We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 - Villa Roma
8 - Villa Roma
8 - Villa Roma
Laguna Beach
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cococat20...
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I, my spouse, my son and his partner stayed in the Villa Roma for a week in February. This is the third time that we have rented this accomodation. There are a number of units at the Retreat at Laguna but this one is on the top floor, at the front, with no impediments to a fabulous view. The location is incredible. From our window we could see the dolphins playing in the water, the pelicans flying overhead and of course, the surfers challenging the waves below. At night with the windows slightly ajar, even in February, we could hear the waves. There is a large patio area adjacent to this particular villa which is communal but large enough for everyone to enjoy. The furnishings there are attractive and comfortable. A 5 minute walk will take you to a lovely outdoor cafe overlooking the ocean at the Laguna Village and a 20 minute walk will take you to Las Brisas a restaurant perched high on a hill overlooking the ocean. It is a great vantage point to witness memorable sunsets and to enjoy great margueritas! We would also highly recommend the tiny Orange Inn which is a family run business and has apparently been just around the corner since 1931. The food is delicious, the prices are reasonable and the staff are wonderful. From the Villa Roma it is only a 5 minute walk into the centre of Laguna. The reservation process was quick and easy. We arrived at about 5:30pm on a Saturday and while there was no staff present, the Villa Roma was open and ready to receive us.
As much as we enjoyed our stay, there were some minor issues that we encountered. The area for parking is very small and can result in some considerable congestion. Beware if you have a larger vehicle. We found this time that the unit could use a fresh coat of paint, especially in the bathroom. The drawer of the sidetable in the bedroom was broken, although with some manipulation it did close. As well the fireplace screen was broken when we arrived. All of this could easily be addressed. While very helpful when approached, staff was not always on site during the day to answer any questions. Notwithstanding these minor concerns we would certainly recommend Villa Roma.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and the tranquility.
Liked least: The parking congestion and the bathroom which needs some upgrading.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tsk777
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Awesome Villa Roma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Great location, very comfortable and friendly staff. Little short on maintenance of the facilities considering price paid.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Upkeep of facilities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
VegasPatr...
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Great Location, Great Amemities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Very last minute trip to Laguna and was able to get the last villa available at a very reasonable rate. The best way to describe The Resort is it's like having your own turn key condo at the beach. A bottle of wine and some snacks were waiting in the room. (nice touch) Parking is convenient. There wasn't any item that wasn't well thought out. Outstanding location with easy access to the Village and the beach.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: fully furnished kitchen, very nice deisgn details (crown molding/venetian plaster)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Texas
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful
2 of 5 stars Value 2 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 3 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
New Orleans
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Carole
Washington
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$340
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Talk to the Manager
19497937104
Manager
The Retreat in Laguna
19497937104
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2012
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing