We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting short stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Marine Mammal Center

Pacific Marine Mammal Center
20612 Laguna Canyon Road, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
949-494-3050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 Attractions in Laguna Beach
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are welcome to view rescued seals and sea lions.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting short stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

After reading other reviews I knew the center was small but a very informational attraction. My husband and I are thankful to of stopped and taken the time to learn of the rehabilitation these locally recovered sea mammals receive. It is a well organized center and the volunteers are a pleasure and enjoy what they do.
We spent a little over a half hour there but we enjoyed our time. There is no fee but we left a donation to help the animal program.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    14
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I frequently stop by Pacific Marine Mammal Center to check on all of the little patients of the Pacific. The staff is amazing and so informative. Every time I go I learn a little something more than I already knew. What a wonderful place spreading so much care and love to these mammals to return them to their home, the Pacific.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Easy side trip - fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a tiny place for visitors, but they have a nice layout. We all liked seeing the various seals and sea lions up close. The educational materials are well thought out and informative. What amazed me is the back story to this place which is told on a board at the center (don't skip it!). Absolutely crazy how it got started. Really made an impression on me what one person with passion can accomplish.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada - USA
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
“Educational & Insightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The facility is easy to find and is next door to the City’s animal shelter (so you will hear barking from dogs). The parking lot is shared by both organizations; one parking lot is paved and fenced, and the other is not.

It is imperative that the public become aware of the tireless work and dedication of staff and volunteers at the Pacific Marine Mammal Center. It is not a sea zoo or "fun" attraction so those expecting rides or tricks will need to change their expectations.

This is a facility focused on the care and rehabilitation of live seals, and also serves to educate visitors on what is being done to help and prevent harm to these mammals. Volunteers are very knowledgeable and have a great, contagious passion for sea life. Bob Barker (The Price is Right) is a big supporter of the facility as are many local families.

There were 17 mammals at the facility when we visited but we only saw about 10 of them in the exterior pool areas. In addition to the outdoor area, which is fenced, there is an interior “barn” shelter (visitors are not permitted to enter that area).

Visitors can purchase a variety of items at the gift kiosk such as t-shirts, slippers, cards, etc. Though it is a short visit – we stayed about 15 minutes – learning more about these beautiful animals is helpful so we can do our part in supporting their way of life.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definately worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a great place, what a great cause! Here you can see seals and sea elephants up close. The injured mammals have been rescued and will be re-released into the ocean near seal rock when they are well. the kids can see these happy mammals up close and can make a donation and feel great about doing something good:)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Marine Mammal Center also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Pacific Marine Mammal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Marine Mammal Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.