We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Brothers

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Brothers
238 Laguna Ave, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2120
949-376-9979
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 154 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went there many times and always had excellent food. Looking for impeccable wait staff? Go to Montage. Looking for great food? Go to Thai Brothers. It's that, simple.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    8
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worse Than Frozen Dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was on my way to chinese when I decided to give Thai Bro another chance....a couple of years ago it was a big disappointment...I had Orange chicken and rice.....simple yet simply AWFUL.....frozen tastless chicken bits.....covered in a terrible orange goo that I tried for a few bites to like then decided that this was worse that UA flite food....worse than any frozen dinner ..so I picked at the chicken....and ate the rice....also not well cooked.....BUT the Thai beer was OK....Paid up and left deciding two strikes is enuf for me.....not going back....Too many good restaurants nearby with fresh ingredients/well prepared/and priced right in cleaner conditions.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrible service, decent food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We arrived for a late dinner to find the place packed. I took that as a good sign. We spoke to a gentleman about the wait, and he told us approximately 30 minutes, so we put our name and number down and went or a stroll.

We returned in 30 minutes and waited for a table to become available: no issues with that. About 10 minutes later, a few tables become available. However, it takes another 20 minutes before they seat us. The tables (over half of the restaurant) just sat there empty while a few parties just stood around waiting in amazement. To this moment I still can't understand why we weren't seated.

Anyway, right about the time I was going to lose my temper, we were seated and drink orders taken. Apps were brought out quickly, and the meal shortly afterwards. judging from the speed of the kitchen, I can't imagine they were the holdup in our being seated.

The calamari was probably the worst I've had: thick tempura batter and sweet. The meals were decent. They had a nice flavour, just not a strong enough flavour. Portion size was great, except for the rice.

I believe the staff means well, they could just use some formal hospitality training (as is common with "mom & pop" restaurants).

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best thai in Laguna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

A little family owned restaurant with nice atmosphere and fresh food. Fantastic pineapple Pad Thai and curries... They were also really flexible in preparing the dishes with our specific needs. Will definitely be back! The best Thai in Laguna!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average Thai in Laguna Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

While I can say that I have never had a bad meal here, I can also say that this place has never overly impressed me either. If you are looking for quaint and low-key atmosphere, this place works. I would rate the food a "B" and the service typical for a family-owned Thai food restaurant.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Brothers also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Thai Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Brothers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.