We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap/good food with a great view in Laguna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of Big Fish

House of Big Fish
540 South Coast Highway Suite 200, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
949-715-4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
House of Big Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 154 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Legion
Description: House of BIG FISH and Ice Cold Beer – the name says it all. This seafood savvy neighborhood hotspot boasts an upbeat atmosphere and a straightforward menu of fresh fish perfectly paired with one of the best ice cold beer selections in town. From the clean, vibrant interior to the relaxing ocean views of the wraparound dining patio, BIG FISH is uniquely Laguna Beach.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Cheap/good food with a great view in Laguna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The House of Big Fish really fills a need for Laguna Beach. The food is tasty and reasonably priced for the area. If you get the right seats, the views can be great. When you are looking for good bar food and simply prepared fish, you could do far worse that the House of Big Fish!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    82
    26
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Upgraded since my last visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It's been over a year since our last visit to Big Fish, but it was always a favorite so we ventured back on Mother's Day for lunch. (We had reservations, which were promptly honored; plus we had a table with an ocean view. A huge reason for going there!) There's been some changes to the interior (some booths taken out in favor of tables; and it seems the color is lighter), the menu has changed (less variety and more high-end items), and the prices increased (of course). Service was good, and food is good - but the increase in price will keep us from putting this back on our regular rotation. This is now a "special occasion" destination for us.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“NIce place in downtown Laguna Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a nice restaurant on the second level that has some great food and beers. Their fish tacos were not bad with a great craft beer!!

You can go and enjoy this place for lunch or dinner!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance CA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Little Annoyed and Disappointed (Best for Younger Crowd)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The bad: Extremely noisy… had difficulty even talking to the waitress. This appears to be by design: hard surface floors, walls, glass, ceiling magnifies and reflects sounds everywhere. They probably call it "high energy". The menus were hard to read because of small fonts and somewhat low lighting. That, and somewhat unusual terminology for the sides, made it very difficult to order. The food portions were small.
The better: Visually attractive interior, good daytime view. Helpful waitress. The food was nicely prepared and tasted good. Lower entree prices mitigated the small portions. I wish I had ordered a salad, then the small portion sizes would have been OK. We did not order any bar goods, but they have a great emphasis on that portion of the restaurant.
But after having eaten at four excellent or very good restaurants in a row this week, this one definitely suffers by comparison. I likely will not return. We are older people; and this scene is not my style.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“little lacey eatin her some little octypus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

my old lady and i flew one of them flying birds to go see our next of kin. they moved out to the western world here a few months ago. we ate at this here fish place. the ole lady had some fish stuff that wasnt fried. she seemed to like it. i was told that fish tacos was such a thing so i saddled up for some of them. then i had a beer too. the oddest golly darn thing was my little niece girl eating some tiny looking octypus looking thing. she liked it though and this ole dog gave it a whorl. i probably wont be back but the place was pretty cool

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Big Fish also viewed

 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to House of Big Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Big Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.