We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Laguna Beach "find"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Tides Inn to your Saves list
The Tides Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT & SAVE
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Laguna Beach "find"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Recently spent four days at the Tides attending a 50's high school reunion from Tokyo, Japan for about 40 classmates. This was our second time at the Tides for our reunion and we could not have picked a better place. The owners, Linda and Dale, and the resident managers, Judy and Joe, were most welcoming and helpful. The Tides has a great pool; and nicely appointed, clean and comfortable rooms. There is also a great area for barbecuing and to just sit back and relax. The Tides is within walking distance of several good restaurants and a short walk to the beach.
Our room was on the second floor and had a refrigerator, coffee maker and a very quite AC unit. Many rooms have small fully equipped kitchenettes and all have large flat screen TV's. If you like small, clean, intimate motels then the Tides is for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Great review and we thank you so much. Your Tokyo group is so much fun and we loved having you as repeat guests. That is a great compliment to us and your taking the time to write is much appreciated. Until next time,

Judy and Joe
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    95
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
80
122
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband's high school class from Tokyo had a small "gathering" of about 40 classmates from the late 50's at this inn. Since we occupied most of the rooms, the gathering was very intimate. Our room was comfy, not fancy, but with everything we needed. We were on the first floor with king bed, flat screen TV, AC, kitchenette with micro, small fridge, coffee maker, plates. It was perfect for our needs. We took over the pool area for breakfast and 3 dinners which were deliciously cooked on the barbeque and also in the largest room which had a kitchen. It was only a few blocks to Laguna Beach for shopping and Las Brisas for a fine dinner out. The staff was so friendly and accomodating. We would definitely go back for a weekend. In the summer, Laguna has a Sawdust Festival (art) and a Pageant of the Masters. There is a free shuttle during the summer, so one could stay there and go everywhere...Great find!

Room Tip: Ground floor is easy access. No elevators. Can hear footsteps above. Ear plugs are provided again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hello Tokyo gathering. We loved having your group here for a repeat performance. Your entire entourage was so fun....interesting, lovable, fabulous "inside" entertainment in the form of a live hula by one of your Hawaiin natives down fireside/poolside. We so look forward to your next group visit.

Judy and Joe
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spur of the moment overnight stay at the Tides. Chose hotel based on great TA reviews and rate. Our room was basically a studio apt. First floor with a very comfortable king bed. Small kitchinette with microwave, fridge, toaster, and small sink. Plates, silverware, and even some wine glasses. Flat screen tv with plenty of network and basic cable channels,(did not really watch tv though). Decent sized bathroom with shower only. Think we must have got the last room,special needs room, shower had wall mounted fold up shower bench and two hand held shower heads, fine with us. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Public beach access is less than a five minute walk from hotel. Main beach and town are about a half mile down the road, but not really a long walk either, imo. Pool area quite nice also, after a day at the beach. We did not have any noise issues with being on PCH, rooms closer to the street might, they do provide earplugs. You will hear the footsteps of the guests on the second floor above your room. Overall the hotel was really quiet during our overnight stay. The no vacancy sign was posted, but there were still five parking spaces available behind the hotel.

Wish we could have stayed another night. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Las Brisas restaurant is a short walk from hotel. Hit the outdoor patio for a cool drink and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for writing such a detailed report on your stay at The Tides. We are thrilled when our guests are happy and enjoying their special time away from reality here in Laguna Beach. Please come again and we look forward to it.

Judy and Joe
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend (and also my birthday). The rooms were fine, not luxury, but what you needed including fridge. Pool area wa beautiful and the staff were excellent. Loved the birthday offer - we paid the last 2 digits of the year of my birth for my birthday night.
Laguna beach is a great town with a really good atmosphere and a good selection of shops/restaurants/bars, all within walking distance of The Tides. The beach was pretty narrow for all the crowds - we preferred the beach at Newport Balboa Peninsula a few miles up the coast. Overall, a great trip to Laguna beach and really liked The Tides.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Happy Birthday from the staff here at The Tides. Isn't that great fun? We are happy you had such a special occasion to celebrate and we hope Laguna Beach will be your next destination.

Joe and Judy
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the tides laguna inn for our family vactaion and loved it. Joe and Dale were on point for all recommendations (entertainmnet, food, services)and very helpful. The entire staff was friendly and so.. nice. The inn is located in a great spot, 1 block from beach, walking distance to town/shops and close to great places to eat. Thanks for making our stay so great!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We absolutely love making our guests happy and their vacations fabulous. Thanks for staying with us at The Tides.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I havent even left my room but had to write a review because I am blown away at the exceptional service.

My HBO wasnt working and I was looking forward watching it during my stay, as I dont use a TV at home. Dale at the front desk should get a raise or bonus for spending hours and constant follow-up to get the HBO channel to work for me. I got to watch 15mins of my show, True Blood, and I am still shocked at the service. This is so rare and I will definitely stay again.

The rooms are clean, affordable, 1blk from the beach, has parking, nice pool area, vending machines and great staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dale always goes out of his way for our guests. but because of you we did solve some TV problems.....as far as a raise for Dale--you are too kind but we will all discuss it! He is the best.
We thank you for your understanding and hope you return.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grain Valley, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had our Family Reunion at The Tides this year. We booked every room they have which was perfect for our size family. The Tides is in a great location for all sorts of activities. It is about a one and a half block walk to the beach so you don't have to worry about parking. They have plenty at the Inn. Joe and Judy are so kind, friendly and helpful. The pool area was an Awesome place for everyone to congregate. Plenty of tables and chairs. That became our main gathering area. Thank you Joe and Judy for a Great week. I'm from the Kansas City area and when I'm back in the area of Laguna Beach I know where I'm staying. Can't wait till next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We can't wait either!
Adored and enjoyed your entire family.
Thanks so much,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.