We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found our new favorite spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Laguna Riviera Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
825 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Found our new favorite spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were not sure where we'd end up staying while on a one week road trip from LA to San Diego (Mar.9-16/13) Our first night was booked in advance in Huntington Beach from there we were planning to stay a night here and there. Out of curiosity we popped into the Riviera while doing a walk around Laguna. Alex allowed us to see a couple of the available rooms ... who could resist the beach front view from this great spot. We booked it for 2 nights then planned to drive further south however after our 2 glorious days we couldn't bring ourselves to leave so we booked the rest of our stay here albeit in a different room and just did day trips...one hr or so to LA one hr or so to San Diego.
Yes there was a bit of construction going on the beach front of the Riviera but we were not in our rooms all day so it wasn't bothersome. Could NOT hear any street noise either ... if there was it was drowned out by the beautiful sound of the crashing waves!!! I loved all the hand paintings on the exterior walls. These two Canadians are so looking forward to our next stay! Thanks Alex for being helpful and informative.

Room Tip: by the looks of things all the rooms are different ... third floor balconies were smaller but a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and could not ask for a higher compliment than having you modify your plans so you could stay with us longer.

The construction mentioned is all but completed on the hotel side of the property and we are anxious to get started on the landscaping to bring the garden back to our garden pathway to the beach.

Thanks again and we hope to see you next time your travels bring you to Laguna.


Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    62
    26
    22
    15
See reviews for
70
81
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Clean, cozy, lovely view, beautiful view, friendly staff...

My boyfriend and I came here for a romantic night to ourselves. It was such a wonderful surprise to come into our room (which included a private balcony overlooking the ocean: ROOM 203). The room included a flat screen t.v., dishes, a stove, a microwave, coffee maker, a big beautiful comfy bed, and a lovely bathroom. Everything was clean and looked new. My boyfriend and I even commented on how nice the crown molding was.

Laguna Riviera is walking distance from Ralph's grocery store and some great bars/restaurants...didn't even have to use our car. It was perfect.

I also attached a couple of photos. My boyfriend and I are certain that the sunset we saw that night was one of the most beautiful things we had ever seen. It was breath-taking.

We left the windows open all night and feel asleep to the sounds of the ocean. It was really fantastic. The next morning, we took a dip in the pool and jacuzzi. The hot tub is GREAT!!!! My boyfriend hopped in the pool and said it was awesome.

We didn't want to leave!!! Definitely looking forward to coming back int he near future, especially when the new ramp to the beach is finished!

Room Tip: There is construction going on, but it is very quiet. Our room was located right above the construct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for the great review and those are a couple of beautiful pictures you posted. They could be used on our post cards. No matter how many amazing sunset we see at the hotel each one is captivating and feels like a new experience. They never get old.

I'm glad you enjoyed your room, and the the remodel. We really focused on keeping the exterior old school an very much with the beach cottage vibe, while making the interiors well appointed and comfortable without going over the top. The target was a very relaxing zen atmosphere and it sounds like we hit the mark.

The ramp to the beach is scheduled to re-open within a couple of weeks once the railings are in place to ensure guest safety. The construction, for the most part, has moved over the the beach house side of the property and generates very little noise.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I stay here every summer for a few days so when I was looking for a place to take my boyfriend for a birthday surprise, Laguna Riviera was my first thought! We stayed in 201(best room in the house) for two nights and we absolutely LOVED it. The winter rates made our stay a little nicer too. I have already booked our room for the summer! Thanks for another wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review and I'm so glad to hear you and your boyfriend had a great time. Room 201 is truly unique and romantic with amazing ocean views in north, south, and straight out to Catalina island. I hope you had a chance to enjoy your private patio for morning coffee or a sunset glass of wine.

We look forward to your stay with us this summer.

Happy New Year! &
Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days (December 2012) and it was a great experience. We are very picky about hotels and while this was not a very fancy place...it was clean, the staff was friendly and VERY helpful. I accidentally dropped my room key in the trash can and when the maintenance person saw me starting to look into the trash receptacle he came right over to help and then insisted that he do it for me. The view is spectacular and the location is fantastic. If you are snobbish and looking for an upscale hotel at premium prices, this place is NOT for you. However, if you are a family looking for a clean, reasonably priced place in a great location and that employees friendly, down to earth people...then you must stay here! When we get back to Laguna (and God knows that we would love to) then this is the place that we will stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 402.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience and the praise of our staff. I will make sure they are aware that their actions were so well received. It means a lot.

While our location is world class, the Riviera is certainly not the Montage but we do have some very nice rooms. Your room 402 is a nice room and we have others that are more upscale. Since the property was built in three phases over many years we have 41 rooms and they are all different and unique. It is always fun to watch repeat guests try different rooms until they find a favorite that they return to year after year.

Happy Holidays and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Thanks again,


Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were very disappointed with this holiday experience. The location we couldn't fault - right on the beach. Exactly how it was depicted in the pictures on the website. HOWEVER what wasn't made clear when we booked was the extensive site reconstruction work - effectively the lower half of the resort was a building site. Balconies were very dusty and the noise of machinery did not go down well when trying to sunbathe. The duty manager acknowledged this and offered to clean our balcony. He then offered us an alternative room - the first we rejected but took the second one. We took the second option 'the suite' which was dated and adequate at best. It certainly needs some TLC. Overall not a holiday experience we would want to repeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I agree that everyone needs to be informed, and am sorry this guest was dissapointed by our slope renovation. We have done everything we can to well publicize the repair work. It has been underway since the beginning of the year.

After 7-1/2 years of engineering, design and challenging city roadblocks we finally received permission to stabilize the front slope and protect the hotels buildings. We have been very active making this known to all. If you book online you must acknowledge that you have read the construction notice prior to booking. The front page of our website states very simply and clearly that the slope is under construction, even on TripAdvisor we have a notice that we are under repair with a detailed description available, and when you call to book, the front office makes sure to deliver the message.

Fortunately we are very close to completion and once done a new pathway and landscaping will be installed. Until that happens guests must reach the beach by using the public access adjacent to the property. From many rooms it is the same or a shorter distance and in no case does it increase the walk by more than a minute.

Yes the pathway to the beach is a great convenience and we regret that these repairs became necessary to keep the property safe, but the side access serves guest well to reach the sand. The pathway will soon be reopened and when it is, updates will be posted on our website.

Once the repairs are completed we hope you will give us another try and perhaps an updated review.


Happy travels,


Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I found this hotel from reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. I loved the location since it is walking distance to many restaurants, not to mention it is right on the beach! The view was awesome and not too crowded with the summer crowd. Alex at the front desk was very accommodating. Thanks for the great customer service! I am a satisfied customer who will return again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is what the vast majority of our guest feel and I appreciate that you have taken the time to post to TripAdvisor. I'll pass along your compliments to Alex (he lives to deliver great service) and we all look forward to your next stay with us.

Thanks again &
Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband, son and i were scheduled to stay a Laguna Riviera Beach Resort for 3 nights as we were in the area for a wedding. The moment that we arrived we were really disappointed. The room had a very bad smell of mold and some other disgusting smell. There was no air conditioning and the temps were very warm. The noise from PCH kept us up most of the night along with a group of young people on the floor above us who partied all night. The carpet was dirty and there were no parking spaces left so we had to park out on the street. The night attendant was very nice and helpful, but the morning guy was sleeping at 8:30am in the morning and was a bit grouchy. They told us that the path to the beach would definitely be open when we made our reservations, but it was still closed. The location is great to all of the nice restaurants and the main beach in laguna. You can walk to almost every place. We ended up moving to the Holiday Inn just down the street and were in heaven for the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. I wish you had asked for another room if you were not happy with the one you booked. I would like to know which room you had because we have no record of any odor issues in any of the rooms.

With regards to the noise from coast highway. All rooms have double pane glass and only 2 of our rooms face coast highway. These 2 rooms are on the top floor above our office. While we rarely have comments on the street noise there are occasional emergency vehicle that go by which can be heard everywhere in town.

It is unfortunate that the family above your room was creating noise. I wish you had contacted the front desk. We are always available and happy to interven and quiet any guests that are being disruptive.

With regards to the A/C our website clearly states what rooms do and do not have A/C and we have several portable units that are brought to your room upon request.

Our website also clearly states the current status of our slope repair and beach access pathway. As I write this it still shows the path is closed. as it has since the end of January. Unfortunately the contractor is behind schedule. Fortunately, it is just as easy and the same distance if not a bit shorter to simply access the beach via the side street.

I see from your only other review on TripAdvisor that you stayed across the street from us at the Holiday Inn on coast highway and had a great time. Even though they are not on the beach, Im glad they met your needs, and that you were able to still enjoy Laguna. I'm sorry we dropped the ball and were unable to earn your business.


Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Address: 825 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax year-round at this beach resort, set in tropical gardens terraced to the ocean's edge. Enjoy the ocean surf and spectacular views in a quiet setting. Relax in our heated sauna, indoor salt-water pool and Jacuzzi. Enjoy a Free continental breakfast in the cozy lounge and complementary Internet property wide. Parking is free and we are located close to downtown in world famous Laguna Beach. Come stay with us, this hide-a-way is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Laguna Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Riviera Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.