We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Staycation Package
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Rancho Murieta, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We planned a family vacation to Laguna Beach and wanted easy beach access and to be near shops and restaurants. That's why we chose this hotel.

Positives:
Location is the best thing this hotel has going for it. They have beach staff that will provide you with towels and chairs, and you virtually have a private beach. This was the best part of staying here. They also have a restaurant called the Driftwood that overlooks the beach and has a nice, reasonably priced menu with good food. The front desk was very nice and professional, and the valet service was good. The free trolley service stops right out front which was convenient.

Negatives:
Unless you are paying a premium to stay in the beach front buildings (Reef, Reef Tower, Surf, or Bungalows), please be aware that the two front buildings (Seas and Bahia) feel more like a motel than a hotel. Our room was small and only had two full size beds with a tiny bathroom. Also, our building had no elevator! Not fun lugging many suitcases, etc for our family up three flights (from the valet parking behind the building). Also, the front buildings face the South Coast Hwy and it is VERY loud. Whoever has renovated the hotel should consider replacing the old windows with triple paned ones (seriously). Between the hwy noise and our in-room, loud swamp cooler, we did not get much rest on our vacation :(

Room Tip: Stay in the beachfront buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
If you're disappointed, we're disappointed. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us here on TripAdvisor, travelmama, as it presents the opportunity to make things right.

While i'm happy to hear you enjoyed our location and tasty restaurant, I'm disheartened to read that we missed the mark in other areas. When it comes to your room, we list all of our room options on our website. That said, we never want our guests to feel frustrated, so I sincerely apologize for any miscommunication.

The last thing we want is our guests to leave unsatisfied, so I am truly sorry that we missed the opportunity to improve your experience before you left. Next time you need a Laguna Beach getaway, I sincerely hope you'll give us another chance to impress. After all, we're not happy until you're happy.

Kind regards,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    261
    111
    105
    98
See reviews for
247
343
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
el mirage
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just remove the mold from the air vents and the place would score 100% in our gradebook! Plus our dog stayed for free! Only thing that needs to be told to all customers with pets is that your dog is not allowed on beach during the day. Evenings Is okay....the oceanfront rooms are worth the price!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Mauricio and Amber,

Sounds like a great stay! Glad to hear that you and your pups enjoyed your time in Laguna Beach, and I hope that we'll get to welcome you back for more fun in the sun next time you need to get away from it all!

Thanks for reviewing us,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pass1421
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I have to start by saying I absolutely love the location of this hotel. I like that they now have valet parking and I love that we can walk to downtown so easily.....but I have to say the place is getting tired. The grounds are not as kept up as they could be, the rooms need new carpet & drapes, which seem heavy and old. We had a corner room and the sliding glass door window was clean but not the balcony nor the window to the south. In fact the side window was so dirty we just kept the drapes closed. It would also have been nice if the air had been on upon our arrival. The room was hot & stuffy. Thank goodness it has air conditioning. I'm really beginning to question if it's worth the money. I will really have to think about it before we stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I'm very sorry to learn of your disappointment, especially considering how excited you seemed to visit us. As you may have noticed, we are currently in the midst of making the necessary renovations, but it seems that we still have some work to do. However, they should be completed shortly, and we'll certainly remember your words as we move forward. Thanks for being so candid, and I hope we'll have another chance to show you a five star stay next time you need to get away.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We love the Pacific Edge the staff are all very friendly and attentive we have stayed here the past 5 years and have never been disappointed I feel as if they have improved every year for the better not that they had alot to improve on you could just see that they want your stay to be amazing we love staying in the Ocean view rooms the best view we can walk to everything once we arrive we never use our car walk to breakfast lunch and dinner or eat at the hotels restuarant. We were just there thru the 4th of July and will return again in two weeks for a end of the summer stay.

Room Tip: Always pick the Ocean View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Five years in a row? We're honored, Angela! It's been a pleasure to make you feel at home, and we hope to continue welcoming you back for years to come. Thanks for reviewing us, and be sure to join us during the winter months, too -- the ocean is absolutely beautiful all year long! :)

Cheers,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a nice sized room which was clean and well appointed. The staff was very friendly. Parking is valet only which is a negative in being an additional cost considering how expensive the rooms already are. The beach was so-so compared to all the otherd we visited in Cali. May consider staying again if the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
So happy to hear that our team made you feel at home! Thanks for making us a part of your trip, and please keep us in mind next time you need to get another taste of the West Coast!

Cheers,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed at Pacific Edge as part of a block of rooms with a wedding. The location is great - right on the water! Loved hearing the sound of waves crashing, so peaceful! I didn't get a chance to try any food at the hotel, but it is within walking distance of all the hustle and bustle, plenty of restaurants to go too around the area. Room itself was very small considering the rate was close to $250/night. It was also supposed to be a renovated room, but didn't really feel like it. Bathtub very out of date, carpet seemed a little worn, and the A/C unit was so loud - made it difficult to sleep through the night without waking up. I think the room could benefit from having a chair as well, there was nowhere else to sit in the room other than on the bed. I was also a little disturbed to find that the mattress didn't have a protector on it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your room. We are continuously updating our rooms, and we will certainly remember your words as we continue our work. That aside, I appreciate your candor, and I hope you had a fabulous time at the wedding. We hope to have another chance to make you feel at home soon.

Best,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Me and my brothers stayed at the hotel for 7 night. The restaurant are very good and the beds are amazing!!! You can not beat the ocean view. You are 5 minute walk to down town laguna. The front desk helps you find some great restaurants and things to do.

Room Tip: I stayed in the beach front room. They are amazing!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
That's a lot of pluses! :) Thanks for making us a part of your getaway. We'd love to have you back soon!

Cheers,
Sean Castady
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.