We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spontaneity is the spice of life...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spontaneity is the spice of life...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We will definitely return...the customer service was exceptional! Our visit was quite spontaneous and we couldn't have been more pleased. Watching the the Pacific sunset while sitting on our balcony was picture perfect. While the room decor may not have been 5 star, the service was! We had some plumbing issues and Bryan (the front desk supervisor) and the maintenance staff went out of their way to make things right. A special thank you to Bryan for all of your kind assistance!

Room Tip: Ocean view premium worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Sometimes the spontaneous trips are the most fun! Thanks for thinking of us, Jill, and for the fabulous review. Come back and see us soon—the beach is just as lovely during the winter months!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    242
    100
    98
    94
See reviews for
224
302
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Pacific Edge for a week in October and it was absolutely magnificient! Our room had a large balcony which literally was right over the ocean when the tide was high. It was nice having an oversized room with the huge granite countertop wetbar and kitchen area and refrigerator, because we enjoyed many of our meals on our private deck just kicking back and enjoying the view. The sunsets were amazing and we loved the beach! The vibe of the Pacific Edge was warm, inviting and totally unpretentious. It's worth paying the extra money to be oceanfront, but with us, we parked our car for the week and didn't leave, except to take walks around the shops and streets of Laguna Beach.

Room Tip: Room 605 in the Surf Wing is awesome! We were told that Betty Davis used to stay in this room many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Beach views and a comfortable room—it doesn't get much better than that! Thanks for staying with us, Peggy. Come back and see us next time you need to unwind!

Cheers,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Their web shows awesome oceanfront rooms. However when you check in you find yourself in a different building with little or now view, unless you like Pacific Coast Highway. We were greatly disappointed. An old hotel remake trying to become luxurious. That was not what we found. We would never recommend them.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Although we're currently in the midst of implementing the necessary updates for our guests, some of our rooms have yet to be updated. I'm sorry you were disappointed, but we would have been happy to move you to another room had you brought this to our attention. That said, I wish we could have taken care of this during your visit, but I would be happy to discuss this further. Don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to talk.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband & I have been coming here since 1976!We have always enjoyed it here! It was family owned then & was Vacation Village.We have celebrated all of our wedding anniversaries & our son got married on the beach so we have many happy memories .It is now Pacific Edge .We are always welcomed by Rafael,who has been here for at least 35 yrs.He is without a doubt always so cordial & professional each time we arrive,& always meets all our needs & requests.We recently had the privilege of meeting Javid & he greeted us with the biggest smile & remembered us from our recent stay.His customer service along with Rafael is so welcoming !Our room is updated with perfect view of the ocean.We were offered a bottle of wine by Kim who was very helpful & Brian who introduced himself to us.A team like this is the reason why we will continue to come back! Our friends & family are repeat guests as well.Thankyou all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I can't describe how rewarding it is to keep welcoming you back after 35 years. Thank you so much for your support, Rosanne. It means the world to me, Rafael and the the rest of our team! We're looking forward to welcoming you and your husband back again, but please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can do to make your next visit even better!

Take care,
Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel quite frequently since 1987 (when it was Vacation Village) and were looking forward to a memorable 4 days to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. I booked our room months in advance and requested the upper floor in the surf wing since we stayed there for years and were celebrating a milestone anniversary. The week before we arrived I called the hotel to be sure they had a note in their system regarding our request, which they confirmed they did. When we got to the hotel we were told none of the upper floor rooms were available due to the computer "randomly assigning" rooms as people check in. We checked in 3 hours early so unless others checked in really early that wouldn't have been true. In addition, we met a couple (celebrating their 14th anniversary) on the beach who checked in way after us and were upgraded to the tower building with a huge room/view and a complimentary bottle of wine. We were assigned a room on the first floor directly above a large common deck where numerous, extremely noisy parties/receptions occurred every day/night we were there. That certainly ruined the soothing sound of the waves! In addition, the last day we were there, there was no hot water and although my husband informed the front desk, it was not addressed. Pacific Edge emailed us on October 7th following our stay asking "how everything was" and I responded to the email stating the same information as above and never received any answer. We really have loved staying at this hotel for so many years but this time was really a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
It's terribly disappointing that we were unable to show you a warmer welcome, especially since you joined us to celebrate such a special occasion. As you know, this type of service does not come close to meeting our high standards. I must apologize once again, but I hope that we'll be able to resolve this for you shortly. Until then, thank you for your candid feedback.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me with a stay here one night, when we walked in to our beach view room on the 3rd floor it was very clean and spacious the beds were comfy and tv was alright I think they could get a little more modern though since there is more modern looking places near by for the same price. There lobby is very nice which is why I expected so much for the room. The view and patio is where I spent the whole day and night and even morning the view is breathtaking and you can tell its one of the best views available compared to the other hotels on the street. The chairs out there aren't comfy but there super cute. We were planning in staying in for room service but there wasn't very many options to be honest so we went ahead and went to Bjs down the street and brought it back to the room. Also we went shopping on the little streets near by and took a walk on the beach at sunset if it wasn't for the view than this place wouldn't be nothing but it definitely saves the place and I'll always remember this special little trip. Also my boyfriend mentioned since we already had to stay 2 nights mandatory on weekend than the parking should be cheaper or something for the cars.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, Georgia! While I do appreciate your candid feedback and your suggestions about our room service and parking, I'm happy to see that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your getaway. Hopefully your next visit is worthy of five stars, but until then, thanks for the wonderful review!

Regards,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is bad. Room service doesn't answer. The menu is small and the choices are weak. The room is nasty. I feel like someone could break into the room at any moment. Bathroom is tiny and the kitchen is the same. Over all this is the worst place I've stayed in Laguna.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill T, Manager at Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We're proud to call Laguna Beach home, so it's upsetting to hear that you found your stay to be so dissatisfying. However, we can assure you that we are in the midst of making the necessary upgrades for our guests, and we would have been happy to move you to another room if you had let us know about this. Still, we appreciate your feedback, and we hope to have another chance to show you a great time during your next stay in Laguna.

Best,
Bill Tremper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 647 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651 (Formerly Vacation Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the cool ocean breeze brushing up against your cheek. Admire the views of the deep, blue, Pacific Ocean from the balconies overlooking the waves of one of our oceanfront rooms. Enjoy convenient sunning, surfing and swimming as the sand is just steps from your room. Pacific Edge Hotel is not only steps away from the sand of the California coast, but also steps away from everything that Laguna Beach has to offer. The hotel is within walking distance of both Laguna Village and the shops and galleries along the South Coast Highway. In addition to your holiday and vacation needs, we are known for being an ideal destination for groups, social events, and wedding. Our magnificent Villa offers a prime, one-of-kind event space, suitable for the most important and precious events. We look forward to you joining us for your next leisure or business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacific Edge
Pacific Edge Laguna Beach
Vacation Village Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.