We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday brunch on the patio-excellent experience all around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White House Restaurant

White House Restaurant
340 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2112
949-494-8088
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 150 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch on the patio-excellent experience all around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The food, service and ambience were perfect for Sunday brunch. My husband and I both loved our food. The special chicken enchilada omelette for Cinco de Mayo was flavorful and fresh. The barbecued chicken salad was excellent as well. Be prepared-portion sizes are huge! We could have easily split either entree and the sides that came with them. Prices were very reasonable for the freshness, entree size and service! Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    21
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
567 reviews 567 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
523 helpful votes 523 helpful votes
“Average food served in above average, friendly surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The White House has been serving customers in Laguna Beach for decades, and it is popular with locals. We have only eaten there three times in the last 20 years, and each time, the food and service have been between average and very good--not bad, but not enough to keep us coming back. We feel that locals like it because it is not crowded, the food is moderately priced, and the servers are friendly. The kitchen provides a good feed of good-sized portions. So we would recommend it, not for the quality of its cuisine, but for quiet surroundings during lunch time, friendly service, and a nice al-fresco experience at the few tables by the sidewalk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California, United States
1 review
“caesar salad & cockroaches”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went there for a nice romantic dinner on a Sunday night. We got there at about 8pm and were surprised by how empty it was. We were the only ones having dinner and there were about 4 people in the bar. We had heard the live music started early on Sunday night and we wanted to have a nice dinner then maybe enjoy the music and dance a bit.
We started off with a caesar salad and to our dismay as we tossed the salad a big cockroach came squirming out and ran across the table. Our main course was an italian dish which tasted a bit out of the can. The whole scene was seedy and to top it off the sound system for the live music was really bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in the middle of a beach town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good food, changing specials, good value from fish to beef. Sit on the patio and watch the walkers. Enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the White House.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Service, quality and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We absolutely loved our meal at this place. We started with Seared Ahi Tacos, fantastic! (I could eat them all day) I had the Pasta Lagunaise (something like that) with shrimp and chicken, this was amazing as well. I highly recommend this spot on PCH, plus they had really good live music. Our server Travis took excellent care of us.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White House Restaurant also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to White House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.