We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Beachfront Condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Surf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laguna Surf
Save Saved
You added Laguna Surf to your Saves list
611 South Pacific Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Beachfront Condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

First let's be clear, it is vital that you make sure you are getting a unit facing the beach. Most of these units for prime weeks are already assigned to owners so you may need to rent from one of them. If so the resort can provides names with weeks available. We were in a third floor unit facing the beach and we were very pleased. Yes the rooms are a little dated and small but we spent most of our time on the beach or the deck. There were two bathrooms, one bedroom, a murphy bed (so you could sleep up to 4), and a small but fully functional kitchen. With a couple trips to Trader Joe's for some groceries and wine, the kitchen, and the large deck with a good sized gas grill, we were able to enjoy the majority of our breakfasts and lunches along with a few dinners on the deck watching the waves roll in. We were able to save at least $400 on restaurant and bar tabs and I've never eaten at a Laguna restaurant with a better view. Also the price for the week was about $1,000 less than we used to pay for a week at a beachfront hotel. As long as you are careful to make sure you are getting what you want, I don't see how anyone wouldn't be happy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orem, UT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Based on beautiful pictures posted on the internet, my wife and I secured a reservation at the Laguna Surf resort 4 months ahead, but when we arrived, we found that the resort had a “dark side.” Two-thirds of the condos overlook the ocean with private balconies that provide enjoyment of the beautiful ocean sights and sounds (they were the idyllic picture that drew us to the location). But we were given one of the other third, which are just across the hall and which we were told nearly always are given to those who aren’t owners and who didn’t reserve at least a year ahead. Our condo balcony door faced and was approximately 30 feet away from an extremely busy street (actually, State Highway 1, with a stop light and bus stop right outside our condo). We had been looking forward to a week of ocean peace and tranquility, but instead found ourselves bombarded with heavy traffic noise 24/7 (trucks, motorcycles, sirens, etc. continued all night every night); we felt like we were camping at a truck stop. Sleeping was very interrupted (or absent altogether), and the ambiance of our condo was the very opposite of peace and tranquility. The condo itself was very small, but livable, and would not have bothered us but for the noise. The internet portrayal of the resort gave no hint of the proximity of the street, and we felt very betrayed. In terms of the positives, we were situated right next to the beautiful Laguna Beach and nearby happenings, and the staff was courteous and helpful. So, we tried to stay out of our condo whenever possible, but with very little sleep and the horrible atmosphere in our condo preventing a daytime nap, we were completely exhausted by week’s end. We would have gone home much earlier except for the difficulty of arranging flights. Had we known of the possible conditions, we never would have reserved our vacation at the Laguna Surf, and we warn others to beware!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laguna Beach hotels

camarillo, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

We walked out on the big balcony overlooking the ocean and immediately felt relaxed. There is a full kitchen so you don't always have to eat out. There's even a bbq on the balconies. The best part is that you can hear the waves crashing all day and all night long!
The decor is a little outdated, but it was still very comfortable. What a wonderful, relaxing stay! Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — outdated decor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego Ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

We stay here every year. The views are spectacular (on the ocean side). I always start out feeling very stressed but within a few hours I am so relaxed. I love sitting on the balcony in the early morning drinking coffee, listening to the sound of the ocean and, more times than not, seeing dolphins playing in the waves. We generally only eat out once during our stay as it is so special to just eat on the balcony and enjoy the sunset or the view! Since the remodel, they look more modern. Sure it would be nice to have a pool, but the spa is really nice to relax in.

  • Liked — The spectacular veiw
  • Disliked — I honestly can't think of anything!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2007

We stayed at Laguna Surf last year and while the views from our room were incredible, the room was quite average. The Hotel is basically a timeshare resort that rents its surplus rooms. Most of the rooms are one bedroom wih 1 1/2 baths. There are full kitchens and the living room has a fireplace that appears to have been added in after the resort was built . The fp is in a useless place. The bedroom is quite small with just enough room in front of the bed for one person to pass. The restrooms are very dated and do not have a unique design. The Ktichen has newer appliances and is small. The resort does not have a restaurant or a pool. It does have a spa on the roof deck. However one gets the feeling that you are actually sitting on the roof when you are up there. There is absolutely no other amenities other than the spa on the roof. There are many restaurants nearby so the resorts lack of one does not really matter. Access to the beach is also a little cumbersome. There is a stair set with at least 100 steps. This is not a problem going down but coming back to your room can be quite tiring. We have decided not to rent at Laguna Surf again. The experience was not worth a return trip.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Surf

Address: 611 South Pacific Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Laguna Beach
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Laguna Surf Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Surf Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.