We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million Dollar Setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Laguna Riviera Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
825 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Montebello,CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Million Dollar Setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel was built in 1948, but it has been lovingly updated for all to enjoy. You can park your car in the lot and walk to all destinations in Laguna. There are no better views for enjoying the Pacific sunsets. Rooms have refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers, so you can have a million dollar view on a shoestring budget. Be sure to make reservations well in advance. Lawn and barbeques are available for guests as well as continental breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. You have discovered the sweet spot in Laguna Beach where price and location converge to create the best value. The Laguna Riviera was built for families and our goal has always been to provide an excellent value with no unexpected fees and charges like you will be hit with elsewhere. That is why we never charge for parking, internet, phone calls, beach chairs, towels, or umbrellas. On top of that there is a complimentary continental breakfast to get started in the morning and none of this resort fee nonsense we are seeing so much of as corporations buy up the local hotels.

You are correct that the hotel was opened in 1948 and recently updated. In 2009 we remodeled and re-furnished every room while keeping some of the 1950's charm of the classic tiles in the kitchens and the vaulted beamed ceilings of some of the rooms. While the major remodel was completed a few years ago we continue to monitor and update as needed. So some rooms will have wood flooring and even more recent upgrades.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    61
    26
    21
    15
See reviews for
67
80
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel we stay at every year. After Labor day the prices drop significantly. Every room with a surf view is amazing. Clean hotel Family owned. Leave the sliding glass door open all night and let the surf and cool air put you to sleep. You can walk to very nice shopping areas and restaurants. In the morning i get up and walk to the Orange cafe for some great coffee. Later walk to the Penguin cafe for a very inexpensive breakfast. Overall their is no better hotel on the beach in this area.

Room Tip: Surf view rooms only. Must book at least three months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Fall is my favorite time of year, the weather is warm, the beach is nice and the town is quiet. Plus as you mentioned the rates drop as well... ;-)

You hit on two iconic Laguna Beach eateries. Both Orange Inn and the Penguin have been here for decades are are frequented by many locals.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

So glad they remodeled and upgraded. Several years ago, this place was getting really dated, and run down, to the point that we were considering other places to stay.
Gladly, they have since done major remodeling and upgrades as it has become our favorite place to stay in Laguna Beach. We come here every year for our wedding anniversary.
Continental breakfast could be a little better in offering some hot items like eggs or bacon, but I still highly recommend this place. Would like to see wine & cheese offered in the evening, or at least coffee and cookies at the end of the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for the review and we are so glad you like the remodel. It was definitely needed and we are very happy with the way it turned out.

To your point we have been looking at increasing the offering at breakfast. It will require a lobby remodel, some permits and a new kitchen. The plans have been drawn up and we hope to be into that project with a year or two. We need a little time to recover from our last two major projects first.

We are also evaluating a wine and cheese sunset happy hour for the guests. If we move forward with that, we will implement it before next summer.

Thank you for the repeat patronage it is the highest honor we can receive. Happy Anniversary and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights in August. We wish we could have stayed longer. The room we had was 307, which had a large side window with a great view of the water and we even saw 2 amazing sunsets from the window. The window was larger and the view was better than I thought it would be. You can even open your window to feel the cool breeze in the evening. The room was newly renovated, clean and big enough for the two of us. The bed was comfy and the shower was also big enough w/good water pressure. There was also a chair and desk to utilize in the room along w/a nice flat screen TV. The room had a fridge and a burner to cook things, but we didn't utilize the burner/stove. We would have liked to have seen a microwave in the room as we had left overs from dining out and did not have a place to warm them up. We tried to get a late check out, because our train did not leave until 7:45 pm and we wanted to enjoy the beach one more day and come back and take showers. However, they were unable to make this happen. This was our first time ever to California/Laguna Beach and we simply fell in love w/the town, the beaches, the weather. A lot more than we ever imagined. In the short time we were there we met some really nice people who offered to pick us up from the airport and show us around next time we come to town. Laguna Riviera is walking distance to everything...great restaurants, shopping and there is a Ralphs grocery store a block away if you need to get groceries. Free trolley in the summer, which was nice. This is really a beautiful town... a beautiful view around every corner w/perfect weather! Being from Texas we welcomed the cool August nights -- compared to the 100+ temps and humidity we have back home. We will definitely be back next year. We will either stay at Laguna Riviera again, or the Pacific Edge. I also would like to add Laguna Riviera went over and beyond and mailed back a knife my husband left in the room free of charge. I thought that was pretty awesome and speaks volumes about their hotel. Thanks for the hospitaltiy and a great stay at Laguna Riviera!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for the very complete review. It is always appreciated when someone takes the time to share their positive experiences at the Laguna Riviera.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the property and the town. Laguna Beach is an amazing place and the Riviera is the last of the original family owned properties with our family heritage going back now for 5 generations of Laguna Beach residents. All rooms should have a microwave and the staff has already been alerted to make sure the one missing from 307 is replaced. When possible we allow late check outs sometimes as late as 2:00pm without a surcharge. Unfortunately when the rooms are booked a late check out is not possible and we have been very full even coming off of the summer season.

We look forward to your next visit to Laguna Beach and your stay at the Laguna Riviera.

Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The remodeled Laguna Riviera is much improved from the pre-renovation. A very relaxing setting overlooking the Pacific right on the beach. As all beachfront properties, summer rates are pricey and the rooms are rather on the small side, but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Staff was very accommodating and there was even a free continental breakfast! If you can't find what you are looking for at Pacific Edge, for a comparable price, I would give this hotel a look. You can select your room from their website which means you know exactly what you will get upon arrival.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We are also very happy with the renovation and we are continuing to make more improvements all the time.

I am surprised you found the room to be small. We only have 2 that I would classify as small so perhaps you had one of those. Our rooms are actually larger than the national average. Our average room is over 400 square feet not including any deck, patio, or balcony space.

I'm glad you enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast. When combined with free parking, free internet, and no resort fees, like they have at the Pacific Edge hotel you mentioned, you quickly find that we have the best ocean front rates in town.

Thanks again & Happy Travels,

-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My family stays here every summer and this year didn't disappoint. We stayed in room 504 for a few days and loved it. We have already booked 2 more stays here. My only complaint is that the wifi was spotty but that is certainly not a deal breaker. This year we utilized the free city shuttle and there is a stop right in front of the hotel!! Thanks again Laguna Riveria for an amazing stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at the Laguna Riviera. Our repeat guests are special to us and we enjoying seeing everyone year after year. It is a tradition started by my grand father when he opened in 1948 to create a home away from home for families to enjoy their summer vacation together.

The complimentary WiFi is undergoing and upgrade to improve consistent coverage. If anyone ever has an issue you can always get a strong signal in the lobby or use our complimentary hardwired computer kiosk.

The free shuttles in the summer are a fantastic way to get around, see the city, avoid the traffic, and daunting task of finding parking. Some people will just hop on at the stop right in front of the Laguna Riviera an ride a full round trip just to relax, people watch, and enjoy a free tour of the city.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you and the family next year.


Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My family of 5 (3 young kids) stayed here for a weekend. We live in Southern California and Laguna Beach is one of my favorite beach towns. Everything is within walking distance and it has such a great vibe. Laguna Riviera is right in the heart of everything and it is on a nice beach. I think for the price, you cannot do much better.

We stayed in room 505 and it was very large. We had a full kitchen as well as a bedroom with a queen bed and a queen murphy bed in the living room. They gave us a crib to use for our toddler. The beds were really comfortable. They list 505 as having a "private" patio but I think that is a stretch. It was fine but it was really a shared patio with separate space for the 3 rooms off that area. We used it for breakfast and sat out there in the evening as well.

The pool was fun for the kids and they have a little game room off to the side and that was fun (ping pong, air hockey, ect). The pool was a good temperature and the hot tub was nice (especially because it was unseasonably cool during our stay). We enjoyed the beach and the hotel gives you chairs, umbrella and towels to use.

There are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance and if you want to go a little further Laguna has a free trolley that goes up and down Coast Hwy. We ate breakfast at the hotel and the muffins they provide are good. The coffee was also good and my kids liked all the cereal choices.

I guess my only "complaint" about this hotel is the lack of service. We really got no explanation of anything and felt like we were on our own to figure things out. At check in, we were handed the keys and that's it. It was more of a "motel" type experience in that regard. Having said that, we would like to stay here again next summer because the value and location are really great. I don't know if I would recommend it in the summer for people without kids. There were lots of kids (which was great for ours) but I imagine when school starts then it is much quieter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your patronage and review. I am glad to hear that room 505 met your needs and you found the new ventilated memory foam mattresses comfortable. We have received several requests on where to buy them which is always a good sign.

The rooms at the Laguna Riviera on average are quite large. Your room not including the deck space is almost 900 square feet and the average for rooms on the 5th level is 400 square feet. A recent report by a leading hotel analysis company reported that hotel rooms in the U.S. average 170 square feet while our smallest room is 212 sq ft and we average about 400 sq ft per room not including deck or patio area. A portion of deck space is reserved exclusively for this room but we have not partitioned them yet so it is open to the neighbors. We have found many times friends will rent adjoining rooms and appreciate having the space connected, but also know that others would prefer to have it be more private, so we are looking into portable or curtain partitions so that it can easily convert to accommodate both needs.

Your observations regarding location and price are what make the Laguna Riviera stand out when compared to many properties. Our price for what you get is the best value in town with no hidden charges for parking, internet, or a resort fee and on top of it you get free continental breakfast, beach chairs and umbrellas. The location is on arguably the best beach in town and close enough to downtown to walk but just far enough away to not have all the activity out your front door.

I will discuss your comment regarding explanations of services upon check in. The desk staff has a list of key point to share with all new guests and I suspect they may have been busy and skipped that part. Rest assured that if you ask the desk staff about any events in town, where to eat or how to get there you will receive prompt and courteous assistance.

Summer time is family time at the Laguna Riviera and has been our hallmark for decades. We find that once school is back in session everything quiets own and the couples and more mature guests come and enjoy the amazing fall and spring seasons with us and some even make the Laguna Riviera home for the winter occupying one of our full kitchen units for 2-3 months at a time.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for choosing the Laguna Riviera.


Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Inn At Laguna Beach
Inn At Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Laguna Cliffs Inn
Laguna Cliffs Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
0.9 mi away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Address: 825 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax year-round at this beach resort, set in tropical gardens terraced to the ocean's edge. Enjoy the ocean surf and spectacular views in a quiet setting. Relax in our heated sauna, indoor salt-water pool and Jacuzzi. Enjoy a Free continental breakfast in the cozy lounge and complementary Internet property wide. Parking is free and we are located close to downtown in world famous Laguna Beach. Come stay with us, this hide-a-way is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Laguna Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Riviera Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.