We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Absolutely love this hotel. Great price and great location. I have stayed both ocean view and village view. Both are great, if you want to spend a little extra it is great to be ocean front and sit on the balcony in the evening and night. If you want to save a little money the village view is a great price especially in the off season and paying in advance. I find we do not spend much time in the room so village view is a great deal and you are still steps from the ocean where you can sit in the lounge chairs and umbrellas provided by the hotel. I am heading back on September 7th for my 4th stay. I am so excited! We also had a great housekeep Raphaela last May when we stayed, she was fantastic and we developed a quick friendship with her. She works her tail off!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Yes, the Village View really is a great deal! We're thrilled that you had such a fabulous time lounging on the beach with us, Laura, and we really appreciate your kind words. Looking forward to seeing you again in September -- it's only a few months away! :)

Warm regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    256
    108
    104
    96
See reviews for
244
334
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for many years, back when it was Vacation Village actually. We absolutely love it! You are paying for the location definitely. The hotel is nice but it is very casual and beachy. If your expecting Montage style amenities this is not for you. If you want a great family friendly hotel with a amazing view this is a great choice! We come back every year so they must be doing something right!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
It's always a pleasure to welcome you and your family back for a stay on the beach, Sally. You really can't beat these beach views, can you? Hope everyone had a wonderful visit, and we can't wait to see you back again!

Take care,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I loved the location, loved the staff, the cleanliness of the room was fair/poor however the room was different than the website it was stunning.. I was very dissatisfied with the room itself, the size, the location of the room and upkeep of the room. The room was approximately $400 per night and was the size of a very small bedroom -2 double beds, bathroom so small you could not turn around in it It faced the parking lot. I was shocked at the room compared to photos on the website. I went to the front desk and was upgraded for $105 extra per night, just so we could SEE the ocean over a all building in front of us, facing another parking lot. Valet parking was another $28 per night, so when you add it all up, I paid $532 per night, to face over a big gray building to see the ocean partially.You have no choice for valet parking, there is no where else to park. When you book, be very specific and be aware this is not what you're hoping for. On a happier note, the staff was incredible, the front desk wonderful, the ocean front when you walked there was beautiful and the beach staff very helpful and kind. The disappointment with the bait and switch feeling of the room when traveling so far, hoping for a really nice view and room made me more than angry.

Room Tip: You must pay high dollar and call the hotel itself and book a room facing the ocean. Don't book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I sincerely apologize that you weren't satisfied with your initial room. It sounds like there was some miscommunication when you were booking -- the pictures online show a variety of rooms and room sizes, which may have caused some confusion. That said, we're more than happy to find you something more to your liking. Above all, we want you feel taken care of. Next time you book, don't hesitate to let us know if you have any questions or concerns. We'd be more than happy to explain exactly what you're booking.

Take care,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We planned a family vacation to Laguna Beach and wanted easy beach access and to be near shops and restaurants. That's why we chose this hotel.

Positives:
Location is the best thing this hotel has going for it. They have beach staff that will provide you with towels and chairs, and you virtually have a private beach. This was the best part of staying here. They also have a restaurant called the Driftwood that overlooks the beach and has a nice, reasonably priced menu with good food. The front desk was very nice and professional, and the valet service was good. The free trolley service stops right out front which was convenient.

Negatives:
Unless you are paying a premium to stay in the beach front buildings (Reef, Reef Tower, Surf, or Bungalows), please be aware that the two front buildings (Seas and Bahia) feel more like a motel than a hotel. Our room was small and only had two full size beds with a tiny bathroom. Also, our building had no elevator! Not fun lugging many suitcases, etc for our family up three flights (from the valet parking behind the building). Also, the front buildings face the South Coast Hwy and it is VERY loud. Whoever has renovated the hotel should consider replacing the old windows with triple paned ones (seriously). Between the hwy noise and our in-room, loud swamp cooler, we did not get much rest on our vacation :(

Room Tip: Stay in the beachfront buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
If you're disappointed, we're disappointed. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us here on TripAdvisor, travelmama, as it presents the opportunity to make things right.

While i'm happy to hear you enjoyed our location and tasty restaurant, I'm disheartened to read that we missed the mark in other areas. When it comes to your room, we list all of our room options on our website. That said, we never want our guests to feel frustrated, so I sincerely apologize for any miscommunication.

The last thing we want is our guests to leave unsatisfied, so I am truly sorry that we missed the opportunity to improve your experience before you left. Next time you need a Laguna Beach getaway, I sincerely hope you'll give us another chance to impress. After all, we're not happy until you're happy.

Kind regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el mirage
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Just remove the mold from the air vents and the place would score 100% in our gradebook! Plus our dog stayed for free! Only thing that needs to be told to all customers with pets is that your dog is not allowed on beach during the day. Evenings Is okay....the oceanfront rooms are worth the price!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Mauricio and Amber,

Sounds like a great stay! Glad to hear that you and your pups enjoyed your time in Laguna Beach, and I hope that we'll get to welcome you back for more fun in the sun next time you need to get away from it all!

Thanks for reviewing us,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pass1421
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I have to start by saying I absolutely love the location of this hotel. I like that they now have valet parking and I love that we can walk to downtown so easily.....but I have to say the place is getting tired. The grounds are not as kept up as they could be, the rooms need new carpet & drapes, which seem heavy and old. We had a corner room and the sliding glass door window was clean but not the balcony nor the window to the south. In fact the side window was so dirty we just kept the drapes closed. It would also have been nice if the air had been on upon our arrival. The room was hot & stuffy. Thank goodness it has air conditioning. I'm really beginning to question if it's worth the money. I will really have to think about it before we stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I'm very sorry to learn of your disappointment, especially considering how excited you seemed to visit us. As you may have noticed, we are currently in the midst of making the necessary renovations, but it seems that we still have some work to do. However, they should be completed shortly, and we'll certainly remember your words as we move forward. Thanks for being so candid, and I hope we'll have another chance to show you a five star stay next time you need to get away.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We love the Pacific Edge the staff are all very friendly and attentive we have stayed here the past 5 years and have never been disappointed I feel as if they have improved every year for the better not that they had alot to improve on you could just see that they want your stay to be amazing we love staying in the Ocean view rooms the best view we can walk to everything once we arrive we never use our car walk to breakfast lunch and dinner or eat at the hotels restuarant. We were just there thru the 4th of July and will return again in two weeks for a end of the summer stay.

Room Tip: Always pick the Ocean View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Five years in a row? We're honored, Angela! It's been a pleasure to make you feel at home, and we hope to continue welcoming you back for years to come. Thanks for reviewing us, and be sure to join us during the winter months, too -- the ocean is absolutely beautiful all year long! :)

Cheers,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.