We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.K. food, poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White House Restaurant

White House Restaurant
340 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2112
949-494-8088
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 154 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“O.K. food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The food here is alright, about the same as an Applebee's. We should have known by how empty the place was at dinner time that this was not the best choice. The hostess was nowhere to be found for several minutes and then after we were seated there was loud arguing in the kitchen. The music playing was 90s rock which didn't fit the feel of the place, and then at the end of the meal our server gave us the check without asking if we wanted dessert and told US that WE were in a hurry, as if she was telling us it would be a good idea to leave before the argument in the kitchen turned into a Soprano's scene. Very awkward and weird!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    23
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fun Evening of Dinner and Dancing in Laguna Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had a Groupon so I thought I'd give it a try. Been by the restaurant many times through the years, but never bothered to stop in until now. Was pleasantly surprised! Outdoor seating was very nice, right next to the bustling PCH and sidewalk full of people. The Bombay Sapphire was very well made, with a generous pour of Sapphire gin. My girlfriend's Cosmopolitan was also very tasty.

As for the food, is was very good. The server brings a basket of mixed breads to your table along with soft butter that easily spreads across each slice. Our Greek salad was different than what I'm used to, but it was good. They use a chopped celery base and on top of that goes the tomatoes, cucumbers, Kalamata olives and feta cheese. Four slices of Pita bread top off this dish.

We each had Lagunaise for our entrees. Large portions and deiicious. Good sized shrimp & chunks of chicken breast sautéed with mushrooms, artichoke hearts, sun-dried tomatoes & fresh basil. Served in a light cream sauce over angel hair pasta. Yum.

Good service and when you eat there you get into the adjacent bar without having to pay a cover charge! We were there on a Saturday night and they have an excellent '80's house band that rocks the very crowded bar and dance floor.

A very fun evening out and we'll be back I'm sure

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“4 the tourist but still good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

the menu has A lot of good items to pick from. Yes, there will be tourists but most of them will be happy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Dance,Dance,Dance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The food price is really low and food is just average. But if u have dinner you can move over to the bar side without paying a cover! The bar is the fun part good drinks and a DJ fun place to go Dancing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place Near Hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is centrally located in Laguna Beach with a variety of food to choose from. I had the taco's while my GF had the chicken ceaser salad and both were very good. They also bring out bread..The price was pretty good most plates were under 12 bucks for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White House Restaurant also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to White House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.