We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides Inn to your Saves list
The Tides Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belmont Shore, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is our 3rd time staying at the Tides Inn, in Laguna. It is so quaint, within walking distance to downtown, Heisler Park and the beach. The grounds are beautiful and kept up so perfectly, The rooms are decorated tastefully and very very clean. They are pet friendly, so we brought our dog along on this trip and it worked out great! This is the only hotel we consider anymore when we come in from out of town to stay for a weekend getaway. They are so accomodating and easy to work with. Thank you for another perfect time away and we'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We just adore our repeat customers. You make all of our work worth it. So glad your dog had a chance to explore our fabulous beaches!
Looking forward to your next visit.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    94
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
78
122
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glendora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at The Tides and it won't be our last. Each time we've stayed there we are always made to feel welcome by the staff who will go out of their way to make sure our stay is a good one. It's a small hotel but the rooms are comfortable and clean. There is a bbq island in the pool area as well as a fireplace which is great for cool evenings. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your visit. Now we are looking forward to your 4th time at The Tides. Our fabulous art festivals and the Pageant of the Masters begin June 28th and continue through July and August. Also, the weather and sunsets are perfect in September and October.
See you soon.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairway, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you are looking for lux, go someplace else. This place is old and a bit musty, but very comfortable and clean. I loved being able to walk to the boardwalk along the ocean, walk to shops and restaurants, and being a bit out of the traffic too. Great location. Bedding was good and I like the clean tile floors. The comfy chairs around the outdoor fire pit were great. It is pretty small so there is not much privacy and the bath needed some updates. Overall, an affordable nice place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Such a delightful and truthful review. Thank you. That is exactly what we want to be--affordable (for Laguna Beach) and clean. We enjoy our guests very much. We are working on the baths which is not easy as The Tides was built in 1949--were people smaller then?
We look forward to your return visit.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We got married in Laguna, and reserved the Tides for our out-of-town guests. All of our guests could not say enough wonderful things about the hotel, the owners, and their ability to make all of us feel like we were family. We booked the last weekend in March, and the weather was perfect. The owners allowed us to use their pool area to host a get-together, and repeatedly went above and beyond to accommodate us in every way. If you are in need of a safe, cute, clean and welcoming place to host those you love the most, please consider the Tides Inn.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Congratulations again. We are so happy everyone was pleased. It is a perfect party place and we love parties. Hoping you can join us for our annual "Elvis" party in August and please celebrate all your special occasions at The Tides.

Thanks so much for sharing your comments.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel staff were superbly helpful and they even had beach chairs, towels, and an umbrella for us to borrow for the beach. Since our flight wasn't until late in the day, after check out, They were kind enough to let us park there after check out while we enjoyed the beach and tidepools. We loved that the Hotel is conveniently located across the the street from Heisler Park and the beach, and close to, but away from, the downtown area.

Room Tip: With windows open we could hear street noise, but with them closed it wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We aim to please and thanks so much for appreciating us. It means alot. We try hard.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Thanks again,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, nice little pool, close to beach. But some rooms are right on the road, traffic noise not good! If you are staying for a few days then make sure you get a room at the back. The location is great for beach, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We also love our location. We love not charging to park your car also. We do have 3 rooms on the street side of our property and always make a point to let our guests know that when they make their reservations. There is traffic noise on Coast Highway-no doubt about it-and all the hotels are on the coast. We do have double-paned windows which helps.
Thanks so much for your good traveler advice. Hoping to see you again soon.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nothing really much to add to all of the other reviews. The owners are very nice, the road noise is not really an issue but the walls are a little thin. The rooms are clean and they provide you with a nice beach towel for your excursions there. Good pool area and plenty of parking. The place is larger then it appears from the outside along the PCH. It is also an easy walk to town and close to several beaches. Has to be the best place to stay in Laguna Beach for the money. I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
You made our day. So happy you will return. We think we are a great affordable secret in Laguna Beach and try hard to be exactly that--the affordable part.....We hope you return soon to shop and dine and relax at The Tides.
Thanks so much for taking the time to review.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.