We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed, Breakfast, & Parking
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Laguna Beach
Long Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is divided up into 4 or 5 clusters of room. A couple of the bldgs. are directly on the beach and the other two are back toward the street (but 30 second walk to the water).

I had standard king room in the reef bldg. Million dollar views, balcony with chairs. Saw lots of dolphins swimming around. Bed was very comfortable but the pillows were too hard for me. Small frig, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, Keurig machine, wall mounted tv, small table with two chairs. a/c didn't work and it was a brutally hot day in the 80s.

Bathroom is a little 70s looking and nothing fancy, but gets the job done. Main room is decorated in pretty yellow and turquoise. Beach front bar is nice, food in restaurant was good. Tons of local (but expensive) shops lining both sides of the street. I was here for a business mtg. so I am not sure what the price of the room was.

Room Tip: I was in the "reef" section of hotel (not the reef tower). Room was directly on the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Million-dollar views and dolphins to boot! Sounds like a fantastic getaway, and it was a pleasure to be a part of it. Thank you for sharing your kind words with us, and please keep us in mind next time you need a little me time!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    231
    91
    93
    88
See reviews for
205
286
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in the Reef Tower. The room was very spacious - it had a full kitchen (with a pink stove!). There are no cooking utensils and I didn't want to invest in them on vacation (we didn't spend a ton of time in Laguna anyway), so we didn't really make use of anything except the refrigerator. There is a grocery store just across the street with a great produce selection, so we stocked up on fruit to snack on. The room has a Keurig coffee maker.

Our room was not "technically" beach-front but it was VERY close and we still had a great view of the water. We booked at a discounted rate so I could not have asked for a better view for the price!

Within a very short walking distance is a Taco Bell, a great breakfast/lunch place called the Orange Inn (excellent lattes), the grocery store and lots of boutique-style shopping. If Starbucks is your morning thing, it would be a bit of a walk or you can drive to it in less than 5 minutes.

OTHER NOTES:

I don't think the heater worked in our room but when we were there it was pretty much just to sleep and shower, so we stayed warm under the comfy blankets!

Upon check-in, Kim was working the front desk. She was very helpful and friendly.

If you drive here, plan to pay for valet. It is $24/day but worth it because there is no where to park on the street. The valet guys are very friendly.

We did not eat at The Deck (restaurant on property) so I cannot add any review about it.

Our room was very clean and came with free Wi-Fi.

I have attached a photo from our room. The view is partially blocked by the building next door but it is still a great view.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for leaving such a detailed account of your stay! We're glad you enjoyed it, but we wish we could have checked on your heater during your visit—we don't want anyone to be chilly! We'll definitely look into that, but in the meantime thanks for sharing that photo with us, Paula—we love that sunny beach view!

Hope to have you back soon,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel was a nice surprise for the rate. Considering its location (right on the beach and within walking distance of shops, restaurants, and other activities), colorful and clean rooms, a nice lobby, and a good restaurant and deck overlooking the ocean, the rates are very good. I had a small room without an ocean view, but it was basic, clean, and equipped with requested microwave and refrigerator. I would have liked a chair in the room to check emails on my laptop or even just to sit somewhere other than on the bed. The walls between rooms are paper thin and I heard more than I wanted to hear from my neighbors. Otherwise, this is a very nice hotel at surprisingly affordable rates.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
A wonderful view and a great rate—that's what we're all about! Thanks for staying with us, and for sharing your feedback regarding our walls. It's definitely something we're looking in to for our future guests! In the meantime, we hope to welcome you back again next time you need a little sun, Belle-Lettrist. After all, you can't beat this view!

Thanks again,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was in Laguna for an annual event with friends and the hotel that everyone else was at was full, so I looked nearby. I was amazed to find Pacific Edge right there and at a pretty reasonable price. If you travel much and look for "value" hotels, you've likely run across at least one that appears to be either on older motel or apartment building converted into a hotel. The part of Pacific Edge that I stayed in was that kind of building. There are several distinct buildings, and I did not look at the others, so this review is only for the building immediately facing Pacific Coast Hwy.
The linens were very nice (this seems to be a common denominator with this type of hotel). The room and bathroom were clean. The staff was unfailingly nice and helpful.
The downside is that when these buildings are converted, they almost never replace the windows or HVAC systems, at least in my experience. A lot of road noise came through the windows because they are not well sealed - it's not worth the cost in this area. The HVAC had no heat, and when I asked I was told that all the heaters were taken (who needs heating in southern California? Me when it's in the dead of Winter and it's pretty cold outside). The TV didn't work, but that was not a big deal for me, as I was just looking for the weather report, but if you watch much TV when traveling, it might be a problem if the problem wasn't fixed. The door to the bathroom was a but banged up around the edges - just normal wear, and it was clean - showing the age of the building.
If I stayed here again, I would likely pay a little more for one of the rooms in another building farther away from the street.
Also, note that the only parking is valet. There is, however, a loading area at the office where you can pick up or drop off.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a room away from the street, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Although I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I'm sorry that you were a bit chilly during your visit. We should have had a heating unit available for you, and I'll speak to our team about this right away. That aside, you left some great suggestions for us, and we'll keep them in mind as we continue our renovations. Thank you, and we hope you'll keep us in mind next time you need to get away.

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is on a beautiful area of Laguna beach. Our room was not all that large and appeared somewhat old and run down but the price was reasonable for the location, overall location great but hotel was not.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Sorry you were disappointed with your room. We're currently in the midst of making the necessary upgrades for our guests, but we wish we had been able to show you a better time. Still, we're glad that you loved being so close to the beach, and we hope to have you back next time you need a little sun. We know we have what it takes to show you a fabulous vacation!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

There are several buildings, some on the beach and some behind the beach front ones. We booked a room here based on its location. We had got a room in the back building and decided to go for the deluxe rather than the basic room. The deluxe featured a kitchenette, which was great because we like to eat breakfast in. The windows faced the back of the ocean front buildings, but you could glimpse the ocean between the buildings. The room on the other side of the building faced PCH and must have been very noisey all night.

Downside:
Kitchenette had seen better days, rust at the bottom of the fridge, worn cabinet finishes. You have to ask for dishes and utensils. All had seen better days.
One wall AC/heater with fan. This was the only ventilation source. Had to leave it on all day, otherwise the room got very stuffy.
Wifi never worked.
Bed side lamps switches where broken. Had to twist the bulbs to turn on and off.
Furniture was well worn and scuffed.
Window latches were broken, we were provided a wooden stick to secure the windows closed.
No elevator in our building. Awkward stair steps connecting the buildings. Watch your footing!!
Parking is an extra $24 per day.

Upside:
Location!! Access to the beach with chairs and sun umbrellas provided, 2 pools and 1 hot tub.
Near the center of town and all its activities.
10% off on local stores, restaurants and business.
Polite customer service. Great coffee at main enterance.
Parking in the residental area can be found in about 2 blocks.
Cleaning staff is excellent!!
Very quite even with the large number of families with young children.

In summary, we would stay here again for it's location on the beach side of PCH and proxcimity to the center of town. Some of the other buildings in this hotel complex seem to have been recently rennovated and the furnishings seem newer. But you have to have stayed here before to know which building is renovated and which one has not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Although it is clear that we were unable to offer you a five-star visit, it's very encouraging to see that you enjoyed your trip. I'm thrilled that you look forward to visiting us again, and I can assure you that you'll be very impressed once all of our renovations are complete. Until then, thanks for your honest feedback, and please let us know if you have any further suggestions—we're all ears!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We visited this hotel for several days in nov 2012, our family's first trip to disney and legoland. We booked on expedia, wanting a mid point between our two destinations. Upon arrival I was uneasy, as motels with the outside doors freak me out. Upon check in, we were greeted with the absolute best staff we have ever encountered! It is amazing, considering customer service in our country is declining rapidly. They truly appear to love their jobs, and we will return to this hotel next time we go to the area. Our children received a cute little bucket of sand toys, dinner on site with views and the serene sounds of ocean waves was awesome. The blankets they provided as the evening chilled in the semi outdoor restaurant were a thoughtful touch. The rooms aren't glitzy and are dated, but were very clean, and I felt like I was staying in an extremely laid back beach condo. Never again will I make assumptions just because of the exterior room access. We felt completely safe the entire trip, and I highly recommend any employer in the hospitality business send their staff to train with these amazing people. Heck, all of us can take a lesson from the level of respectful, kind, and accommodating service of the staff at this location. I am now wondering if we would experience the same at all join de fiver hotels? Kudos to you all, spread the love to the rest of the planet please!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Wow, April! We couldn't have asked for kinder words, especially regarding our staff. I'm thrilled that they made you and your family feel so welcome, and they're going to be even happier to know that, too. Thanks so much for the kind words, and for making us a part of your vacation. We'd love to welcome you back whenever you need a little R & R!

Warm regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.