We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Laguna Riviera Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laguna Riviera Beach Resort
825 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week. Our group had 2 different rooms, an ocean view and surf view. The view and sounds of ocean day and night were awesome in the surf view room. The ocean view rooms do have ocean views and sounds of ocean during the day, but when doors are closed and locked at night you can't hear the ocean. So if hearing the ocean at night is important you will have to pay for surf view.
The main grilling area with chairs and tables is really nice so no matter which room you have, you can grill and hang out ocean front. We grilled 3 of the 4 nights we stayed and loved eating dinner and watching the sunset. We even saw dolphins 2 of the nights. We ate their breakfast 3 of the mornings and there is fresh fruit, hot and cold cereal, muffins , coffee and juice. It really saves
money having the breakfast, free Internet ( which worked great) and free parking. We did go to breakfast at Beachcomber Cafe in Crystal Cove one morning and really enjoyed it.
All the employees were very friendly and helpful! You can't beat the value of location and amenities they offer here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for the fine review and enjoying one of the favorite features of the property. It is such a special moment when you can sit down watching the last rays of the sunset, while watching passing dolphins and taking that first bit of freshly grilled fish or steak, add family and friends and you have that perfect moment.

At the Laguna Riviera our goal is to offer the best value in town when comparing price, location, amenities and service and we are glad to have hit this mark for you. The price of the room covers everything you could need, including parking, high speed internet access, phone service, continental breakfast, beach towels, chairs & umbrellas and absolutely none of the resort fees we are starting to see everywhere.

Thanks again, the staff and I look forward to your next stay with us.


Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    62
    26
    22
    15
See reviews for
69
81
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Sitting on the deck listening to waves crash is the best!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
We are very glad you enjoyed your vacation at the Laguna Riviera and the views and crashing waves were a highlight. It is certainly easy to sit and just take in the views for hours, spotting for dolphins, and whales, while watching the surfers and passersby.

The ambiance and location of the Laguna Riviera provides for a truly relaxing vacation and we look forward to your next visit to Laguna Beach and the Laguna Riviera.


Happy travels,


-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I read all the reviews and decided on this place because of all the people that keep coming back
year after year. It was very important to me to have a fabulous beach/ocean view and this place has it for sure. I was traveling by myself and felt very safe the whole time; I even left the door open to the room while I took a nap. Never have done that before! The room was nice and clean and nicely refurbished. The staff was friendly and helpful and welcoming. I was happy that I chose the Laguna Riviera for my LB vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear you had a great experience and that the Riviera met your expectations. We look forward to you becoming one of our regulars and look forward to your next stay.

Happy travels,

-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is a great place for a low key, beach-oriented escape from everyday life. Go to the Surf and Sand or Montage if you crave Hollywood flash...this is an old school beach hotel with the luxury of an indoor pool for those clammy days/evenings with the "marine layer" hiding the sun. A short walk to Forest Ave (downtown) and several excellent restaurants and almost too many shops, yet on the beach with great views of Thalia Street - a hard core surfing spot.

Room Tip: Rooms with white water view command a justifiable premium...pretend you just won PowerBall and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for the review and we are happy to hear you enjoy what the Riviera is all about. Its about sharing with our guests the authentic Laguna Beach experience.

There is no flash nor pomp and circumstance, we are about the beach life. From our family to yours we keep the experience fresh and relaxed where you can lounge on, or looking at, the beach all day. You can stroll downtown and enjoy the many shops and fine restaurants or just kick back poolside on a cool day and read a new book.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy travels,

-Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel every summer since 2007. They have since renovated the rooms and they are much nicer, but we love the quiet feel of this beachy hotel. This time we stayed in the Bungalo and it was very nice with a beautiful view. This hotel is a hidden gem. Doesn't look that great from the outside but we love it. You can always see dolphins in the water, hear the waves from your room, it's clean and continental breakfast is good. It's also convent to all restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Repeat stays are the highest compliment we can earn. Thank you for being our guest for the last six years and appreciating the constant improvements to the property. You have joined the ranks of honored repeat guests, some going back as far as 50 years now.

The Laguna Riviera strives to provide affordable, comfortable, and relaxing ocean front vacations. With the Pacific Ocean and Laguna Beach as the back drop the location takes care of itself. Seeing dolphins, whales and more from the shore used to be a rare occasion and now it is almost a daily occurrence. Just the other day we witnessed 12 whales migrating north swimming in a single column. While that is quite an uncommon sight it was certainly awe inspiring.

I'm glad you enjoyed our classic 1930's beach bungalow. We have strived to keep it as original as possible while adding all the modern amenities. This is evidenced by the original glass gas lamps on the wall that have been converted to electricity. When the downstairs, two lower terraced patios, and private stairs to the beach are re-opened later this year it will be a spectacular venue for that perfect family reunion, special birthday or intimate wedding, and I look forward to you seeing it on your next visit.

Thanks again for sharing your experience.


Happy travels,


Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

It took a TON of searching for a hotel somewhere between San Diego and LA that would be right on the beach, with a suite, and at a reasonable cost -- Laguna Riviera met all 3, and I fell asleep to the sound of the Pacific crashing just outside the windows! Sure, this is no luxury haven -- the (included) breakfast is minimal, the hotel exterior is motel-y, and the sound partitions could be better. But who cares, when we have an apartment-sized suite overlooking the lovely, luxuriant bbq area, palm trees and the ocean! Plus, the rooms are newly done is excellent, minimalistic style; the free wi-fi is great; the concierge recommended a truly outstanding restaurant a couple of blocks away with excellent seafood at bar prices; the murals that cover the property are a lot of fun to look at; and the town itself is lively and pretty. And again, this is apparently one of a handful of hotels right on the beach, with ocean views from the room and just steps to the sand. Can't beat that combination, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
We are so please that your research paid off and you discovered that the Laguna Riviera met all your needs. You make a great observation in that most hotels, while having "beachy" names, are not actually on the beach. Very few between San Diego and Los Angeles are properties actually touching the sand as we do.

Being established in 1948 the Laguna Riviera is indeed a classic beach property with an old school vibe on the exterior that is contrasted with a lovely interior remodel. The fact it has never changed hands or been sold to a conglomerate has kept the rates reasonable and the staff local and knowledgeable. We pride ourselves on being relaxed and family friendly so we don't go for pretense, rather we settle for a comfortable zen approach striving to make everyone comfortable and feeling at home.

Laguna has some fantastic world class restaurants and several hidden gems. Our staff is here to understand what you are looking for and give you the best recommendations possible. It's great to hear they directed you to a spot that delivered what you were looking for.

We look forward to your return to the Laguna Riviera and thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us.


Happy travels,

Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our 3rd visit. We come from noisy, dirty London so this place is Paradise. We like room 507, with its kitchenette and breath taking views. This was the first year we'd seen a pod of dolphins swimming and jumping. I got quite a tan from the sea wind as I read my book and drank white wine on the terrace. We ate at The Watermark - good but pricey. I watched The Oscars on TV, but got a little distracted as the noise of waves kept lulling me into a snooze. Thank you to all the team and see you in 2013.

Room Tip: I like 507.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fun_Beach-Vacation, Owner at Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for the positive review. You came at the right time of year to see both dolphins and whales. However the whales are more difficult to spot as they surface for just a short time then stay under for quite a while. The dolphins you can now see year round, with some patience and a sharp eye. The upper patio is a great vantage point for scanning the waters.

The vantage point from your deck in front of suite 507 is an even better location to spot from because of the elevation.

We are honored to be part of your vacation and happy to provide an experience to remember. And, while I can’t promise the waves will be any quieter, we look forward to your stay in 2013.


Happy travels,


Kort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Riviera Beach Resort

Address: 825 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax year-round at this beach resort, set in tropical gardens terraced to the ocean's edge. Enjoy the ocean surf and spectacular views in a quiet setting. Relax in our heated sauna, indoor salt-water pool and Jacuzzi. Enjoy a Free continental breakfast in the cozy lounge and complementary Internet property wide. Parking is free and we are located close to downtown in world famous Laguna Beach. Come stay with us, this hide-a-way is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Laguna Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Riviera Beach Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Riviera Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.