We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot in Laguna ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Surf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Laguna Surf to your Saves list
Laguna Surf
611 South Pacific Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel amenities
La Habra, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice spot in Laguna ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were given the gift of a week at the Laguna Surf. Unfortunately, due to other circumstances, we were only able to go for a Saturday night (April 26, 2014) stay. However, in the brief time we were there, it was an enjoyable experience. We didn't have an ocean front unit, which was a bummer. We were in #207 which faces PCH so we heard a little street noise but the windows are pretty thick so it did not bother us. Parking was secure and our after hours check-in was fine (office closes at 5 so manager left our keys in a lock box) Our brief experience with the staff was a positive one. Room was clean and had a nice little kitchenette we could have used to prepare breakfast and other meals if we had been there for the week. Lots of restaurant choices in the area for all times of the day plus a Ralphs grocery store just a block south down PCH. We loved Skandia bakery - great alternative to the crowded Starbucks located on PCH. Great location on the beach! Would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Exchanged our timeshare for Laguna Surf. Very pleased to get a beach front...#212 end unit. Spectacular views! Comfy bed, grill on own patio, easy walk to lots of shops & restaurants. Ralph's grocery store very close too. Wahoo Fish Tacos, White House and Big Fish all excellent dining choices! Also Laguna Surf had very nice, secure underground parking.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

"The Laguna Surf doesn't need a good review," some owners told us. So I won't reiterate how great the location is right on the beach in the heart of town, or how relaxing and peaceful the condo, or how friendly and attentive the staff. I'll just say my wife and I had a thoroughly romantic week walking along the sand and watching some amazing sunsets from our private balcony!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a timeshare resort and most of the weeks are assigned to owners. To rent from an owner you have to go to www.Lagunasurf.org and see what is available. All the even numbered units are Ocean View, all the odd number units are Village View. Most of the units have 1 bedroom, 2 bathrooms and a murphy bed in the living area, so they sleep 4. Each condo also has a BBQ on the balcony, a fireplace and free wi-fi. There is also an owners lounge with a TV, computer, free games and books and a nice shared observation deck and rooftop jacuzzi. The Ocean View units have a GREAT view, you are right there and can hear the waves. It is very beautiful and peaceful. The location in Laguna also can't be beat because you can walk to the grocery store, restaurants, shopping and main beach. The condo comes with one reserved spot and we just leave the car there and walk everywhere. We like to walk to the Ralphs down the street, get groceries and BBQ on the balcony and enjoy the view. It is the BEST view around and the best location. This resort was a great find!! We also found the management staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Even number condos are ocean view. The odd number condos face PCH The third floor (top floor) has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We've owned a timeshare at LS for over 15 years. We go every spring break and over the last few years the place has most certainly fallen under the timeshare guidelines! The rooms are small but the view definitely makes up for that. The hotel sits right on the sand, the location is perfect! Unfortunately, the management has lowered the standard of cleanliness! THE ROOM WAS DIRTY, UNSANITARY AND GROSS. MILDEW IN THE BATHROOMS, HAIR EVERYWHERE, SMELLY TOWELS, & TO MY SURPRISE...BLOOD ON THE TOILET COVER. The kitchen wasn't any better I'm sad to say. We checked out early and the manager didn't even ask WHY or how was your stay!
Simply SAD!


  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed there through a timeshare exchange. Nice place right on the beach. The back overlooks the ocean, you have to walk down 100 steps but worth it. The front overlooks the noisy street and a gas station so you have to keep the door closed. The kitchen was well equipped and you could walk to restaurants. There is gated parking, a nice game room with a computer, copier, and television. Laguna Beach charges $17 a night for a room tax. I would go back but would get a room that faces the back.

Room Tip: Rooms in back face the beach, the front rooms face the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I own a timeshare at the Laguna Surf as well as having rented daily where it is more charactistic of a hotel than a timeshare. It is important to get one of their ocean front rooms which are directly on the beach and provide a 180-degree+ ocean view. Patios are large and include a BarBQ. Rooms are 1 bedroom with a convertible bed in the living room, sleeping 4 maximum or
2 very comfortably. Location couldn't be better.
There is not daily maid service and the office hours are not 24/7. However, I recommend staying at the Laguna Surf as long as it is "ocean view" and not "village view".

Room Tip: Only ocean view. Don't book the Village view unless you are just looking for value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Surf

Address: 611 South Pacific Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Laguna Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Surf Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Surf Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.