to be--affordable (for Laguna Beach) and clean. We enjoy our guests very much. We are working on the baths which is not easy as The Tides was built in 1949--were people smaller then?
We look forward to your return visit.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We got married in Laguna, and reserved the Tides for our out-of-town guests. All of our guests could not say enough wonderful things about the hotel, the owners, and their ability to make all of us feel like we were family. We booked the last weekend in March, and the weather was perfect. The owners allowed us to use their pool area to host a get-together, and repeatedly went above and beyond to accommodate us in every way. If you are in need of a safe, cute, clean and welcoming place to host those you love the most, please consider the Tides Inn.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Congratulations again. We are so happy everyone was pleased. It is a perfect party place and we love parties. Hoping you can join us for our annual "Elvis" party in August and please celebrate all your special occasions at The Tides.

Thanks so much for sharing your comments.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel staff were superbly helpful and they even had beach chairs, towels, and an umbrella for us to borrow for the beach. Since our flight wasn't until late in the day, after check out, They were kind enough to let us park there after check out while we enjoyed the beach and tidepools. We loved that the Hotel is conveniently located across the the street from Heisler Park and the beach, and close to, but away from, the downtown area.

Room Tip: With windows open we could hear street noise, but with them closed it wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We aim to please and thanks so much for appreciating us. It means alot. We try hard.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Thanks again,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.