We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High priced, Extra value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studio at Montage

Studio at Montage
30801 Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
(866) 271-6953
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 133 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Montage Resort Drive & South Pacific Coast Highway
Description: WITH A PANORAMIC OCEANFRONT LOCATION AND MODERN FRENCH CUISINE WITH CALIFORNIA INFLUENCES, STUDIO IS THE PORTRAIT OF BEACHSIDE INDULGENCE A refined and inventive menu reflects masterful attention to detail accented with an elegant, creative touch. Since its debut in early 2003, Studio at Montage Laguna Beach has become a culinary destination for discerning gourmands and oenophiles alike. Set on an oceanfront bluff in the artistic village of Laguna Beach, Studio is designed to captivate the senses. Ocean breezes, panoramic views and lush landscapes create a refreshing sense of place at the water"s edge and a fitting backdrop for the shared enjoyment of fine food and wine.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“High priced, Extra value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Studio at Montage is definitley a very special occasion restaurant. We were celebrating our 43rd anniversary and were ready for something special and we found it! After reviewing the menu selections, we decided to splurge on the wine tasing menu at approx $200/each. The food was absolutely extraordinary and the wine pairings put everything over the top. On top of that, the moon-lit ocean view from the patio couldn't have given a better ambience. Our waiter and wine steward were also tremendous and seemed to enjoy our enjoyment as much as we did.

Easily the most expensive dinner the two of us have had but also the most enjoyable by far. A real memory.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at Studio at Montage, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Congratulations on your 43rd anniversary; what an incredible milestone! We were honored to host such a special occasion and hope you will enjoy many more wonderful years together.

Warm regards,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    31
    22
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Taste of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Atmosphere. The quality of service enhanced an already superior atmosphere. These folks know how to make your visit perfect.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Studio-Overpriced, but delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ate at the Studio last night with 3 other people-it was our first time there and we were celebrating a birthday-thought we'd splurge. And splurge we did! All entrees were $55 and designed to be served with an appetizer and first course-both approx. $25 each. The waiter made sure we knew the entrees were small plates (meat about 6 oz) so we should order other items as well. We did-ordered the venison, risotto, asparagus and entrees: swordfish, beef tenderloin (2) and lamb-all were superb! We each had 2 drinks throughout the course of the evening and the final tab was approx. $500 including tip for 4 people. We were satisfied but not stuffed after the meal. They did bring us a "complimentary" birthday dessert that was beautiful and delicious. Overall I like this place but be prepared to take a second out on your house to dine at the Studio. Another way to enjoy the property-go in the afternoon, have a coffee or drink on the patio outside the Studio-watch the sunset, walk around and see the beauty of the property and location-spend maybe $20?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exceptional on all counts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This restaurant is an absolute must for foodies. It ticks all the boxes: sublime setting and view, exceptional service, and outstanding food. Enjoyed one of the best meals ever here - simply divine!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant; Fabulous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This outstanding restaurant is one of the attractions of Laguna Beach. It is always on our "to do" list whenever we go there. The food and service are always consistently outstanding and we have dined there on several occasions. The four of us had a variety of things including squab, pumpkin soup, crab salad, scallops, duck, and lamb chops. Everything was outstanding. The service is impeccable. The view is also tremendous looking right out on to the Pacific. We ad a beautiful night with our table outside, the waves crashing nearby.
Another memorable evening at this wonderful restaurant. It is worth the trip if you are any where near Laguna Beach/Laguna Nigel. We have eaten all over the U.S. and this ranks in the top 5 % .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studio at Montage also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Studio at Montage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio at Montage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.