We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, Creative and Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar

230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar
230 Forest Ave, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2114
949-494-2545
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 151 restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, Asian, Seafood, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: PCH
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh, Creative and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This small hub of a restaurant is a gourmand's delight. We eat here just about everytime we get over to the coast from the desert. Due to its popularity and size, we now try to eat a bit earlier or a bit later and that always works out best for us. The calamari appetizer is one of the best we have ever eaten (including southern Italy); it is lightly coated and quickly deep fried so that it is never greasy or rubbery. The Frutti di Mare entree is filled with the freshest local seafood (and lots of it) along with a marinara sauce that is neither too spicy nor too bland and is served over al dente linguine. The seared seabass was perfectly cooked and had the most flavorful sauce. Martinis are crisp and wine list is extensive. Service is excellent and with a smile. Best to make a reservation as the restaurant gets crowded quickly, especially in summer. Although the space is small, the food is big in flavor and freshness. A definite must stop and eat for foodies.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    164
    66
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San diego, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sibling Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The 230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar was our favorite place we ate on our Sibling Reunion of five. Easy walking distance from our hotel the Inn at Laguna Beach, close to Coast Hwy and main beach. Forest Avenue is the main street for shopping. Service was excellent and the restaurant a little quieter than some other restaurants we ate at. Nice atmosphere with friendly waiters. Advise reservations. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food is great there, really enjoyed or mid week dinner. We went there on the later side which was certainly a good idea. The place has some SOHO vibe to it (positive but pretty tight seating). Service was good. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a fantastic restaurant. The menu was really varied. A lovely relaxed and informal setting. We ate here on the last night of our short stay in Laguna and are really glad that we took the trouble to book as it was heaving! Great service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Fabulous food--the gazpacho is the BEST! The most outstanding server EVER! Great location! It is now my FAVORITE!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County

Been to 230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 230 Forest Avenue Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.